Central Freight Lines Reviews | Glassdoor

Central Freight Lines Reviews

Updated Oct 10, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
Central Freight Lines CEO Don Orr (no image)
Don Orr
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not enough trailers and equipment to get the job done effectively(in 5 reviews)

  • "Favortism, not enough hours, no raises, not willing to work with your second jobs schedule, out dated fork lifts, pay every 2 weeks(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Cantral Freight lines is a good place to work 0 micro management love it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - P&D Driver in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Freight Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very laid back people friendly place to work in the LTL world

    Cons

    Need a routing platform to load route in order

    Advice to Management

    Nothing other than continue doing a great job, Drivers can use a raise and some weekly pay

    Central Freight Lines2019-09-25
  2. "Was a good job back in the 80's"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - P&D Driver in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Freight Lines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Dispatchers are easy to work with

    Cons

    Not enough trailers and equipment to get the job done effectively

    Advice to Management

    No advice management already knows all the issues that plague this company

    Central Freight Lines2019-09-19
  3. "Dock worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dock Worker 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Freight Lines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None none none none none

    Cons

    Everything...Have check that I can’t cash. Been told that no check would clear the account. Don’t have any money for a week.

    Advice to Management

    Get your stuff straight and stop lying to your employees.

    Central Freight Lines2019-10-10
  4. "Okay job at a horrible company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in Odessa, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Central Freight Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Easy job, pick up and deliver freight around town. Good pay.

    Cons

    Bad management and expected to break the law. Lubbock manager was going to write me up for not answering messages to my personal phone while running my route. It is illegal and close to a $4,000 fine to answer my phone while driving and it is not practical to pull over in city traffic (and nothing in my training or your employee manual said I was expected to use my personal phone). Informed HR and nothing has been... done, Also 90 days for insurance to kick in is ridiculous from a company that gives no sick days (and in fact will also write you up for not having a Dr. Note, which you can't afford if you have no insurance).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start looking at your management teams and get a more responsive HR. When someone writes them we should at least know they read the email. Start benefits sooner. Give at least a couple sick days. The culture in this company is toxic. People don't quit jobs if the feel appreciated. People quit bad bosses.

    Central Freight Lines2019-09-16
  5. "Terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - P&D Driver in Pensacola, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Freight Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly customers and good coworkers

    Cons

    Horrible management!! The manager was just embarrassing. Always ruining freight when loading trucks. Loading stops on the wrong trucks all the time

    Advice to Management

    Resign!

    Central Freight Lines2019-08-28
  6. "Not really much to say"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Chesapeake, VA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Freight Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    We did receive a check

    Cons

    Shut the call center with no warning

    Advice to Management

    COMMUNICATION

    Central Freight Lines2019-07-25
  7. "Not my favorite job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Central Freight Lines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Paid holidays - Room for advancement

    Cons

    - Understaffed - No consistency between terminals

    Central Freight Lines2019-06-26
  8. "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - P&D Driver in Conley, GA

    I have been working at Central Freight Lines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No micro management , off on weekends

    Cons

    Pay every 2 weeks, benefits not good

    Central Freight Lines2019-06-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Avoid like the plague!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Freight Lines full-time

    Pros

    You get a paycheck most of the time.

    Cons

    Everything else. From Management, to lying, misinformation, propaganda, threats, lack of training, not paying vendors or employees. Worst healthcare package in the nation. This company is going belly up from poor upper and middle management. No culture, no values.

    Advice to Management

    Close up shop like a man. Dont put the fault on your employees. Do what you say, inform without lying, and for god sakes train your employees!!!!

    Central Freight Lines2019-02-01
  10. "Overall good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Central Freight Lines for less than a year

    Pros

    Pay, normal working hours, weekends off, great co workers

    Cons

    Run down equipment, last minute route changes, no overtime

    Central Freight Lines2018-11-01
Found 70 reviews