Centaur Media Reviews | Glassdoor

Centaur Media Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
46%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Centaur Media CEO Swag Mukerji
Swag Mukerji
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Rats deserting the sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Your next job will feel like a lottery win

    Cons

    Too many to mention. If Russian Gulags ran Media Publishers, Centaur would be the blueprint. The maxim, 'Beatings will continue until morale improves' is clearly the CEO's ultimatum to all that kneel before her. For any job hunters seriously considering Centaur, avoid this company like the plague. I dare say the positive reviews are written by HR or the Profit Centre Managers (an oxymoron at Centaur).

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2019-08-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Central London location (though this is due to change) -Free breakfast (though this runs out by Wednesday) -Exercise classes on the roof

    Cons

    -poor, poor salary -progression opportunities are non-existent -no bonuses (at least not on my teams) -people leave and rarely get replaced -when senior members of the team left, they were replaced by entry level staff. -Lies from senior management about progression opportunities -Learning and development opportunities are non-existent or poorly advertised by HR. The outcome: -A dissatisfied workforce with poor morale and who dont feel valued by their managers -Leaving do's are weekly/bi-weekly occurrences as anyone with talent, drive or ambition will jump ship at the first opportunity.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2019-08-19
  3. "Reporter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reporter in London, England

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice staff and good office location

    Cons

    Company only cares about certain business divisions

    Centaur Media2019-07-07
  4. Helpful (5)

    "DO NOT WORK HERE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Researcher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast and a good location (but they’re moving locations)

    Cons

    The research and editorial teams are treat like robots - if you sit next to someone you get along with, its likely you’ll be separated. Pay is significantly low comparatively to other companies and other departments within centaur media and there are no pay reviews or rises. Team moral is very very low and ultimately no one is happy hence the high turn over. There is also no development within the roles and very if no promotions (I saw one in two years) I wish I had taken these reviews seriously before starting at Centaur media - DO NOT WORK HERE.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2019-08-05
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible Terrible Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Development Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    rooftop access for yoga great location

    Cons

    Please don't read these reviews and think "meh, it's just a few disgruntled old employees". The company is being run into the ground and should be avoided like the plague. Ever-increasing targets in a declining market - The targets across every portfolio are constantly rising to make up for a history underperformance. As a result, teams are under never-ending pressure to hit targets that are, quite frankly, completely beyond reach. It also means earning any commission or bonuses here is rarer than steak tartare. Management is truly, truly awful - Dreadful management is the main reason that the turnover is so alarmingly high at Centaur Media. Most managers are underqualified and undertrained with little to no understanding of our products, services and capabilities. The management across Marketing Week, Creative Review and Design Week are particularly bad - I do not use the term “bully” lightly when I say that management across these portfolios actively bully employees they don’t like, using them as scapegoats to cover their own backs when sales numbers are down (which is all the time). A boss should be a leader, but the only thing they lead are their Staffordshire terriers at the weekend. Say goodbye to all of your existing customers - Its public knowledge that in October of 2018, the company had reported a Year-on-year drop in share price by 22%. The response for higher management was to sell whatever you can, for whatever price possible, as soon as possible to quickly up next quarters numbers. Clients who were previously paying 30-40K for an advertisement package were being offered the same thing for 10-15K if they could sign instantly. As a result, yes, centaur have increased their share price, but on a very short-term basis. Having seen this happening first hand, I wholeheartedly see the company going down in a ball of flames in the next 24 months. I also pity the fool that takes on the new sales role and has to re-sell 40k packages to companies that paid so much less a few months prior… The company needs a serious rethink before it 1, going under. And 2, Ends up driving an employee too far (the rooftop is easy to access and an impressive 8 floors high...).

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2019-07-19
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Stay Away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDM in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Location - at the heart of central london

    Cons

    Poor salaries Horrifying offices (no cutlery - literally) Shocking commission structure (less than 1% of what you bill) The worst company i have every worked for.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2019-07-10
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not what it used to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reporter in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good location for shopping, right off Oxford Street

    Cons

    Incompetent management, obsessed with sales not editorial values

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2019-05-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "...Not a review that has been asked of to increase the Glassdoor rating..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    BDM in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media for more than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast when they remember to add it to your floor, and of course the free instant coffee, again, if they remember to bring it up. Some great people. Good location.

    Cons

    Everything, from the CEO, to management, no one seems to have a clue what they’re doing and business has been going down hill for a few years now. Lack of investment within its own portfolios. Bullying & blaming culture which is incredibly toxic. If you’re a new recruit, you’ll soon find that your diary will fill up with more ‘leaving doo’s’ than meetings.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2019-06-02
  9. "Dynamic environment and a great bunch of people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    The company is corporate, but can feel like a smaller business. The team that I work in is very collaborative and open and allows for everyone to grow the products together. Communication is good across teams and for a company within this industry, there is a fair work-life balance.

    Cons

    Incredibly quick paced and requires a certain type of autonomous character to progress which won't suit everyone.

    Centaur Media2019-03-19
  10. Helpful (5)

    "behind the times, disengaged workforce"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    lovely people to work with

    Cons

    poor management with poor communication

    Centaur Media2019-03-27
Found 125 reviews