Cover image for Centene
Logo
See All Photos

Centene

Centene

Add a Review

Centene Employee Reviews about "centene"

Updated Nov 30, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 3,983 of over 4K reviews
3.6
68% Recommend to a Friend
Centene CEO Sarah London
84% Approve of CEO

Found 153 of over 4K reviews

3.6
68%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Centene CEO Sarah London
Sarah London
297 Ratings

What people are saying about Centene

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Good benefits and remote work capabilities within current COVID restrictions.(in 456 reviews)
  • "Pay is good and higher than other companies as far as I can tell.(in 328 reviews)
  • "Great pay, Work from home(in 142 reviews)
  • "Some great people at this company that is bogged down by silos and exec level egos.(in 128 reviews)
  • "Salary is good but not fornyou mental health(in 100 reviews)
Cons
  • "Poor management/ micromanage form supervisors/unnecessary meetings(in 228 reviews)
  • "No work life balance since forced to work overtime during the week and on the weekend....for months!(in 129 reviews)
  • "It started with the poor leadership and it continues.(in 107 reviews)
  • "Inconsistent no updates no training very unorganized(in 84 reviews)
  • "the managers have no care to the employees or contractors and bringing this up to directors falls on deaf ears.(in 84 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Centene and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "centene"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Would recommend working here

    Nov 28, 2021 - Personnel Security Specialist in Sacramento, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Centene is a great company to work for.

    Cons

    There are no cons to working here.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Technical Expertise and Shared Vision

    Oct 16, 2021 - Principal Cyber Threat Analyst in Seattle, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people, the resources, and the culture. The people in my org are awesome, and we all work to push the company's security in the right direction. Most everyone is incredibly technical, even amongst management. There are enough financial resources in order to tool our team with the technology we need to succeed. Nobody shies away from a challenge, and everyone has a fairly shared vision for the future and what we all need to do to get there.

    Cons

    Centene isn't a _super_ well-known company, and so there isn't exactly a ton of talent flocking to join up. While we have financial resources for the tools we need, we don't have the people to man all of them as well as we should. Though, maybe you can fix that! The other con is that... it's a big company, and so there is a lot of red tape on actually getting changes through. Everyone is generally on board with the changes, it just has to be run past legal, architecture, risk, business continuity, and their brother before it can be made a reality. Which is understandable, we don't want to bring everything to a screeching halt... it just can be frustrating at times.

    Continue reading
    31 people found this review helpful
  3. Join the Centene team
    See Our Latest Jobs
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Working

    Nov 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Working environment and I recommend Centene

    Cons

    There are no Cons to share

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Call center

    Nov 17, 2021 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Centene has good benefits and is a great company to work for

    Cons

    My manager was terrible and was the reason I left

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 2.0
    Current Employee

    Paycheck keeps decreasing since Centene took over

    Nov 26, 2021 - Billing Specialist 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They talk a lot about diversity and inclusion, we're waiting to see Centene implement equity. DEI doesn't fully work without equity.

    Cons

    Very expensive benefits Low wages No advancement opportunities Treated like a number, not a person Growth by acquisitions of other successful companies, not organic growth

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    It’s good

    Nov 9, 2021 - Marketing Communications Specialist in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I am proud of centene because they are beginning to move with the times in terms of WFH. Good pay.

    Cons

    Communication comes down weird from the top. Very vague

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Pay and Benefits

    Nov 6, 2021 - Referral Specialist in Jackson, MS
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Centene is a great company to work for overall. The benefits and pay is good for the state of MS. I enjoy working for the company

    Cons

    There really isn't any cons

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Good place to work

    Nov 3, 2021 - Operations Analyst II in Tampa, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pros for working at Centene include working for a top 50 company, the competitive pay and flexibility. I can't speak for other departments, but the department I work in I have had a great experience so far. Opportunities are around every corner, so do not cut ties or burn bridges.

    Cons

    Executive values do not always reflect the values of the company as a whole. The company is slow to get things done due to the sheer size of the corporation.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Temporary Employee, less than 1 year

    Would not recommend

    Nov 10, 2021 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    • Full time employment • Work from home • Set schedule

    Cons

    Where to begin: there are no health benefits from a company that gives health benefits to people, they don’t care about employees well being able went on anxiety medication due to this job, my boss would insult his right hand employee who was just trying their best along with many of the other employees there. If you like being micromanaged, sign yourself up for a job at Centene.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  11. 1.0
    Former Contractor, less than 1 year

    Centene deliberately discriminates against employees

    Nov 30, 2021 - Cloud Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Centene has no pro attributes!

    Cons

    Centene demands proof of covid vaccines as an employment pre-req for 100% remote employees! Centene would rather support an unconstitutional mandate, made by an insane, feeble-minded despot, to deliberately discriminate against employees! No one should support an organization that implements such an anti-American employment policy! Anyone who would give into this policy is weak minded, unintelligent fool! If they demand you reveal your health records for this, what will be next?! How in the hell does working 100% from home, have any bearing with this? It goes against all logic and intelligence!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 153 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Centene Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Centene? Share Your Experiences

or

Affiliated Companies

Centene Careers

Cover image for Centene

Working at Centene At Centene, your innovative thinking and new ideas can help us change the world of healthcare and transform our...More

  • Our Values
  • Culture
  • Benefits
  • Diversity
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Centene

1 days ago

Community
Learn how Centene subsidiary Arizona Complete Health works to support behavioral health of tribal communities. #NativeAmericanHeritageMonth #Healthcare
Shared image - Centene Corporation on LinkedIn: Addressing Behavioral Health in Tribal Communities
Centene Corporation on LinkedIn: Addressing Behavioral Health in Tribal Communities
www.linkedin.com
See all

Centene Photos

+ Add Photo
Centene photo of: World Head Quarters in Clayton
Centene photo of: DEI Summit at Centene
Centene photo of: Community giving at Centene
Centene photo of: Community events to better the environment.
Centene photo of: Centene’s Ambetter Health will be expanding our partnership with Speedway Motorsports as the entitlement sponsor for the NASCAR Cup Series race at Atlanta Motor Speedway in 2023.
Centene photo of: Centene community impact
Centene photo of: Centene's Magnolia Health plan values community impact.
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Centene Job Seekers Also Viewed

UnitedHealth Group Logo
UnitedHealth Group

3.5

15,213 Reviews
Compare