Cengage Senior Learning Consultant Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Senior Learning Consultant

Cengage Senior Learning Consultant Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Rewarded for good work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Learning Consultant in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You are a part of a team whose success is tied to your success. This means that you have a built in support system of people working to make you better and working to help you find new customers. Even if you are not growing on your own, your team is there to help you build up your accounts. Our territory size is nice. I find myself home almost every night.

    Cons

    The work-life balance can tip the wrong way sometimes. Most days I spend working on campuses across the state and then have to work on my computer late into the night to keep up with emails and planning. I can say that this extra work has turned in to extra sales commissions for myself though.

    Cengage2019-09-19
  2. Helpful (18)

    "RUN AWAY as fast as you can"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Learning Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    casual work attire, the K-12 team is awesome

    Cons

    Too many to list but I'll try. For an ed-tech company their tech sucks. Nothing works right and none of the systems integrate. There are re-orgs every other minute. If you have a few years under your belt with them they'll find a way to manage you out because they don't want anyone around making a decent salary. By the way the purpose of Cengage Unlimited is to get market share and also get rid of their entire... sales force, it's just a matter of time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Shame on you for treating your legacy employees the way that you do. Your young and fresh new talent are just shiny objects and they will assist you in running this company into the ground.

    Cengage2019-05-10
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (3)

    "People Helping People"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Learning Consultant in North Richland Hills, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cengage Learning, simply put, is about people helping people. One student at a time, one instructor at a time, one person at a time---and they do this all the time, each day, every day, 24/7.

    Cons

    None. If you get the opportunity to work with Cengage, do it.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to embrace what's next.

    Cengage2019-02-06
  5. "Senior Learning Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Learning Consultant in Houston, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Collaborating with peers, product teams and management who are sincerely passionate about delivering technology solutions to faculty and their students.

    Cons

    I do not have any cons to share.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the open lines of communication so Sales can continue to presell solutions coming down the pipeline and giving faculty much to look forward to.

    Cengage2018-11-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Wanna work for an Unstoppable, Modern Ed Tech Company?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Learning Consultant in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cengage's culture is that best I have experienced! They truly care for you and it shows through paternity/maternity leave, health benefits, 401K matching, national sales events, recognition programs, continuing education programs, tuition reimbursement, and much more! Cengage announced a game-changer this Fall by offering a subscription model to students. For the first time in 10 years, Cengage is putting the... students first.

    Show More

    Cons

    I can't think of any cons but, you better be ready to work hard and be creative with your approach!

    Cengage2017-12-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Learning Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Learning Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Cengage fosters an incredible work/life balance and the employees that I work with have been wonderful. I have made many of lasting memories and relationship. I also love contributing to education and I believe Cengage has a incredible focus on students and faculty alike.

    Cons

    The only con is the base pay. I do wish Cengage paid better, but with that being said, pay is not everything and Cengage has so much more to offer.

    Advice to Management

    My advice would is, be as transparent as possible with all objectives.

    Cengage2017-10-02
  8. "Great company and great Culture!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Learning Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are many great reasons to work for Cengage. I personally love the culture! Although, I am responsible for hitting my individual goals of my territory (personal accountability is also a plus), the marketing managers, product team and the management team collaborate with me everyday and truly listen ton the feedback my customers and I give them. The work life balance overall is great, things slow down during... the summer, which will allow more time for family or travel). The bonus compensation for hitting goal is very generous. Working in the educational industry is very rewarding because I know my company and I are making a difference one student at a time.

    Show More

    Cons

    During the start of each semester expect to work long hours.

    Cengage2017-08-08
  9. "Learning Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Learning Consultant in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Company Vision, Resources, Colleagues, Compensation, Work/Life Balance

    Cons

    Occasional Travel, Circle of Excellence Locations

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the GREAT work!

    Cengage2017-07-06
  10. "Higher Ed Learning Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Learning Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Wonderful people are attracted to this industry and this company. the best of those stay and thrive here. The resources necessary for success are here, as are the rewards that accompany that success.

    Cons

    The onus for taking advantage of resources is on the individual employee. This is particularly true in field sales and in an industry experiencing a dramatic transition. It is the case at Cengage.

    Advice to Management

    I have been surprised, in a positive way, at the candor of management in recent years. Transparency must continue to be a high priority - it is a necessary building block for mutual trust and respect.

    Cengage2017-07-06
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Sales consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Sales Representative/Senior Learning Consultant in State College, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great digital products. Good benefits

    Cons

    Company changes directions yearly. Alot of turnover so hard to have relationships in marketing and hard for customers.

    Cengage2016-09-13
Found 10 reviews