KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Cengage

Engaged Employer

Cengage

Add a Review

Cengage Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Dec 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Work Life Balance and flexibility is key(in 174 reviews)

  • "Number one is the great people I worked with(in 116 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Cengage Unlimited isn't holding up to the pedestal it was put on by upper management(in 73 reviews)

  • "To many reorgs when company numbers aren't met(in 41 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Cengage and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      The best place to work

      Dec 3, 2020 - Product Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cengage cares about their people, A LOT. They place importance on community and are constantly having initiatives geared towards our well-being. From day 1, managers are trying to advance you in your career and help you make it happen. Everyone is kind and treats everyone with respect. The work is meaningful and impactful in the real world. A ton of importance is placed on inclusivity and diversity in the texts. Upper management constantly send out surveys for employee feedback and make changes/decisions based on it. Every Friday we all get to meet with the CEO and ask questions.

      Cons

      Not a single down side to this company. You'll want to work here forever.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Cengage Response

      CEO

      Your experience when it comes to managerial support, professional development and connection to our leadership and central mission as a learning company, are such shining examples of what defines Cengage – our company culture. I’m incredibly proud of the work we do every day to support students and educators, and I’m glad you have found inspiration in this as well. Best, Michael

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      Non-stop change

      Aug 25, 2020 - Digital Delivery Lead in Farmington Hills, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting work, thoughtful and smart co-workers

      Cons

      Constant change makes it impossible to get your bearings and although upper management asks for honest input, they don't really want to hear criticism.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Cengage Response

      CEO

      Thank you for leaving this feedback. Knowing that you have dedicated more than 10 years of your professional journey to Cengage, and to the educators and students that we serve, I invite you to contact me at any time to share more about your experience. Best, Michael

    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      It Was Good Until It Wasn't

      Dec 12, 2019 - Learning Consultant in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The working atmosphere was great. Great people throughout the company at all levels. People enjoyed being there. If you hit bonus, nice payouts.

      Cons

      Cengage Unlimited isn't holding up to the pedestal it was put on by upper management. Too much money being lost every quarter has turned it into a not so fun place to be at. Lots of cuts over the years, especially last month has turned it into a skeleton crew doing the same amount of work, if not more.

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    4. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Good company, some bad apples

      Jan 14, 2019 - District Manager in Independence, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work-life balance was nice. For the most part, you are given the ability to "leave your work at the office," and maintain some free time outside of work. There are plenty of good people working there and the work is rewarding.

      Cons

      Favoritism is a major problem. Several undeserving employees were given every opportunity despite falling short of expectations. In some cases, they even created "new positions" for people who were personal friends with upper management. Meanwhile, many hard-working and highly successful employees were treated very poorly and their career goals were ignored, simply because they didn't have personal relationships with the "right people." They don't always value results, good ideas, or smart people. Instead, they too often value "yes men," who play the part, even if they don't produce. Double-standards are a major problem as well. Again, if you happen to be friends with the right people. you can get away with behavior that would never be accept from those who are not personal friends with those making decisions. This creates a culture of resentment and hopelessness for those on the wrong side of these double standards.

      Continue reading
      12 people found this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      working at NGL--Cengage

      Jul 26, 2019 - Sales Representative in Bear River City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My immediate manager is absolutely top notch. Great place to work. The upper management is eager to listen to our perspective as boots on the ground workers.

      Cons

      Salaries for virtually all sales reps is embarrassingly low.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Company Rising from Chapter 11 Ashes

      Mar 23, 2019 - Digital Solutions Coordinator in Farmington Hills, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company culture and people. At the Farmington Hills, MI office (mainly a Gale campus) has positive people and employees who have been with the company for a long time (20 or even 30+ years in some cases)! This is great to see as a first job out of college. CEO and upper management have a positive goal that radiates throughout the company. Company mission is clear with the rise of Cengage Unlimited. Cengage declared Chapter 11 in 2013, but that history feels like ages ago. Higher ups have done a fantastic job putting this behind them and plowing forward with a dedicated focus on Education and company culture. In my customer service position, the customers I assist are K-12 school districts and admins. I couldn't ask for a better, and more kinder, customer base that is focused on the improvement of their students education! Good benefits too: 2 weeks of vacation initially, with 3 weeks after two years of service, and 4 weeks after six years of service. 6 sick days, plus floating holidays (varies 2-3 by year). 12 weeks fully paid parental leave regardless of sex.

