Central Garden & Pet Reviews | Glassdoor

Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated February 20, 2019
161 reviews

Filter

Filter


3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet President and CEO George Roeth
George Roeth
35 Ratings

Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "They also like to put massive controls under one person" (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    "Sharp, Thorough, Efficient"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Current Employee - Digital Marketing Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    - Interview process was expedient, with an interview agenda routed in advance and great communication throughout.
     - Received a lovely welcome package at home after accepting offer.
     - On-boarding was efficient, with clear communication and easy-to-follow process of reviewing and completing assigned tasks.
     - Team was welcoming and supportive, with thoughtfully guided on-boarding meetings and access to all the necessary resources to get acclimated.
     - Management is smart, pragmatic and accessible. Projects are approached thoughtfully and timelines are measured and realistic, with contributors expected to be accountable for their work and

    Cons

    - Commute from Oakley/Brentwood area has gotten a lot worse lately, making the drive unfortunately longer than anticipated.
     - Corporate Environment - Business Professional with casual Friday; would benefit from a more casual atmosphere.
     - Would love to see the company embrace a more flexible work from home policy with teams so distributed across the Country.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in digital and ecommerce resources and technology, and keep empowering the smart individual managers you have hired to successfully drive the business into the future of Garden & Pet commerce.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Nov 5, 2018 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking a time to provide feedback on your interviewing, onboarding and employment experience! Your input has been shared with HR and leadership.


  2. "Really great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Was a great company to work for and was sad to leave but had to for family reasons

    Cons

    None that I can think of

  3. "Can you manage yourself and live in a lower cost of living area, this place is perfect for you."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Territory Manager
    Current Employee - Territory Manager
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Flexible hours, most of the winter is down time.

    Cons

    No upward momentum, no leadership or accountability, doesn't pay to cost of living. No development process or plans for increasing revenue or employees to move up.

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your Territory Managers that live in very expensive parts of the country, and celebrate their successes instead of rewarding incompetent managers and demotovate those who work hard.


  4. Helpful (2)

    "Company is not recommended to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Picker/Packer in Fairfield, OH
    Former Employee - Picker/Packer in Fairfield, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Work Monday through Friday and overtime.

    Cons

    I was discriminated against certain employees of a different color.

    Advice to Management

    Get your facts straight be for you decide to let an employee go.


  5. "Merchandiser"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Very easy work
    Decent pay
    Not tied down to an office

    Cons

    Have to do a decent amount of traveling

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Nov 5, 2018 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for writing a review about your employment experience. A merchandiser role is a perfect fit for those that want variety and don't mind driving to various stores.


  6. "Good job overall"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Merchandiser
    Current Employee - Merchandiser
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet (More than a year)

    Pros

    Great Management, very flexible, great for college students.

    Cons

    Can be boring at times

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Oct 19, 2018 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to hear you enjoy your job - I've never heard anyone describe a job at Central as boring though!


  7. "Warehouse Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Good insurance and dental and vision plan available

    Cons

    Low employer match to the 401K plan

    Advice to Management

    Include employees in the stock option plan instead of just the high priced managers

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Oct 19, 2018 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking a time to write a review. We have recently updated our 401k plan to include a higher match and are constantly looking for other ways to reward our employees. Your input in... More

  8. "Good Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Manager in Seattle, WA
    Current Employee - Warehouse Manager in Seattle, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good People and lots of room for opportunity.

    Cons

    Pay is lower than typical. Cost of living increases are set at corporate level. It is figured that the cost of living is the same in other areas around the country, as it is in Seattle. Except that Seattle costs about 3 times what others cost.
    401k is somewhat of a joke, and as a salaried worker, expect to work far longer hours than the 40 you'll be getting paid for.

    Advice to Management

    Work on retaining good employees and not as much on acquiring companies. Build your benefits package to entice employees to stick around.
    Some of the smaller branches need more employees to help share the workload. The people have to juggle too many positions at once.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Oct 19, 2018 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We have some exciting updates to our 401k plan to you should hear about soon!


  9. Helpful (2)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    The worker bees in the company are really good people.

    Cons

    There is no forward momentum in this company at all! Management does not care about its employees or treat them fairly.

    Advice to Management

    Look at your employees who have been there for years. Create more opportunities for growth.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Oct 19, 2018 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    I'm sorry to hear you are unhappy in your role. If you would like to be put in touch with Human Resources, please send an email to recruiting@central.com.


  10. Helpful (3)

    "Listening Ears"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    Some really talented folks that want to make a difference.

    Cons

    HR is unresponsive to the needs of employees at all levels of the BU I worked at. Lack of support providing resources, replacing open positions, understanding employee health issues and responding to requests in a timely manner. Talented Management and key employees are held back by tope management from using their talent and expertise to make recommendations and/or decisions. When errors or mistakes occur, knee jerk reactions are used to resolve the issues rather than trying to prevent re-occurrence long term. Lack of communication between departments causing redundancies, poor time management, inconsistent results, additional labor costs.

    Advice to Management

    Empower and engage employees at all business units to become part of the solution. Employees will respond by taking pride in their work, environment as well as gain respect for top management. Allow communication between business units so talent is shared rather than surpassed. Develop an HR Department that listens, responds and supports. These recommendations should create a more positive, productive workplace environment and reduce turnover which will improve overall business continuity and lower costs.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Oct 19, 2018 – Director of Talent Acquisition

    I'm sorry to hear your experience at Central was not positive. Your feedback is concerning. If you would like to confidentially connect with our SVP of HR, please send an email to... More