Cengage Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 4, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
79%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "Work Life Balance and flexibility is key(in 174 reviews)

  • "Number one is the great people I worked with(in 116 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Cengage Unlimited isn't holding up to the pedestal it was put on by upper management(in 73 reviews)

  • "To many reorgs when company numbers aren't met(in 41 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Cengage and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "work life balance"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great so far!

      Jan 4, 2021 - Learning Associate in Cincinnati, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great company culture! Really enjoy work life balance

      Cons

      Can’t think of any now

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Best Sales Role and Company I’ve ever worked for.

      Dec 20, 2020 - Account Executive in San Bernardino, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Work life balance is great -Good base salary with opportunity to earn annual commission - great leadership - helping students and educators with affordability. - company car -established brand helps with targeting new customers and maintaining existing business - phone/internet stipend -great vacation PTO and also get several additional holidays when schools are closed

      Cons

      - can be a big learning curve if new to industry and not familiar with digital learning products - difficulty tracking accurate sales results in real time - the industry is constantly evolving and that can bring uncertainty and worry with future job security at times

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Cengage Response

      It is great to read such positive feedback, I appreciate you for taking the time to share it. Like you, I am proud of how our management and employees have gone above and beyond to support each other and our customers through this challenging year. Thank you for all you do to make a difference in the lives of our customers and I am thrilled at your enthusiasm to grow along with the company. -Edwin Robles – SVP, Higher Ed & Skills Sales

    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Excellent place to work

      Nov 18, 2020 - Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great culture, CEO is very smart and plugged into the issues of the company and the landscape. HR is generous and helpful. Training is available and supported. I love the employee-driven culture. Very smart people work here--the environment is goal driven but respectful. The work/life balance is good. We are working hard on inclusivity/diversity.

      Cons

      Due to the naturally cyclical nature of the work, the workload can be hard to manage at times--but management is supportive of taking time to recharge.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great place to work

      Dec 9, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Farmington Hills, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, ability to work from home, great culuture and people.

      Cons

      I love my job and love the company, but it is hard to really move up the ladder.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company with great benefits and competitive salary

      Aug 12, 2020 - Software Engineer in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      37.5 hours of work, work-life balance, very supportive of minorities, amazing CEO. Most managers are great and are very supportive of employees. Very few bad apples in higher management.

      Cons

      Talks of merger caused uncertainty (the merger would have been a bad idea, it would have killed the culture). Covid-19 temporary paycut was a mistake (lots of good employees left). Very political environment (tendency to maintain the status quo). Too many management changes (a bit unstable for middle management).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Cengage Response

      CEO

      Thank you for leaving this feedback. It is great to read what is working for you, and where we still have room to improve. I understand that you feel the temporary pay cut was a mistake. In this case, we were planning for the unknown impact of Covid-19 and by executing these plans, we are positioned to successfully navigate this challenging period. We plan to pay back the salary reduction, if we collectively hit certain targets. I also agree that we are not afraid of disruption. Transforming education requires us to be nimble, learning from what works and where we can push further. I want to thank you for your more than five years of service on behalf of the students and educators we serve. I am always available if you’d like to continue this conversation, at any time. Best, Michael

    6. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Good experience

      Aug 23, 2020 - Sales Representative 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Coworkers that care about your personal and professional success and well-being. Good work/life balance. Creativity and balance between independence and collaboration is encouraged.

      Cons

      Not many advancement opportunities, sales reps wear too many hats on top of their sales rep duties. Can be extremely overwhelming as a result. Lack of communication between teams can lead to inconsistency and confusion.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Flexible, Great Place to Learn and Transparent Leadership

      Aug 12, 2019 - Researcher in Farmington Hills, MI
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Cengage has been a great place for me to learn. Starting off at an entry level position six years ago, I have been able to progress my career greatly at Cengage. I find that the vast majority of my coworkers are interesting, engaged people, and they've helped me develop a career path I'm excited to be on. Cengage has also been very flexible with my work/life balance, which I appreciate. As a number of reviews have mentioned, we have seen our fair shares of reorganizations. As an industry that's very much in flux, I think that makes sense. Additionally, I think the trend line of the reorganizations has been generally positive -- I feel like most of the changes that have been made over the last year are in the right direction. The current leadership is very open about what has worked and what hasn't and taken appropriate action if we've gone down a path that didn't work out.

      Cons

      When I started out in an entry level position 6 years ago (Product Assistant), the salary was very challenging to live on -- esp. in Boston where I worked and lived at the time. As far as I can tell, the salary range hasn't gone up significantly since then.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Great Place To Work

      Feb 28, 2020 - Director, End User Computing Solutions in Boston, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work Life Balance and flexibility is key. The environment in the office is fun and exciting. Our environment is like a start up environment. Office has kitchens with free coffee, tea, fruit, snacks, espresso machines and much more. The collaboration has been amazing which is always a concern for a new employee. The support and knowledge sharing from other employees has been invaluable.

      Cons

      The commute to/from Boston can be difficult - however, Cengage also helps with parking and commuter costs

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Cengage Response

      CEO

      Thank you for sharing your experience with Cengage. I’m pleased to hear your first year is going well! I appreciate all of the positive comments in your review, and perhaps most importantly, that you have found our communications with employees to be transparent – this is a key tenet of our Ethos and of my approach to leadership. I truly believe that with transparency, we build trust, and with trust, we can perform at our best. Our HR onboarding team works hard to make sure new hires have all the support they need to succeed --- great to hear this is translating well. Keep up the great work!

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Wonderful staff and management

      Oct 3, 2020 - ECommerce Specialist in Independence, KY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very supportive management, good work life balance

      Cons

      Training is not as comprehensive as it could be

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great place to work

      Aug 31, 2020 - Account Manager in Clifton Park, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work life balance, growth opportunities

      Cons

      Tenure is weighed above talent on internal opportunities

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 203 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Cengage Job Seekers

    Software Engineer
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Regional Customer Success Manager
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Cengage? Share Your Experiences

    or