Centaur Media "senior management" Reviews | Glassdoor

Centaur Media Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Jan 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
46%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Centaur Media CEO Swag Mukerji
Swag Mukerji
6 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lies from senior management about progression opportunities(in 15 reviews)

  • "Poor kitchen facilities and toilets(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "senior management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A much improved place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    A brand-new WeWork space near the London Eye is a massive improvement on the previous offices in Wells Street. Breathtaking views and an uber-clean workspace. Centaur Media finally seems to be establishing an identity as an intel company rather than an old-fashioned publisher. You do get the chance to expand your role and responsibilities. You are not tied to the office and Centaur has very flexible working patterns. Free beer and barista coffee. Free breakfast on Monday.

    Cons

    The office space can feel overcrowded and noisy at certain times (Monday morning!). Senior management still suffer from a tendency to be overly reactive.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2020-01-09
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Not a great company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Head of Sales in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Struggling to find any - oh I know, they decide to close the office over Christmas and then deduct from your holiday allocation

    Cons

    It's amazing that a company specialising in the Marketing Industry, where there is a more even ratio of M vs F compared to most sectors, decides that the senior management team needs to be White, Male and generally British, whilst at the same time bangs on repeatedly about 'diversity'. There is NOTHING diverse about this company. It's a boy's club through and through. Every new promotion or appointment is a white male. It's almost funny. There is no structure, if you dare question strategy you are quickly sidelined and if you aren't part of the club, then you aren't going to have any sort of career progression. When I joined I had heard bad things about the company, however decided to make my own opinion. Within weeks of joining, I heard disgruntled members of "Xeim" (Xeim = Excellence in Marketing, which is a joke in itself given they have no understanding of the marketing sector at all.) telling me this was not a good place to work, and stupidly, I still chose to make my own mind up. After working at Centaur / NXeim (No excellence in marketing) for over a year, I have moved on to a company that genuinely cares about both the product and the employees. It's such a shame that a company with great products and platforms, just seems to do the absolute minimum, yet still charge heavy premiums to clients and generally un-deliver. There are no employee benefits, other than the standard pension, childcare vouchers, unless you include the free beer and coffee that WeWork provides. All in all, this is a very sad company to work for, who, like to paint a positive picture, however fall very much short of the mark when it comes to looking after their own employees. Avoid if you can.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2020-01-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Central London location (though this is due to change) -Free breakfast (though this runs out by Wednesday) -Exercise classes on the roof

    Cons

    -poor, poor salary -progression opportunities are non-existent -no bonuses (at least not on my teams) -people leave and rarely get replaced -when senior members of the team left, they were replaced by entry level staff. -Lies from senior management about progression opportunities -Learning and development opportunities are non-existent or poorly advertised by HR. The outcome: -A dissatisfied workforce with poor morale and who dont feel valued by their managers -Leaving do's are weekly/bi-weekly occurrences as anyone with talent, drive or ambition will jump ship at the first opportunity.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2019-08-19
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Empty Promises"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Operations Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Some interesting work and nice people to work with,

    Cons

    Flat structure, but little or no access to senior management, Pay rises and bonuses few and far between, made to feel insignificant in the bigger picture.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2019-01-17
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Horrible place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    Team was nice, fruit twice a week

    Cons

    Where shall i start? everything? Poor management, low pay, old offices full of unhappy people. Everywhere you go - you see some miserable faces around. This company has no culture. People are not motivated, so called CEO is useless, senior management - useless, what do they do?

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2018-04-20

    Centaur Media Response

    May 2, 2018Group Head of Recruitment

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're obviously disappointed that you didn't enjoy your time at Centaur. I hope that this information was shared with either your line manager or HR during an exit interview, to allow us to follow up on your points for the future. If you'd be willing to have a conversation about your experience then please get in touch (luke.bartram@centaurmedia.com)

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Extremely frustrating place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    Central London Location is great

    Cons

    Really demotivating place to work. Senior management treat employees like children regardless of their level of experience. Really patronising approach to any advice given by emplyees regarding individual markets. Totally run by accountants who have really limited understanding of individual brands.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2017-10-24
  7. Helpful (6)

    "High staff turnover and its ovbious why"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Its a good place to start a career, but not a place to stay if you want to progress your career. The people make the day to day bearable, but the cons outweigh the pros.

    Cons

    Relatively low salary, staff under-valued by senior management who make constant changes to strategy and set unachievable targets.

    Centaur Media2017-01-29

    Centaur Media Response

    February 7, 2017HR Business Partner

    Hello there, Thanks for your review - it looks like you are a current employee so can I suggest you come and have a chat with me in HR? Totally up to you but unless we get your feedback and suggestions for what could make us better, it is challenging to know what to focus on. Also, you could apply to the Development Board, our employee group who are selected on their own merit and given development opportunities throughout their tenure with the mandate of suggesting ways to improve the business. All the best Steph Walker Head of Talent and Resourcing at Centaur Media

    Continue reading
  8. "Research Analyst Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Research Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media for less than a year

    Pros

    The individual teams were very well constructed. Very open and discussion based atmosphere. I felt welcome from the first day.

    Cons

    Working in the headquarters, you would expect to the Senior Management more, but was not the case. Limited exposure

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2017-01-25
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    Great location; friendly, social people; nice open plan offices with staff consulted on decor plans; breakfast, tea & coffee, sweets provided; flexible working opportunities; OK benefits package, including discounts on local businesses; two yoga classes a week - free; regular communication on the state of the company; upcoming projects, etc - sometimes too much. Focus on personal development and access to training courses. Good holiday amount - up to 30 days dependent on how long you've been there. Great brands.

    Cons

    Lots of changes in structures, management, HR processes. Big focus on praising commercial and events departments, and not enough on editorial, marketing, digital and other teams. Low salaries in some areas, and regular promotions and raises in others, like sales/commercial/senior management. Pressure to stay late to impress.. The usual big business issues.

    Centaur Media2016-06-06
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Plenty of opportunities for progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    Centaur has given me a great platform to progress my own career whilst giving me an influence on the direction of my business unit. Following the restructure over the last couple of years into distinct portfolios there is a defined strategy which is starting to have a positive effect on culture and opportunities.

    Cons

    Communication from senior management could be better and there is more to be done in terms of culture, but the business is definitely on the right track.

    Centaur Media2016-04-27
Found 15 reviews