Centaur Media Reviews | Glassdoor

Centaur Media Reviews

Updated Apr 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
46%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Centaur Media CEO Swag Mukerji
Swag Mukerji
5 Ratings
  1. "Centaur Media - pros, cons and advice to management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    Centaur is a business in the middle of an exciting transformation from a legacy publishing business to a high-value information, events and marketing services provider. This transformation started 4 years ago and has not been without its challenges, but what gave everyone the confidence to deliver this change was a suite of market leading brands such as Marketing Week, The Lawyer, Money Marketing and Creative Review from which to build. With very loyal audiences, we knew we engaged large enough audiences to turn them from users into customers. We haven’t finished yet and we are actively investing, particularly in our digital and events products as well as seeking strategic, bolt-on acquisitions. At the heart of this transformation is a group of talented, innovative and focused people who are determined to succeed. Keeping everyone happy isn’t always easy, though, particularly with the pace of change we find ourselves in, but Centaur, through a tight, but well informed HR and management team extend some great employee benefits with a duty of care to its staff that many businesses would aspire to. Drawing on personal experience, I found myself in hospital at the beginning of the year with a 12-month recovery period that I am currently navigating. To say that Centaur offered me first class support is an understatement, providing independent medical advice to discern my phased return to work as well as other support such as counselling for me and my family. This has cemented my view that Centaur is committed to staff well-being and overall health.

    Cons

    Being a relatively small PLC, securing investments to grow can be tricky, but on that front, senior management have invested more in the last 2 years than any other time in my 15+ years at the business. Also, we should aim to run more social events at the business, particularly between the many businesses that could collaborate more. It will only drive creative thinking and good collaboration.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2018-06-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing people, strong brands and a great place to start and develop a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    The people - talented, diverse workforce and a supportive working environment The brands - strong, independent and innovative

    Cons

    I am genuinely astonished at some of the things I have read about Centaur in other reviews and it makes me wonder if I work in the same office? The company has had up and downs, but this is a general trend nothing Centaur specific. No working environment is perfect, but the level of hate and anger on this page is completely uncalled for and unprofessional. Company-wide communication especially from Senior Leadership down and Managers down could do with being improved, as well as more training and development opportunities be made available to keep employees' skills relevant and up-to-date.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2018-05-01
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Too many chiefs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sponsorship Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Central Location. Good work for charity with their monthly events.

    Cons

    So many managers having their often contradictory ‘input’. Office and systems were arcane. Poor delivery of events.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2018-04-14
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Neither here nor there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some great products and people!

    Cons

    Culture is questionable and they had little to no acknowledgement for the impact of mental health on work.

    Centaur Media2018-04-25

    Centaur Media Response

    May 2, 2018Group Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. A strong culture is really important to the business and I'd really encourage you to get in touch with me directly so that I can understand this in more detail. On your final point I'd like to state that we have a fantastic employee assistance programme and we take the well-being of all our staff extremely seriously. As above I’d welcome a conversation with you therefore please contact me directly on luke.bartram@centaurmedia.com and we can arrange a call.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Former employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    Some good apples, especially Linda Smith. Location is good.

    Cons

    Management is terrible, False hope of progression, a lot of behind the scene. employees disappear the next day due to firing, no heads up on anything, no culture, LOW pay across the board If you are jobless i would recommend you go in with the hope of leaving after a few months after finding another job. It is a quick good stepping stone if you are jobless. If you are not jobless proceed with caution. There are only a few good departments in there which are worth working in, but you will still feel the force of management there.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2018-04-26
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Only pros were a long time ago when this was an entrepreneurial company which valued its staff and offered genuine training and progression.

    Cons

    Bullying culture where people get to the top by stamping on others. People in charge are often incompetent and get other incompetent people to work under them to cover up their lack of ability. Mothers returning to work are treated appallingly, often demoted without any say. The HR department is totally ineffectual - if someone has a genuine grievance they offer no support and allow the bullies to bully people into submission.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2018-05-04
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Horrible place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    Team was nice, fruit twice a week

    Cons

    Where shall i start? everything? Poor management, low pay, old offices full of unhappy people. Everywhere you go - you see some miserable faces around. This company has no culture. People are not motivated, so called CEO is useless, senior management - useless, what do they do?

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2018-04-20

    Centaur Media Response

    May 2, 2018Group Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're obviously disappointed that you didn't enjoy your time at Centaur. I hope that this information was shared with either your line manager or HR during an exit interview, to allow us to follow up on your points for the future. If you'd be willing to have a conversation about your experience then please get in touch (luke.bartram@centaurmedia.com)

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (2)

    "They're barking mad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Offices in Oxford Street and close to tube

    Cons

    Structure, Culture, Large matrix

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2018-04-13
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Mixed Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great teammates, quick progression, good products

    Cons

    Poor management decisions, goal posts constantly changing, disparity in pay, high turnover of staff

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2018-04-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "lots behind the scenes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    location, good brands, dress down friday, free brekkie,

    Cons

    behind the scenes you never know whats going on, people come and go, never any management roles come up or they get filled without anyone knowing, directors micro manage and get too involved day to day, call times get picked up even if you have a good week in sales.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2018-03-06

    Centaur Media Response

    May 2, 2018Group Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We truly value our employees opinions good and bad, therefore please get in touch with me or the HR team directly to discuss this further. luke.bartram@centaurmedia.com

    Continue reading
Found 125 reviews