Central Garden & Pet "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Central Garden & Pet Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Sep 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
Central Garden & Pet CEO Tim Cofer
Tim Cofer
0 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people and company culture(in 12 reviews)

  • "The company is great for work life balance and generally a positive place to work(in 9 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management turned a blind eye to it(in 7 reviews)

  • "No cons from my experience with Central(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I'm glad I made the move to Central"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transactional Buyer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Central for almost 6 months and I'm so glad I made the switch from my last place of employment. The workload is reasonable and good systems are in place so that we can get our jobs done. Great work/life balance. Special events are planned to keep employees informed and engaged. These range from quick 15 minute team building events to a full day "state of the union" meeting.

    Cons

    The merger of 2 business units still isn't fully assimilated, but I know that's being worked on.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-07-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Marketing & Sales Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are easy to talk to. Work life balance (to a degree)

    Cons

    Not a marketing company No merit increases despite achieving individual goals Lack of support for promotion and moves

    Advice to Management

    Clean up shop and hold respective functional groups accountable

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-25
  3. "Good Company - lots of layers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Hours and work life balance

    Cons

    company is separated by pet and garden upper management not always engaged lots of work with not a lot of time to complete

    Advice to Management

    Overall a good company to work for

    Central Garden & Pet2019-09-04
  4. "Great Work / Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company is great for work life balance and generally a positive place to work.

    Cons

    No overwhelming Cons. Little things that you find at most companies.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-08-15
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Marketing in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture with friendly coworkers/management. Opportunities for lateral and upward career growth. Reasonable work/life balance.

    Cons

    Can be a lot of travel, depending on team/position.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-07-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "A very good company working hard to be great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is very good. Your work hard but are fairly recognized for your efforts. Leadership is very strong and they listen to their teams. There is a lot of autonomy to create your path. Teamwork and collaboration is supported and encouraged.

    Cons

    No major cons...I don't believe that any place is perfect. As long as CG&P continues to want to be better, the company will continue to thrive.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to invest in your talent and in technology. To be the leader in the garden and pet industries you need to continue to take risks. Challenge your people and continue to listen to their ideas.

    Central Garden & Pet2019-07-24
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    From my experience, very good work/life balance.

    Cons

    I did not experience any cons.

    Central Garden & Pet2018-02-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Worth sticking with it through the tougher times a couple years ago"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are amazing: genuine, caring, resourceful, and far less political than any other company I've worked for during my 25+ years as a working adult. Work-life balance is better than others in the industry. The CEO is the best change we've had in the 9 years I've been here--a true leader and values-oriented guy. And the products are ones I'm proud to use and to recommend to friends and family. The growth... we've seen in the last two years is awesome, and there are LOTS of opportunities for those who work for them.

    Show More

    Cons

    The company went through some challenging times about three years ago and lost some good people--some who have since returned. But there are still people griping about what happened three years ago.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the 401k match so more hourly employees participate.

    Central Garden & Pet2017-10-25
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Manager level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet

    Pros

    Relaxed workplace, good group of people. Work life balance is good and management makes a good effort to create a positive work environment

    Cons

    Limited promotions within the company so far. Office location has terrible traffic issues so allowing more telecommuting would make the work life balance better.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to develop internal candidates for advancement. Additional opportunities to work remotely. Work life balance is good and management makes a good effort to create a positive work environment

    Central Garden & Pet2016-12-09
Found 9 reviews