Cengage Reviews | Glassdoor

Cengage Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1287 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Students first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Facilities Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Cengage makes every effort to put the students needs first. It hires smart innovative employees who generally collaborate effectively to meet the company Ethos. The work environment lets employees concentrate on their work without added distractions.

    Cons

    Recent changes to better reward high performance employees is a good start and should continue. 401K match % and parking/commute subsidy should be higher.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you have been doing recently. Make sure employees feel as valued as the students we are supporting.

    Cengage2019-08-12
  2. "Great Culture and good products but Low Pay and Constant Reorganization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and great content. Some really great teams and managers who build strong relationships with team members

    Cons

    Lack of appreciation and benefits for the entry level employees, too many reorganizations, pay too low for the work expected

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate and pay assistant roles more - and create a clearer trajectory for people to move up in the company

    Cengage2019-08-10
  3. "Great company to work for!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - International Tax Senior Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent communication and transparency among the teams. People are helpful, friendly and collaborative. Work life balance is great.

    Cons

    Open space environment can sometimes be distracting.

    Cengage2019-08-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Cengage - Independence, KY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Technical Support in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    *Wonderful benefits. *Great culture & general atmosphere. *Good starting wage and growth opportunity. *The 3rd shift (6:00pm - 2:00am) is the best group of people.

    Cons

    *The only big downside is Cengage keep attendance points, so habitually late employees or those prone to calling off regularly will run into trouble (an employer that wants employees to be at work and be on time... IMAGINE THAT) *There are a select few senior agents (only 2 of the 15-20 I've interacted with) who are extremely short and mildly condescending when "helping" newer employees.

    Cengage2019-08-07
  5. "I love working here."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cengage Technical Support in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They are really employee oriented. Always doing something to boost moral, and really great with their employees.

    Cons

    Could use an updated desk phone system.

    Cengage2019-08-07
  6. Helpful (7)

    "Soul sucking disguised as doing good in the world."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning Consultant in Providence, RI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free company car/gas for personal use. Independence of being a field sales rep. I liked the people I worked directly with.

    Cons

    Products were not dependable and overpriced. More students were harmed financially than helped educationally by the products. Little to no product training while getting started. Encouraged to learn on your own. Goalposts were constantly moved in regards to sales goals. Sales force seemed highly political.

    Advice to Management

    Invest less in sales force and more in product development. The future of educational materials is open source; free products are on par if not better than "premium" products.

    Cengage2019-08-02
  7. "Welcoming and Exciting Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Development in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The interview process lasted roughly a month and HR coordinators were excellent communicators during that period of time. On-boarding was welcoming and painless. Personally have developed a strong relationship with my manager and my production team has strong communication and collaboration. The company has a ton of employees but still manages to care for each one and provides strong benefits and flexible time off... to enable a healthy work-life balance.

    Show More

    Cons

    Open floor-plan is a difficult adjustment but not necessarily bad. Makes you collaborate more and meet friendly people but also lacks privacy and gives the realization that you do not know many people outside your team.

    Cengage2019-08-01
  8. "Amazing Company with Amazing People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Support Specialist in Temecula, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    37.5 hours per week is considered full time. Great benefits including 4% matching 401k with several different investment options. Dental and Medical coverage benefit plans that are reasonably priced and offer flexible options for unique circumstances. Intelligent, respectful, and motivated coworkers, management, and executives. Incredible Leadership from the top down. Access to great technology that allows employees... to complete their tasks as efficiently as possible. Unlimited opportunities for growth and promotion.

    Show More

    Cons

    Because of the fast paced environment, solutions need to be made at a very quick pace. Each day can hold a different challenge, which I personally see as a positive since I enjoy working in an environment like this. (but it's not for everyone)

    Advice to Management

    Continue providing outstanding leadership and guidance to your employees.

    Cengage2019-07-30

    Cengage Response

    August 12, 2019Chief People Officer

    Just wanted to drop a quick note to say thanks for sharing your experience, and I’m pleased to hear your first year is going well. There’s no question that we’re moving fast. Our mission to change the industry and innovate to help learners realize their potential through the power of education calls for an action orientation. So spread the word -- we’re always looking for more people like you who thrive in that environment!

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Lots of good work being done, good people, but SO MUCH CHANGE and instability"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Autonomy and ownership over the vision/strategy/roadmap for your product area -Great coworkers who are passionate about education (for the most part)

    Cons

    -Frequent changes in company strategy that negatively affect employees, teams, and work (re-orgs, layoffs, sudden change in strategic direction, etc..)

    Cengage2019-07-26
  10. Helpful (4)

    "working at NGL--Cengage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Bear River City, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My immediate manager is absolutely top notch. Great place to work. The upper management is eager to listen to our perspective as boots on the ground workers.

    Cons

    Salaries for virtually all sales reps is embarrassingly low.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to create great place to work with hands off, trusting culture. Most sales reps have worked for a number of other companies, and are so pleased to finally have this culture of trust and respect. But most sales reps. are frustrated with such low pay.

    Cengage2019-07-26
Found 1287 reviews