KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Central Garden & Pet

Engaged Employer

Central Garden & Pet

Add a Review

Central Garden & Pet Reviews

Updated Aug 8, 2022

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 289 of over 315 reviews
3.6
64% Recommend to a Friend
Central Garden & Pet CEO Tim Cofer
80% Approve of CEO

Found 289 of over 315 reviews

3.6
64%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet CEO Tim Cofer
Tim Cofer
42 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Central Garden & Pet and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years
    Featured Review

    Great company, great culture!

    May 10, 2022 - Human Resources 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people in every business segment. There are a lot of growth and development opportunities and its exciting to work for a growing, forward-thinking company.

    Cons

    Very segmented, so it can be challenging.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Our people are what make Central a great place to work!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company to Work for

    Aug 8, 2022 - Supply Chain Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Growing business with many opportunities for advancement, large and complex data to work with, great culture and values

    Cons

    Pay increases don’t always follow with increase in responsibility

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great to work with

    Aug 5, 2022 - Systems Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Everyone I work with internally is a blast to communicate with.

    Cons

    When I'm in the office I have no cell service.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great company

    Jul 25, 2022 - Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Central is a great company to work for. The benefits are comprehensive but need to be updated.

    Cons

    More benefits for people starting their families.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are continually looking at our benefits package and making updates to stay current with the market.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company

    Jul 20, 2022 - Merchandiser 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Amazing support from peers/management; fun skills to learn; get to see different stores

    Cons

    Lonely; can be mundane; dirty

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. This is a busy time for our Garden merchandisers and we appreciate all of the great work you do!

  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good company

    Jul 27, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good company. Great CEO and Executive Mgmt team. Company has been established for years. Employees are friendly.

    Cons

    Benefits and compensation are not the best.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We think Central is a pretty great place to work too!

  7. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Ehh

    Jul 5, 2022 - Retail Sales Merchandiser in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    None its all bad dont appy

    Cons

    Everything is bad pay Work GarbGe

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    I'm sorry your experience is not positive. Please contact us at recruiting@central.com to be put in touch with Human Resources if you'd like to discuss.

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Slave Drivers

    Jul 23, 2022 - Retail Merchandiser in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Pay was a decent starting wage

    Cons

    They expect way too much from their help. To Cover multiple items in a store visit, that is not humanly possible. Dealing with touching fertilizer bags and cleaning mouse feces.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    I'm sorry that your experience with Central has not been positive. If you would like to speak to HR, please contact us at recruiting@central.com.

  9. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Toxic Workplace

    Jun 24, 2022 - Terriotry Sales Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    National company, good co-workers. Large reach to a lot of retailers.

    Cons

    Very low morale, concentrating on big retailers and not concerned with anything else. Big goals, little support.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    I'm sorry your experience has not been positive. If you'd like to discuss with HR, please contact us at recruiting@central.com.

  10. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company to work for

    May 12, 2022 - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people at the facility I work for

    Cons

    I cannot think of any

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We think our people are pretty great too!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 289 Reviews
</>Embed

Central Garden & Pet Reviews FAQs

Central Garden & Pet has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 315 reviews left anonymously by employees. 64% of employees would recommend working at Central Garden & Pet to a friend and 62% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has improved by 8% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, Central Garden & Pet employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.4 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at Central Garden & Pet. This rating has improved by 10% over the last 12 months.

64% of Central Garden & Pet employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated Central Garden & Pet 3.8 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.6 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at Central Garden & Pet to be work life balance, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be senior leadership, career development, management.

Popular Careers with Central Garden & Pet Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Central Garden & Pet? Share Your Experiences

or

Company Updates

Logo

Central Garden & Pet

50 days ago

Company News
Kaytee is All for the Small - "Small in Show" Gets Some Big Love May we be so bold as to ask...why do dogs and cats get all the love? Why is it we treat these pets like royalty and ignore the rest of the animal kingdom? No matter size or species or social status, doesn't every pet deserve to be pampered and loved? Enter Kaytee. For over 150 years Kaytee has proudly championed the total well-being of birds and small pets with food, treats, bedding, toys, habitats, and accessories. They know the tremendous impact small companions can have on consumers' lives, and they want to talk about it in a big way. Introducing "All for the Small," a new campaign featuring the ways Kaytee has supported the little guys for over a century. "No brand has done more to understand and deliver on the wellness of birds and small pets than Kaytee," said Todd Regan, General Manager of Central Specialty Pet. "It's so exciting to bring our commitment to small animals to life in this new and engaging way that is sure win the hearts of consumers everywhere."
Kaytee | Small in Show Full Length ft. Rainn Wilson
www.youtube.com
Logo

Central Garden & Pet

50 days ago

Company News
At @Central Garden & Pet, our company mission is to lead the future of the garden and pet industries. Over 150 of our top leaders met in Phoenix to discuss how we will achieve our goals (while also having fun!). We can’t wait for all that lies ahead. #centraltohome
Shared image
See all

Central Garden & Pet Photos

+ Add Photo
Central Garden & Pet photo of: Tim Cofer, CEO, with Toby
Central Garden & Pet photo of: Welcome to the Team!
Central Garden & Pet photo of: Corporate Halloween 2019
Central Garden & Pet photo of: CSC Halloween 2019
Central Garden & Pet photo of: Corporate Halloween 2019
Central Garden & Pet photo of: SunPet Halloween 2019
Central Garden & Pet photo of: Corporate Halloween 2019
See All Photos

Glassdoor has 315 Central Garden & Pet reviews submitted anonymously by Central Garden & Pet employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Central Garden & Pet is right for you.