Cengage Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

Cengage Sales Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 96 reviews

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
  1. "Amazing Company with Amazing People!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Support Specialist in Temecula, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    37.5 hours per week is considered full time. Great benefits including 4% matching 401k with several different investment options. Dental and Medical coverage benefit plans that are reasonably priced and offer flexible options for unique circumstances. Intelligent, respectful, and motivated coworkers, management, and executives. Incredible Leadership from the top down. Access to great technology that allows employees... to complete their tasks as efficiently as possible. Unlimited opportunities for growth and promotion.

    Show More

    Cons

    Because of the fast paced environment, solutions need to be made at a very quick pace. Each day can hold a different challenge, which I personally see as a positive since I enjoy working in an environment like this. (but it's not for everyone)

    Advice to Management

    Continue providing outstanding leadership and guidance to your employees.

    Cengage2019-07-30

    Cengage Response

    August 12, 2019Chief People Officer

    Just wanted to drop a quick note to say thanks for sharing your experience, and I’m pleased to hear your first year is going well. There’s no question that we’re moving fast. Our mission to change the industry and innovate to help learners realize their potential through the power of education calls for an action orientation. So spread the word -- we’re always looking for more people like you who thrive in that environment!

    Show Less
  2. Helpful (4)

    "working at NGL--Cengage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Bear River City, UT
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    My immediate manager is absolutely top notch. Great place to work. The upper management is eager to listen to our perspective as boots on the ground workers.

    Cons

    Salaries for virtually all sales reps is embarrassingly low.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to create great place to work with hands off, trusting culture. Most sales reps have worked for a number of other companies, and are so pleased to finally have this culture of trust and respect. But most sales reps. are frustrated with such low pay.

    Cengage2019-07-26
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work and awesome culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cengage is a great place to work if you want to grow and collaborate with other successful individuals. I have worked here for years, and it was the best decision I have made. I am always learning something new and training is ongoing. The benefits are great, and management is always helpful. Working here has even motivated me to go back to school with the tuition reimbursement program.

    Cons

    I can not think of any.

    Cengage2019-06-07
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    •culture •leadership teams •opportunities for growth •inclusion • vast learning options

    Cons

    •limited flex time in current role •high cost for benefits

    Advice to Management

    A great sales leader doesn't necessarily make a good manager.

    Cengage2019-06-20
  5. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Account Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great leadership and vision.

    Cons

    Need more sales support for field sales.

    Advice to Management

    Make sure the right people are on the bus.

    Cengage2019-06-06
  6. "Outstanding Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Autonomy, good product/content, emerging, good reputation, good revenue earning potential.

    Cons

    Too many unrealistic/non-serious initiatives. They keep incompetent people too long. Many processes don't work. Need to keep getting more content (incomplete bookbag).

    Cengage2019-06-06
  7. "Good Place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits and support.

    Cons

    To many reorgs when company numbers aren't met.

    Advice to Management

    Keep open line of communication with staff.

    Cengage2019-05-24
  8. Helpful (7)

    "Lots of politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are great benefits such as the company car, working from home, working with great people

    Cons

    Lack of transparency with upper management, changes are sudden and often.

    Cengage2019-05-07
  9. "Great Company with Great People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Cengage offers a wonderful working environment, amazing benefits and a plethora of employee resources. You can tell this company values and believes in their employees.

    Cons

    There is a lot to learn with such a large company that services so many customers and products. They have great mentor programs and training to ease the learning curve.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Cengage2019-03-19
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Decent starting sales job, good location"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location of office, travel, benefits

    Cons

    Bonus only comes once a year, not a lot of movement

    Cengage2019-03-29
Found 96 reviews