      Cons

      Within my work circle (customer service) some have been in the same position for many years (10+ in some cases). This has led to a decline in workmanship and quality of service. Although the company has improved career direction, more needs to be done to motivate employees. A lot of silos within the organization with too many "VPs" of this and that. This causes confusion and headaches within the organization and slows down customer vitality.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Going downhill when I left, now even worse.

      Feb 2, 2019 - Learning Designer in San Francisco, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My team was the best thing about the job. From the production assistants to content developers/learning designers to marketing, most of the people who had individual contributor roles were dedicated, hard-working, and collaborative. There was a sense of camaraderie and we really pulled for one another. Work-life balance was easy to maintain. There were a lot of opportunities to WFH and, depending on your location/role, flexibility. The last good thing was being able to interact with professors. Hearing first-hand about what's going on in the classroom, and giving them a chance to express and discuss the challenges they faced was incredible. So many people go into the industry wanting to make professors' lives easier and have a tangible impact on students. Their passion and enthusiasm for teaching was a huge source of motivation and really made me want to create something they'd find valuable.

      Cons

      Too many to fully list: - No coherent vision from ELT. Priorities were constantly shifting with little explanation beyond "we think this makes sense." - Constant reorgs. So many smart, talented, dedicated people have been unceremoniously dumped that it's hard to fathom how things are still running. - Rampant favoritism. Certainly in terms of promotion and retention, but also when it came to greenlighting and funding projects. The company has probably wasted a small fortune building poorly-designed products that nobody wants to use. By the time those dismal sales figures roll in, that person has already been promoted and it's somebody else's mess to clean up (usually by ditching the product). - Unwillingness to dedicate resources to executing on product ideas. Even when projects are funded, there's a constant scaling-back through all phases of development, such that what's released doesn't actually address the original needs that were described. - Creating needless bureaucratic bottlenecks. Look, if you say "too many teams are doing XYZ, from now on all XYZ activities need to flow through the XYZ team," then you better staff that team appropriately. There's a proliferation of narrowly-focused teams that add no value and suck up time and resources that could be better deployed. - Upper management is arrogant, dismissive, and unprofessional.

      Continue reading
      29 people found this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Lots of politics

      May 7, 2019 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are great benefits such as the company car, working from home, working with great people

      Cons

      Lack of transparency with upper management, changes are sudden and often.

      8 people found this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      previous employee

      Apr 24, 2019 - Learning Consultant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Scheduling flexibility, car package, 401k matching to 4%

      Cons

      Upper management out of touch, constant turnover, preach impact in higher education but bottom line is all that matters

      4 people found this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Lack of leadership and focus

      Jun 22, 2014 - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall, the company did a great job through the bankruptcy and kept calm in that uncertain time. Getting through bankruptcy and continuing the business is a big challenge, and I think the CEO did a great job managing the bankruptcy process. Our group creates high-quality products that do address customers real needs. In the department I work in, collaboration is valued and we all work well together as a team.

      Cons

      Major lack of leadership, strategy, and vision. Lack of focus for product plans. Seems like we are trying to create too many products rather than focus on the few key products needed. In other offices, it sounds like there is good work-life balance, but in our office there is not. There is an expectation from upper management to work at all times, even on holidays and vacations. Performance evaluations are not based on actual performance. No real measurement and assessment of work when you are told to give all employees "meets expectations." All employees get about the same very minimal increase (2%), which then breeds mediocrity. Last year our health care costs went up, and our increase did not even cover the increased cost of the health care. Extremely short-staffed--not enough staff for the number of products we are creating. The needs of the staff are ignored by leadership. Overall, staff morale is very low and upper management doesn't care. When these issues have been brought up by employees (and they have, and employees have tried to make things different), employees have been shot down.

      Continue reading
      16 people found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 92 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cengage Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Regional Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Cengage? Share Your Experiences

    or