Cengage "reorgs" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cengage Employee Reviews about "reorgs"

Updated Nov 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
87%
Approve of CEO
Pros
Cons
  • "Cengage Unlimited isn't holding up to the pedestal it was put on by upper management(in 74 reviews)

  • "To many reorgs when company numbers aren't met(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "reorgs"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Cengage

    Pros

    Great people - smart people. Good products

    Cons

    Too many reorgs so always uncertainty in the air

    Cengage2016-09-27
  2. Helpful (7)

    "Short-lived experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Boston, MA

    I worked at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Beautiful office - Positive culture - Get to work with hardworking, driven individuals

    Cons

    - Reorgs/layoffs - Uncertainty of keeping your job - Uncertainty of how the merger will impact your job

    Continue reading
    Cengage2019-11-05
  3. Helpful (4)

    "Too many changes too quickly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Content Manager in Boston, MA
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedules, decent benefits and vacation time, good people and solid products.

    Cons

    Two reorgs in one year is too much and it is difficult to keep up with all the changes. Content managers are forced to wear too many hats. They combined two separate positions, Content Developer and Content Production Manager into one role, so basically double the work for the same pay.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2019-08-14
  4. "Good Place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits and support.

    Cons

    To many reorgs when company numbers aren't met.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2019-05-24
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great place in a tough market"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great co-workers, focused and hard working. Work/life balance. Ability to work from home. Willing to take risks, be aggressive in a very hard market.

    Cons

    Reorgs, layoffs, poor change management.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2019-04-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company really does care about students and making learning affordable. The have a decent work/life balance environment.

    Cons

    Some of their business decisions are short-sighted, so there are a lot of reorgs, which result in layoffs. They are starting to pull back on the ability to work remotely, which may limit their ability to attract and retain quality talent.

    Cengage2019-04-14
  7. Helpful (22)

    "Run! Beware lots of drama and reorgs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Benefits, Bonus, and I did like working with my co-workers.

    Cons

    Stressful work environment that was micro-managed. No room for advancement. Advancement is based on the buddy system not on succcess within the company. This results in highly unqualified people managing the company. There were 4 reorgs in the 6 years I was with the company . I had 6 different managers and 4 different territories -no consistency. Lots of technical issues with MindTap and integration. Not too mention the drama internally was insane! Not a good work environment.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2019-03-13
  8. Helpful (28)

    "Going downhill when I left, now even worse."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Learning Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    My team was the best thing about the job. From the production assistants to content developers/learning designers to marketing, most of the people who had individual contributor roles were dedicated, hard-working, and collaborative. There was a sense of camaraderie and we really pulled for one another. Work-life balance was easy to maintain. There were a lot of opportunities to WFH and, depending on your location/role, flexibility. The last good thing was being able to interact with professors. Hearing first-hand about what's going on in the classroom, and giving them a chance to express and discuss the challenges they faced was incredible. So many people go into the industry wanting to make professors' lives easier and have a tangible impact on students. Their passion and enthusiasm for teaching was a huge source of motivation and really made me want to create something they'd find valuable.

    Cons

    Too many to fully list: - No coherent vision from ELT. Priorities were constantly shifting with little explanation beyond "we think this makes sense." - Constant reorgs. So many smart, talented, dedicated people have been unceremoniously dumped that it's hard to fathom how things are still running. - Rampant favoritism. Certainly in terms of promotion and retention, but also when it came to greenlighting and funding projects. The company has probably wasted a small fortune building poorly-designed products that nobody wants to use. By the time those dismal sales figures roll in, that person has already been promoted and it's somebody else's mess to clean up (usually by ditching the product). - Unwillingness to dedicate resources to executing on product ideas. Even when projects are funded, there's a constant scaling-back through all phases of development, such that what's released doesn't actually address the original needs that were described. - Creating needless bureaucratic bottlenecks. Look, if you say "too many teams are doing XYZ, from now on all XYZ activities need to flow through the XYZ team," then you better staff that team appropriately. There's a proliferation of narrowly-focused teams that add no value and suck up time and resources that could be better deployed. - Upper management is arrogant, dismissive, and unprofessional.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2019-02-03
  9. Helpful (5)

    "Changing Industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cengage full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with - very team oriented.

    Cons

    Very stressful industry-spread very thin to cover many disciplines and products and it feels like you do many things mediocre instead of a few things really well. Pay seems low for how much work/effort is put out. With challenges in the industry, it is tough, even with new subscription model. Higher ed space can be challenging to move to digital age. I've heard of many reorgs this company has gone through and anticipate more in the near future. I had reservations getting into this industry and there has not been any sort of confidence instilled to quell my reservations.

    Cengage2018-05-07
  10. Helpful (11)

    "Undeniably despicable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cengage full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    If you are looking for a caustic, abhorrent work environment, this is your place!

    Cons

    CL claims that developing a positive corporate culture is at the core of their mission. In actuality, they could care less about who you are as a person. And as for your personal track record of success? It's pretty much worthless when it comes to their (ongoing) restructures and reorgs.

    Continue reading
    Cengage2017-05-08
Found 37 reviews