Centaur Media Reviews | Glassdoor

Centaur Media Reviews

Updated Feb 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
47%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Centaur Media CEO Swag Mukerji
Swag Mukerji
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lies from senior management about progression opportunities(in 15 reviews)

  • "Poor kitchen facilities and toilets(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great growing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Administrative Assistant and Junior Media Buyer in Spokane, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I have loved working here, nice small community that has been built. All employees are great to work with and there is always something different going on.

    Cons

    Some of the work is repetative, but that is standard for most office jobs.

    Centaur Media2012-09-11
  2. "Great four years , learned so much !"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Focus on two key portfolios Opportunity to learn and develop , just volunteer Amazing teams and people FABULOUS office !

    Cons

    Certain people will always look at the negatives , that's life !

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2020-02-05
  3. "Review of working in a sales team at Centaur"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good commission structure Fair targets Good accounts to work on Good products to work on Good benefits - holiday,maternity, office space... Good job security compared to start-ups

    Cons

    Low basic, less than industry average for similar job titles Slow to bring about change Sometimes feel like you are being squeezed to please shareholders with limited resources Usual burdens of being part of a traditional publishing house in comparison to a younger, start-up that will invest heavily and understand the tech market.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2020-01-30
  4. "Some pros but poor culture brings it down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Clear structure for progression, reasonable working hours, free fruit.

    Cons

    Selling off large parts of the business leaving staff guessing what was going on a lot of the time. Culture on certain teams of shaming people when they do something wrong.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2020-02-05
  5. "A much improved place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A brand-new WeWork space near the London Eye is a massive improvement on the previous offices in Wells Street. Breathtaking views and an uber-clean workspace. Centaur Media finally seems to be establishing an identity as an intel company rather than an old-fashioned publisher. You do get the chance to expand your role and responsibilities. You are not tied to the office and Centaur has very flexible working patterns. Free beer and barista coffee. Free breakfast on Monday.

    Cons

    The office space can feel overcrowded and noisy at certain times (Monday morning!). Senior management still suffer from a tendency to be overly reactive.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2020-01-09
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Not a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Struggling to find any - oh I know, they decide to close the office over Christmas and then deduct from your holiday allocation

    Cons

    It's amazing that a company specialising in the Marketing Industry, where there is a more even ratio of M vs F compared to most sectors, decides that the senior management team needs to be White, Male and generally British, whilst at the same time bangs on repeatedly about 'diversity'. There is NOTHING diverse about this company. It's a boy's club through and through. Every new promotion or appointment is a white male. It's almost funny. There is no structure, if you dare question strategy you are quickly sidelined and if you aren't part of the club, then you aren't going to have any sort of career progression. When I joined I had heard bad things about the company, however decided to make my own opinion. Within weeks of joining, I heard disgruntled members of "Xeim" (Xeim = Excellence in Marketing, which is a joke in itself given they have no understanding of the marketing sector at all.) telling me this was not a good place to work, and stupidly, I still chose to make my own mind up. After working at Centaur / NXeim (No excellence in marketing) for over a year, I have moved on to a company that genuinely cares about both the product and the employees. It's such a shame that a company with great products and platforms, just seems to do the absolute minimum, yet still charge heavy premiums to clients and generally un-deliver. There are no employee benefits, other than the standard pension, childcare vouchers, unless you include the free beer and coffee that WeWork provides. All in all, this is a very sad company to work for, who, like to paint a positive picture, however fall very much short of the mark when it comes to looking after their own employees. Avoid if you can.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2020-01-15
  7. "No Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Reject in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is a nice team

    Cons

    No Progression opportunities, training, or salary increases

    Centaur Media2020-02-04
  8. "First Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Representative in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - New Offices - Good Holiday Scheme - Career Planning

    Cons

    - Salary Progression - Targets often unrealistic

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2019-12-05
  9. "Good small listed company to get experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small Listed plc Location Varied role Ownership of work Approachable management

    Cons

    Salary levels Career progression - flat structure in finance

    Centaur Media2019-11-08
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great people, bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journalist/Reporter in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Lots of opportunities to expand on your skills as a journalist (reporting, doing video, podcasts, etc) - Good work/life balance - Friendly team members who like to socialise outside of working hours

    Cons

    - Difficult to progress - Pay rises pretty much non-existent - Management purely focused on keeping the sales team happy, so the editorial teams are often overlooked when it comes to incentives

    Centaur Media2019-09-29

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 122 reviews