Centaur Media "toilets" Reviews | Glassdoor

Centaur Media Employee Reviews about "toilets"

Updated Oct 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
46%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Centaur Media CEO Swag Mukerji
Swag Mukerji
5 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Lies from senior management about progression opportunities(in 15 reviews)

  • "Poor kitchen facilities and toilets(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "toilets"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Absolute Joke of a Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    There's a tap which dispenses hot water

    Cons

    Absolutely everything. The office is a disgrace, the toilets are a disgrace, the kitchen facilities are a disgrace. The lifts never work. The areas outside the toilets actually stink of urine and faeces.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2019-10-07
  2. "An enjoyable place to work with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    The people, offices will be improving to a WeWork, good management team, commission.

    Cons

    Poor kitchen facilities and toilets

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2019-09-02
  3. Helpful (21)

    "Employees Treated Awfully"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    Although most have moved on, there remain a few good people across the business.

    Cons

    The company was struggling with growth as dire as the UK economy's, and there were a lot of redundancies and cost-saving initiatives, including removing paper towels from the toilets. Working as part of the sales organisation here is a complete dystopia, with "total minutes spent on phone" considered a key metric and displayed on large screens across the office- management really haven't got a clue! Managers tend to be tenured individuals who joined years ago and were promoted during times when business was good. Anyone below Steve Newbold has zero autonomy so you're wasting your breath expressing concerns / ideas to your manager because you're just going to get false promises. The office is a mice-infested, dated building with little natural light. A key employee benefit is "breakfast club", aka free cheap bread and crappy instant coffee- this really epitomises how Centaur values its employees.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2017-12-07
  4. Helpful (11)

    "All lies and no truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meet great people and it is them who keep you going in such a deprived demotivated workplace

    Cons

    The respect staff receive is absolutely disgusting which indicates as to why there is high Labour turnover. Always given false hopes and expected to take on a work load and work stupid hours to complete for what incentive a thank you ! Which is just about mentioned. Communication is horrendous lies of false motivation only to find out opportunities did not even exist. Expected to work hard and receive no credit in return. For two weeks lack of water and expected to use pub next door for toilets is against working rights Workplace (Health, Safety, and Welfare) regulations act 1992 - "Drinking water should be easily be accessible to employees. This place is not a healthy work environment nor is there any career progression yet again given false hopes there is.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2017-08-03
  5. Helpful (5)

    "3rd world"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media

    Pros

    There is a pub next door where you can relieve yourself. Howeve, it's worth knowing that it's incredibly over priced.

    Cons

    The place barely has running water. H20 runs or almost daily both to the kitchens and the toilets. They send us to the surrounding pubs or cafes to answer mother natures call, because god forbid they'd send us home even though they're failing on basic human rights. The just keep us here so we can simultaneously dehydrate and urinate ourselves to death.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2017-07-18

    Centaur Media Response

    July 26, 2017Senior Resourcing Manager

    Thank you for your feedback. We know this is really frustrating but the current issues are outside of our control. We are working very hard to fix them both with Thames Water and by looking at options to improve the water pressure within the building. In the meantime we have provided bottled water, kettles and hand sanitiser. When the toilets have been out of action, typically for short periods towards the end of the day, the pub next door have very kindly agreed that staff may use their facilities. They do not require you to buy a drink to use the facilities. Please don’t hesitate to contact us direct if you have any further comments or questions.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (11)

    "Bad choice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Salesperson in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Small amounts of free fruit / breakfast snacks. Limited amounts of milk. Some random offers from local business. Location. Desk. Phone.

