Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated Jun 3, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
67%
Recommend to a Friend
44%
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet CEO Tim Cofer
Tim Cofer
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "You meet a lot of great people and develop great relationships(in 13 reviews)

  • "The company is great for work life balance and generally a positive place to work(in 10 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Fast paced environment; enjoyable workplace"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Demand Planner in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Training was extensive and very helpful. Hiring process is well thought out and flexible. HR extremely helpful during hiring process and always has an open door. Better than average benefits.

    Cons

    Nothing significant as of yet

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Welcome to Central! Some jobs take a while to learn - sounds like you are figuring it out!

  2. "Good Mix of Large/Corporate and Small/Local Business"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Most coworkers I work closely with are in the same office. Management is generous with dress code and taking time off. Everyone is generally friendly and the working atmosphere is good.

    Cons

    The company as a whole has a very dispersed hierarchy that makes the largest/enterprise projects (no matter how urgent or agreed-on) take more effort and longer to realize.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    March 15, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the review. We continually work on ways to speed up the implementation of company-wide projects. Our matrixed structure poses challenges that we are aware of and work to mitigate daily.

  3. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "View of company has changed over past few months"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Supervisor 

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible schedule and consistent raises and performance reviews.

    Cons

    Missed opportunities made during beginning stages of pandemic. Do not feel management acted quickly to ensure employees were safe. PPE was sent over a month later. Excuses as to why were unacceptable. Currently I am disappointed of the lack of communication regarding the treatment of African Americans that’s been in the news. There are many African American employees working for this organization who have heard nothing from management. This questions how leadership views people of color and what’s happening to them.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    June 10, 2020Director of Communications

    At Central Garden and Pet, we believe our employees are our greatest asset, and we are dedicated to creating a work environment where employees feel safe and like they belong. The past few months have been an extraordinary time for our company and our world. During the COVID-19 pandemic, we have been working hard to learn as much as we can about the virus while providing employees information and the PPE that is now necessary to stay safe while conducting their jobs. The pandemic has required new equipment and procedures that employees have never needed before, and we’ve been as responsive as possible, but understand it may have felt delayed from an employee perspective. Central believes in challenging times, organizations must come together to create meaningful change, and we stand in solidarity against racism and violence. We acknowledge Diversity and Inclusion has not historically been our company’s strength, but our leaders are committed and passionate about building a great place to work that embraces diversity as a key pillar of our culture. This is a journey, and we are committed to listening, learning and doing the work to move forward together.

  4. "Fun independent"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Territory Sales Manager in New York, NY

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Working closely with others at stores

    Cons

    Lots of driving and heavy lifting

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    June 9, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our Territory Managers are busy people and we rely on them to represent Central products in retail stores, which does require driving and lifting.

  5. "Good Company and Good People"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work environment is good as well as the people. Management is good too, depending on the department you work in. Benefits are good.

    Cons

    Pay may not be as high as you want, neither do they give raises too often.

    Continue reading

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    June 9, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Central is proud of the people who work together to bring great products to the consumer!

  6. "Someone needs to get fired"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Management really do care for you and look out for you when it comes personal things that happen in your life . The job itself is pretty easy and the pay is a little above what other warehouses pay for this kind of labor. The place could be more organized and update a lot of the equipment they have.

    Cons

    The downside here are the employees. THEY ARE THE WORST. Especially one lady here who belittles, talks down, and blames everyone else for mistakes made at the warehouse but if there was mistakes made she expect it to get it fixed in a day. That’s just impossible. The short span I was here I saw a lot of people under her just never comeback and I don’t blame them! I guess they are fine with that cause she knows how to do almost everything. This was the most uncomfortable in a job in my life. The work environment is hostile and by that I mean cursing, throwing/grabbing items aggressively and loudly exclaiming about anything wrong being done. I don’t work with that and not many did either.

    Continue reading

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    April 8, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I’m sorry to hear your experience has not been positive. It’s important to us that our Central employees have a fulfilling and respectful working experience. Please know that we take your negative experience very seriously and are immediately looking into these claims. If you would like to speak to Human Resources, please send an email to recruiting@central.com and you will be put in touch with the appropriate person

  7. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "In a time of crisis they will screw you"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Up until this last week I liked my job. It could be stressful but over all it wasn’t a bad place to work.

    Cons

    Your biggest question when job hunting from this moment on should be “how did you treat your employees during the Covid-19 crisis?”. CG&P did not go the extra mile for their employees. They cut hours to the bare minimum so we could “keep our health benefits” but since we still have to pay for those health benefits we are pretty much working for free. They tossed their hourly employees to the wolves.

    Continue reading

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    March 25, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Central Garden & Pet deeply cares about each of our employees. Our priority during this unprecedented time remains the health and safety of our employees while we continue to work hard to fulfill our customers’ needs. Unfortunately, in some locations, we had to significantly adjust work schedules in accordance with the business needs as a result of the COVID-19 crisis. Our leadership teams have worked hard to implement creative schedules that would enable our employees to remain eligible for coverage under our health insurance programs. Our intent was to implement and offer schedules that will have the greatest positive impact on as many affected employees as possible during this difficult time. If you would like to discuss this situation in further detail, please contact our human resources department at recruiting@central.com.

  8. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent De Surface in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work independently. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Some long hours. Physical work in the heat

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    March 15, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback.

  9. "It’s a great starting point"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager 

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    You meet a lot of great people and develop great relationships.

    Cons

    You will sell millions of dollars of product, but do not expect any kind of bonus, other than a “Good Job”.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    March 15, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for writing a review - we continually look for ways to reward our employees. If you have suggestions on what we can do better, please talk with your manager or HR.

  10. "Merchandiser"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser in Myrtle Beach, SC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working schedule will allow for 7 days

    Cons

    401k, working with box store employees can be a challenge, no compensation for mileage.

    Continue reading

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    March 15, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your comments. Our Garden Merchandisers receive an additional per hour amount to cover their mileage. Please talk to your manager or HR for an explanation of the program.

Found 200 reviews