Cengage "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cengage Employee Reviews about "great people"

Updated 16 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "In some cases, they even created "new positions" for people who were personal friends with upper management(in 73 reviews)

  • "To many reorgs when company numbers aren't met(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great people"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A really great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mission and the great people!

    Cons

    It could be under pros, depending on your character, but it is a very complex world!

    Advice to Management

    Keep caring about people in addition to delivery.

    Cengage2019-05-03
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Do not accept a job offer at this place!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are some great people who work here and that is the ONLY thing I miss about it.

    Cons

    Leadership and Management - From Michael Hansen, to Bleichmar, to the SVP's and on down to DM's. This company talks a good game about caring for its employees, and about building strong culture, etc., etc. but the only culture that is valued here is a culture where employees are 'yes men' and don't question the status quo and remain silent while leadership makes mind-boggling decisions. Cengage Unlimited has... turned out to be a huge mistake that was pushed for by leadership without a full understanding of the financial impact it would have on the company's bottom line. Or take for instance the move to Pier 4, a highly expensive piece of real estate, that in reality Cengage could not afford to make, given what we now know about their losses this mid-year, which has meant layoffs all around. The merger with McGrawHill will probably be their only saving grace because without it, Cengage would likely cease to exist in another five years, maybe less. If I were McGraw I'd abandon the merger and let Cengage's leadership sink the company, which is where it would have been headed. (Picture the Titanic slowly disappearing below the waters) So to summarize: at Cengage employees don't matter, culture doesn't matter and to a great extent even their products ultimately don't matter. Any profits earned here are used to pay off investors and the salaries of the Executives (of which there is an inordinate amount) who run the various business units, rather than creating great products. There is no innovation happening at this place! Salary - salaries are below industry average, (except for the DM's, SVP's and Exec's - they always seem to do well at Cengage). I got a raise that numbered in pennies during the last review (and that was with a good performance appraisal)! Some colleagues I know received no increases whatsoever. If you are a person who loves innovation, who wants great company culture and an environment that values what you bring to the table - Cengage is not the place for you! Look elsewhere.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Unfortunately, management here doesn't take advice - this is a company that is beholden to investors and that's who their decisions are centered around.

    Cengage2019-11-16
  3. "Great people work here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Director 

    I have been working at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Flexible work environment filled with great people.

    Cons

    Uncertain future as the company is going through a merger.

    Cengage2019-10-14
  4. Helpful (21)

    "Falling fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Cincinnati, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Manager and individual contributors are all really great people.

    Cons

    - Poor compensation. Even when you know for a fact that you are underpaid, you will not get a market adjustment because the company is doing poorly. - Must be a cheerleader for a merger between two corporations that will result in the unemployment of 3,000+ people. - No job security at all. Cuts are constant and often do not make sense. If you speak up about it at all, you are told that you do no embrace... change. Number of people cut each time has come down over the years, but I've seen 100+ people be cut in the same day. The people that remain have to pick up the slack. Constant fear that you are next. Employees are leaving in droves. - Workplace induced depression is a common theme lately.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop buying fake Glassdoor reviews.

    Cengage2019-10-22
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in Tucson, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible, fun, and great people to work with

    Cons

    Need a lot of self motivation

    Cengage2019-09-24
  6. "Great Culture and good products but Low Pay and Constant Reorganization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Assistant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people and great content. Some really great teams and managers who build strong relationships with team members

    Cons

    Lack of appreciation and benefits for the entry level employees, too many reorganizations, pay too low for the work expected

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate and pay assistant roles more - and create a clearer trajectory for people to move up in the company

    Cengage2019-08-10
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Lots of politics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There are great benefits such as the company car, working from home, working with great people

    Cons

    Lack of transparency with upper management, changes are sudden and often.

    Cengage2019-05-07
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Great people, low salaries"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Indexing Specialist in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really great people, able to work remotely, flexible hours

    Cons

    Low salaries, few opportunities for advancement, position eliminated

    Cengage2019-04-28
  9. "Love Cengage!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexibility, great people, room for career growth.

    Cons

    Low-ish salary sometimes but you can always look for internal opportunities

    Cengage2019-04-29
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Mid-Year Review (Sales)"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are plenty of things to love about this company. Great people (if you're lucky and end up on a great team), decent summer and winter hours (working from home if you're in the sales field), and ok benefits. Company car for sales reps out in the field with gas allowance, professional development that includes a yearly week-long sales summit to network with your peers from all over the country (although if you... are not a manager you have to share a room with someone which is a huge downside to perks). With the launch of Cengage Unlimited, everyone is excited and optimistic for the future. People here in general are mission driven and goal oriented and really do care about the work they do. It's a challenging, ever-changing environment but that's what makes it exciting, in my opinion. You truly do feel good about the work you're doing to help students learn.

    Show More

    Cons

    As mentioned above, it's an ever-changing industry and one that has to keep re-inventing itself constantly to keep up. Customers know this and are very stand-offish even with the launch of Unlimited which lowers the cost of materials significantly for students. I haven't been here long enough to see any high turnover but have heard from a number of others that re-orgs happen often. Technology does not align with... that of the company's ethos. Cengage is still far, far away from its goal of being "85 percent" digital. Instructors don't buy it. Platforms are old and dated, and, no matter how great the benefits, instructors already have their minds set and aren't willing to change. Cengage's internal CRM (Magellan) is terrible and no one seems to be doing anything about it. Trying to update one opportunity can take up to 15 minutes. This doesn't seem like a lot but when you have 100+ to work on and the system is constantly freezing and running slow- it adds up. Sales reps are constantly having to apologize to customers for tech issues. Training was inefficient and didn't cover at all what you needed to learn before selling season started. For reps completely new to the industry, this can mean missing their bonus(es) as they are only paid out twice a year. Many professors are now pressured to turn to free educational resources (OER) and are very stand-offish toward publishers. It's very much a customer service job and you will be wearing MANY hats and encounter lots of rude customers who will try to make you feel low because of their own bias toward publishers. During selling seasons be prepared to work ridiculously long hours and somehow be expected to plan for 4-day campus visits (like writing detailed lesson plans which can take hours), spend long hours on campus while trying to juggle 20+ emails, update CRM and conduct follow ups all in the same week. Not to mention learn new products, platforms and processes all at the same time. It can be mentally draining. Vacation is not competitive when compared to other publishers and "tech" companies, and neither is base salary.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please advocate for a better CRM system. If not Salesforce, then one that can be highly functional without crashing and freezing in the middle of work because 1,000+others are on it at the same time. Additionally, managers have just as heavy of a workload as reps do hence they should understand that pointless 1-hour team calls and end-of-the week updates only disrupt out performance, not enhance it. We are adults... who know how to do our jobs and if we don't, you wouldn't have hired us. Please loosen up all the corporate procedures such as unnecessary team calls and other busy work so that we can focus on our customers and ensuring we are being efficient with our time.

    Show More
    Cengage2018-11-19
Found 104 reviews