Cengage Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Sales Representative

Cengage Sales Representative Reviews

Updated Jul 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
66%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and awesome culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cengage is a great place to work if you want to grow and collaborate with other successful individuals. I have worked here for years, and it was the best decision I have made. I am always learning something new and training is ongoing. The benefits are great, and management is always helpful. Working here has even motivated me to go back to school with the tuition reimbursement program.

    Cons

    I can not think of any.

    Cengage2019-06-07
  2. Helpful (4)

    "working at NGL--Cengage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Bear River City, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My immediate manager is absolutely top notch. Great place to work. The upper management is eager to listen to our perspective as boots on the ground workers.

    Cons

    Salaries for virtually all sales reps is embarrassingly low.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2019-07-26
  3. Helpful (7)

    "Lots of politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are great benefits such as the company car, working from home, working with great people

    Cons

    Lack of transparency with upper management, changes are sudden and often.

    Cengage2019-05-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Decent starting sales job, good location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location of office, travel, benefits

    Cons

    Bonus only comes once a year, not a lot of movement

    Cengage2019-03-29
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Mid-Year Review (Sales)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are plenty of things to love about this company. Great people (if you're lucky and end up on a great team), decent summer and winter hours (working from home if you're in the sales field), and ok benefits. Company car for sales reps out in the field with gas allowance, professional development that includes a yearly week-long sales summit to network with your peers from all over the country (although if you are not a manager you have to share a room with someone which is a huge downside to perks). With the launch of Cengage Unlimited, everyone is excited and optimistic for the future. People here in general are mission driven and goal oriented and really do care about the work they do. It's a challenging, ever-changing environment but that's what makes it exciting, in my opinion. You truly do feel good about the work you're doing to help students learn.

    Cons

    As mentioned above, it's an ever-changing industry and one that has to keep re-inventing itself constantly to keep up. Customers know this and are very stand-offish even with the launch of Unlimited which lowers the cost of materials significantly for students. I haven't been here long enough to see any high turnover but have heard from a number of others that re-orgs happen often. Technology does not align with that of the company's ethos. Cengage is still far, far away from its goal of being "85 percent" digital. Instructors don't buy it. Platforms are old and dated, and, no matter how great the benefits, instructors already have their minds set and aren't willing to change. Cengage's internal CRM (Magellan) is terrible and no one seems to be doing anything about it. Trying to update one opportunity can take up to 15 minutes. This doesn't seem like a lot but when you have 100+ to work on and the system is constantly freezing and running slow- it adds up. Sales reps are constantly having to apologize to customers for tech issues. Training was inefficient and didn't cover at all what you needed to learn before selling season started. For reps completely new to the industry, this can mean missing their bonus(es) as they are only paid out twice a year. Many professors are now pressured to turn to free educational resources (OER) and are very stand-offish toward publishers. It's very much a customer service job and you will be wearing MANY hats and encounter lots of rude customers who will try to make you feel low because of their own bias toward publishers. During selling seasons be prepared to work ridiculously long hours and somehow be expected to plan for 4-day campus visits (like writing detailed lesson plans which can take hours), spend long hours on campus while trying to juggle 20+ emails, update CRM and conduct follow ups all in the same week. Not to mention learn new products, platforms and processes all at the same time. It can be mentally draining. Vacation is not competitive when compared to other publishers and "tech" companies, and neither is base salary.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2018-11-19

    Cengage Response

    December 3, 2018Vice President, Sales Strategy and Operations

    I’m happy to hear that you are as excited as I am about Cengage Unlimited and the momentum we have. These ARE exciting times as we take the lead on providing affordable access to high quality learning materials. It’s shaking up our industry and it’s shaking up the broader Higher Ed ecosystem. Of course, change of this magnitude does not come without challenges—some of which you have detailed. I do want to clarify one thing. U.S. Higher Ed courseware activations have been growing steadily in double digits—we’re up 15% in the first half of FY19. And we had more than 500K Cengage Unlimited subscribers in the first semester. Our transition to digital is very much on track and going strong. With respect to our internal systems, the Sales Operations team is working to ensure the tools you rely on run smoothly and provide you with the actionable, timely data that you need every day to be most effective in your role. In general, if you have any ideas about process improvements, I encourage you to talk candidly with your manager. Or reach out to me directly. We’re all here to help you succeed. Here’s to a great spring on campus!

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A lot of work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Innovative company with a good CEO

    Cons

    A lot of work, little pay, & very hard to get sales commission

    Cengage2018-08-02
  7. "The Future Looks Bright"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Fantastic culture, supreme work/life balance, and career opportunities are plentiful. Proactive minded leadership.

    Cons

    Sales numbers can be difficult to track as a sales rep due to the numerous streams that feed into our sales base.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2018-02-28
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cengage for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent first job right out of college

    Cons

    Poor management. Direction of company changes too often to see if anything will work.

    Cengage2017-10-05
  9. "Inside Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Clifton Park, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Supportive management, reasonable workload, great tools to learn and great sales tools. Annual company trips. Lots of opportunity for advancement.

    Cons

    Just your typical office politics that you will run into in any workplace.

    Cengage2017-09-18
  10. Helpful (71)

    "Anyone interested in joining a class-action suit against Cengage?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Sales Representative in Wilmington, DE
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Best reasons may have been meeting new people.

    Cons

    I was at Cengage for 17 years and the last two I was bullied by two managers which caused me to seek therapy. I ultimately was forced to leave my position by the constant harassment. I'd like to contact other people who faced similar harassment and perhaps get a class action suit against Cengage together.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2016-08-20
Found 52 reviews