    Cons

    Where do you start... This company is in a mess. It's seriously biased towards events and subscriptions, if you happen to work in advertising, don't for a second expect the same level of investment in your product as they are all plummeting in effectiveness and the company pretends everything is OK. It's not, the clients know that only too well. Staffing crisis. It is crucially understaffed in many areas. When they do interview people, they are offered totally different jobs to what they applied for. Be very specific about that if you've seen a job advertised. Also, don't be fooled by any OTE figure- they are all completely unachievable or sometimes actually impossible. Also people drop like flies, the turnover is horrendous and this is made worse by the fact they have a desperate take anyone recruitment policy. Hire good people to start with and they won't leave in 3 months time. Also, making the commercial Recruitment Manager redundant was a very silly idea. Terrible facilities. Either far too hot or far too cold. MICE on several floors that are just accepted as the norm - expected as they took away all the bins with some ridiculous policy about it being better for you to have to walk miles from your desk to the bin rather have one nearby that actually gets used. There is a meeting of the commercial staff on a Monday morning that bores everyone to tears. It's their opportunity to waffle on about the big, successful brands and make certain to embarrass the wee people who are having a tough time. Corporate bull that none of the staff give two hoots about. Can you get more petty than taking away the paper towels from the toilets and kitchens, just to save a paltry amount of money? Accounts and the CRM are a hindrance, not a help. Because of the huge backlog of unpaid debts, none of which are the sales people's fault, the accounts department are making lives difficult for sales and forcing them and the clients to jump through hoops. It's costing business already and the CRM is becoming more and more complicated. Lack of training and development. Centaur don't offer anywhere near the same level of educational opportunities as other publishing companies. Although having a seminar with the CEO got people off the floor for a wee while, it does not do anything to really advance a person's career. All in all, I regret joining. They sold me into a position that is totally different to the reality. The culture has become one of expecting a poor effort from the company, rolling eyes, that's just the way it is - accept it or move on.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2016-10-07

    Centaur Media Response

    October 11, 2016HR Business Partner

    Hello there, I hope you are well? I work in there HR team here - actually I look after the learning and development and resourcing space which we invest a lot of time in. We have just had our second engagement pulse survey and always ask people for feedback so I hope you managed to contribute in your time here. The Development Board (our Centaur Employee Board) made the recommendation to change bins to focus on being a greener company - a request from our employees so sorry you felt that way about the bins. We always have an open door policy for people to come and help change how we work and run so do spead the word. All the best Steph Walker

    Continue reading
  7. "Nice environment to work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    good people, relaxed for me anyway

    Cons

    toilets not so nice in the building, the air is not so clean, usually too hot in the building.

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2016-08-26

    Centaur Media Response

    September 15, 2016HR Business Partner

    Hello there, thanks for your review. We invested recently in the toilets and lovely new showers for our cyclists and runners etc so do take a look. We have different colour themes on some of our floors in line with the brands and some grass and bricks if you look closely so we are investing to make the environment bettter for our people. If you have any further suggestions, please contact me in HR (Steph Walker) or the Develoment Board.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (9)

    "CEO cuts paper towels"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centaur Media

    Pros

    Great location in shabby building

    Cons

    All bosses care about are hitting sales figures. Not a thought for clients. Oh latest round of cost cutting measures includes removal of paper towels from toilets. Company is failing, customers are thought to be fleeing, and staff attrition rate is soaring. Fire drills constantly taking place - only a matter of time before building burns down?

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2016-09-16
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Want to work within a publishing media company? Look elsewhere..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Account Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centaur Media full-time

    Pros

    - Sales teams try and keep a community feel - Location? In the heart of London

    Cons

    - Receptionists that never smile (unless you know them) - Building and its businesses are not labelled properly (you get lost easily) - Dullest and smelliest toilets in a business I have ever been to - Worst meeting rooms ever, different chairs that are broken, no working booking system which means you get kicked out by more senior members - You are not allowed to have - Low pay - Senior management make decisions that affect day to day well being, removing fruit, company days out, no more bread, bad coffee - Worst IT system in place - hard to install software that is essential for your daily work. Be ready to wait 1 week to get something installed for you

    Continue reading
    Centaur Media2015-07-20

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 9 reviews