Cengage Reviews | Glassdoor

Cengage Reviews

Updated Oct 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (4)

    "Good Job/ Ridiculously Low Pay for Expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Support Representative in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Time Off/ Positive Coworkers

    Cons

    Terrible Pay/ Not Enough to Take Care of Bills & Family

    Advice to Management

    Pay Raises are not even keeping up with cost of living. Dedication and Expertise and a livable wage would honor employees & help your soaring turn-over rates.

    Cengage2019-07-26
  2. "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Comfortable dress code, good work life balance

    Cons

    Could have more vacation days for employees with more experience

    Cengage2019-07-24
  3. "Amazing people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the best people I’ve ever worked with and for.

    Cons

    Instability in this industry makes the job insecurity a real thing.

    Cengage2019-07-21
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great company with great employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Assistant in Mason, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun and friendly environment

    Cons

    Compensation could be improved and clarity could be added for certain systems and role responsibilities

    Cengage2019-07-18
  5. Helpful (14)

    "Great Employees, Clueless Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Content Developer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The employees in the trenches, the ones doing the actual work, are fabulous. The flexibility (being able to work from home one day a week, etc.) is also fabulous. I even enjoy the actual work.

    Cons

    The payscale has absolutely *no* transparency (even my supervisor doesn’t know what the pay range of my position is, let alone me), and raises, which have been capped at 1% a year for at least the last five years, were cut to 0.5% this year. (2019) No bonuses at all for employees not in management or sales.

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees a real raise! After this last pay “raise” of 0.5% (yes, we talk about it on our teams, no one on mine got more than 0.5%), morale is the lowest I’ve seen in my 20+ years with this company. People I know who are very productive employees are starting to look for jobs elsewhere now that the job market is opening up.

    Cengage2019-07-17

    Cengage Response

    July 26, 2019CPO

    Feedback is key to our efforts to continually improve, so thanks for your post. If you’d like to reach out to me directly, I’m eager to learn more about your experience. And I’d be happy to provide context regarding our approach to compensation and improvements already being made to reward top performers, increase transparency and ensure we are offering competitive pay across all roles. In the meantime, I do want to offer one correction here. Specifically, raises for the company have NOT been capped at 1% in any of the last five years. We have always had variable adjustments that allow us to pay for performance and it remains a central pillar of our compensation philosophy. Thanks again.

    Show Less
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great culture, increasing pay is an opportunity but they're working on that."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Culture Atmosphere Ethos Great first step Benefits Work- life balance Family- like atmosphere Non- micro managing style If you buy- in and go to work with a passionate attitude you will succeed.

    Cons

    Salary Very senior individuals in higher positions

    Advice to Management

    Pay is increasing, that's all they need to focus on. They do a great job!

    Cengage2019-07-17

    Cengage Response

    July 30, 2019CEO

    Thanks for taking time to share your experience at Cengage. I'm particularly pleased to see you reference our culture and ethos, which you know is a priority for me. I also appreciate that, while you listed salary as a con, you noted in your advice to management that it is an area we "working on." It is indeed and with our pay for performance philosophy, we are making the right changes to recognize and reward our top performers. We will continue to make positive changes to our compensation philosophy, and in other areas of our employee experience, to ensure we're able to attract and retain great people. Thanks again for the feedback.

    Show Less
  7. "Love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Support, people, and mission make this a great place to be.

    Cons

    None at this time.

    Cengage2019-07-16
  8. "Corporativo"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salário, benefícios e localização

    Cons

    Se você não é amigo das pessoas certas e não faz a famosa “conversinha” na copa, não vai durar muito

    Advice to Management

    A falta de visibilidade do mercado pode arruinar as operações Brasil como foi com os outros países Latam

    Cengage2019-07-11
  9. "Muito boa!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analista De Redes Pleno 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excelente escola, ótimas oportunidades de desenvolvimento interno, reconhecimento do gestor, diretores e presidentes.

    Cons

    Falta incentivo para investimento em cursos de inglês ou especialização na área.

    Cengage2019-07-03
  10. "Amazing Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Technical Support in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unbelievable company that really cares about their employees.

    Cons

    There aren’t any cons I know to add.

    Cengage2019-07-02
Found 1287 reviews