Cengage "great people" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cengage Reviews

Updated Dec 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
73%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
  1. Helpful (2)

    "IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time

    Pros

    Lots of great people to work with that have a passion for what they do.

    Cons

    Constant change and little time is given to new initiatives to see if they will work. Shifting of upper management as well as titles for positions is frequent.

    Cengage2018-02-12
  2. Helpful (13)

    "Great People but working in a troubled environment for several years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Producer in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule/work from home. Great people to work with.

    Cons

    Since I started 7 years ago the past 5 years they have done HUGE layoffs every 3 months which created unease with the employees as well as a stress for those of us covering the positions that were eliminated. They ultimately started outsourcing jobs and laying off key team players.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2018-01-05
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Field Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Career Account Manager in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    -Cengage is a large company so lots of people and personalities but in general the folks I have been fortunate to work with over the years have encouraged me, challenged me and made me better. Great people seem to be a common theme. -Be your Own CEO! This has limits but we really have been encouraged to think outside of the box, collaborate, and share our successes and failures with others. -Recent bold moves like Cengage Unlimited have positioned us to have real conversations around student affordability and offer real options to partner with institutions to improve the overall student experience. -MindTap has been a very successful platform and has made student's/faculty's transformation to digital a good overall experience. -Great Benefits and bonus plan and it seems like Cengage has been successful at recruiting good talent from the competition. -Just started my 14th year and all things considered my career at Cengage has been a blessing. -Management team is responsive and very willing to assist if asked but not likely manage you through every task or negotiation.

    Cons

    -Publishing industry as a whole is not very stable and lots of great people and top talent have lost their positions over the last 5+ years. -Multiple acquisitions, some have made Cengage stronger and some have been distractions.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2017-12-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Learning Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Learning Consultant in Independence, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours, lenient management, great people to work with, great earning potential, great job to start at out of college. Overall, I enjoy everyday I spend working at Cengage (Independence, KY)

    Cons

    Pay may not be the most competitive, but the pros outweigh this con

    Continue reading
    Cengage2017-09-06
  6. "Executive Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Senior Account Executive in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A great product and great people to work with.

    Cons

    Caring, Helpful, Current, Success, Helpful

    Continue reading
    Cengage2017-08-05
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Product Development at ed2go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Temecula, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Can choose hours; be part of changing lives through education; great people on my team and through out my division; nice office; Can work from home in some positions or even from out of state. Growing. Great transparency from Cengage the parent company.

    Cons

    Growing pains; emphasis and support for sales mostly. Finding our way to being part of the parent company and balancing having content development blending with the Skills segment of the business. But via good leadership it is turning into a good experience.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2017-06-27
  8. "Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Best work environment i've ever worked at. Great people.

    Cons

    I cant think of any...

    Cengage2017-05-13
  9. Helpful (1)

    "A company always looking to get better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Lot of great people who are always willing to share knowledge * Cengage wants to move education in the right direction, and is truly focused on students--they want to lower the cost of course materials and create solutions that can be customized to each learner.

    Cons

    * Much of the product development is still very print-centered. Many people at Cengage are working to change that, but it's a big company with a long history of print publishing. * Change is slow. It's a big company with a long history of print publishing.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2017-05-01

    Cengage Response

    July 10, 2017CEO

    Thanks for taking the time to post. You have mentioned two areas that are in fact top priorities for us this year: Reinventing product development and investing in talent. With regard to product development, as our markets shift toward digital, we must and are changing our processes and systems to reflect that. Project Atlas is a big, essential – and long-term – method to get us there. The transformation is underway and ongoing. You are right in saying we need to make it happen. Second, investing in people underpins this approach. I am personally very excited about our new Talent team and the many initiatives and projects on the horizon to promote new professional growth. Stay tuned. If you have specific ideas, please feel free to e-mail me directly.

    Continue reading
  10. "Welcoming Place, Interesting Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Plenty of training opportunities. No one ever turns you away if you have questions or need guidance with anything. Awesome benefits if you're a commuter and even low-level full-time employees have access to excellent benefits.

    Cons

    There are a billion systems to learn and the it seems like training is always happening, but you still have to ask around. Not a lot of continuity across methods.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2017-05-02
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Great people, focused on students, very collaborative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people that make coming to work every day enjoyable, very collaborative environment where people work together to get things done and will go above and beyond. People work very hard with a laser focus on students and are passionate about improving education. flexible work environment, with good work/life balance. I've enjoyed a lot of opportunity to do new and different things, stretch myself and really grow my career. Solid benefits.

    Cons

    There's a bit of change, so you have to be ok with that. I know change has been harder for some areas, than others. However, in technology, you have to constantly change to keep up and improve. I wish annual salary increases could be ratcheted up even just a little bit more! Market/industry conditions are challenging.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2017-04-07
Found 105 reviews