Cover image for Central Garden & Pet
Logo
See All Photos

Central Garden & Pet

Engaged Employer

Central Garden & Pet

Add a Review

Central Garden & Pet Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Oct 27, 2021

Verify your email to use filters. Having problems? Resend email
Found 324 of over 325 reviews
3.8
66% Recommend to a Friend
Central Garden & Pet CEO Tim Cofer
77% Approve of CEO

Found 15 of over 325 reviews

3.8
66%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet CEO Tim Cofer
Tim Cofer
53 Ratings

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of Central Garden & Pet and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Great place to work

    Oct 20, 2021 - Territory Sales Manager in Pensacola, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work life balance, medical coverage, real leaders as opposed to transactional bosses, fast growing company, no micromanagement as long as you did your job well.

    Cons

    Turnover is very low in salary roles so moving up can be challenging, pay could be better but not terrible, 401k match needs work.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Thank you for the positive review - we continue to work to keep Central a great place to work!

  2. 1.0
    Former Employee

    If you want to do nothing, great place to work!

    Oct 27, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great work life balance. Not much skill sets are expected since most of them are old or been there since it was a tiny place and do not have up-to-dated skills nor experience.

    Cons

    Gossip heaven lead by senior managements. Most people joined recently are there to earn the better title to move on.

    1 person found this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Good Company

    Jan 20, 2020 - Agent De Surface in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work independently. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Some long hours. Physical work in the heat

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback.

  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Marketing & Sales Manager

    Sep 25, 2019 - Marketing Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    People are easy to talk to. Work life balance (to a degree)

    Cons

    Not a marketing company No merit increases despite achieving individual goals Lack of support for promotion and moves

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    As a clarification, all employees are eligible for annual increases based on their performance.

  5. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 8 years

    Good Company - lots of layers

    Sep 4, 2019 - Sales Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Hours and work life balance

    Cons

    company is separated by pet and garden upper management not always engaged lots of work with not a lot of time to complete

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    Yes, our company is made up of separate Garden and Pet businesses but we are all one team with a focus on doing the right thing.

  6. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Great Work / Life Balance

    Aug 15, 2019 - Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company is great for work life balance and generally a positive place to work.

    Cons

    No overwhelming Cons. Little things that you find at most companies.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the review - we think Central is pretty great too!

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Place to Work!

    Jul 24, 2019 - Director of Marketing in Atlanta, GA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good culture with friendly coworkers/management. Opportunities for lateral and upward career growth. Reasonable work/life balance.

    Cons

    Can be a lot of travel, depending on team/position.

    2 people found this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the great review! We are proud of our work environment and the good people that work at Central!

  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    I'm glad I made the move to Central

    Jul 26, 2019 - Transactional Buyer 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I've been at Central for almost 6 months and I'm so glad I made the switch from my last place of employment. The workload is reasonable and good systems are in place so that we can get our jobs done. Great work/life balance. Special events are planned to keep employees informed and engaged. These range from quick 15 minute team building events to a full day "state of the union" meeting.

    Cons

    The merger of 2 business units still isn't fully assimilated, but I know that's being worked on.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the positive review. We are glad you made the switch to Central too!

  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A very good company working hard to be great!

    Jul 24, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work-life balance is very good. Your work hard but are fairly recognized for your efforts. Leadership is very strong and they listen to their teams. There is a lot of autonomy to create your path. Teamwork and collaboration is supported and encouraged.

    Cons

    No major cons...I don't believe that any place is perfect. As long as CG&P continues to want to be better, the company will continue to thrive.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review and your advice. We are continually working to be better and appreciate your insight.

  10. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Excellent Benefits

    Feb 10, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    From my experience, very good work/life balance.

    Cons

    I did not experience any cons.

    1 person found this review helpful

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the great review!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 15 Reviews
</>Embed

Popular Careers with Central Garden & Pet Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Central Garden & Pet? Share Your Experiences

or

Affiliated Companies

Central Garden & Pet Careers

Cover image for Central Garden & Pet

At Central Garden & Pet, we believe home is the at the center or our lives, and our employees are driven by our purpose to nurture happy...More

  • Our Team
  • Social Responsibility
This is the employer's chance to tell you why you should work for them. The information provided is from their perspective.

Reviews by Job Title

Company Updates

Logo

Central Garden & Pet

107 days ago

Company News
Kaytee is All for the Small - "Small in Show" Gets Some Big Love May we be so bold as to ask...why do dogs and cats get all the love? Why is it we treat these pets like royalty and ignore the rest of the animal kingdom? No matter size or species or social status, doesn't every pet deserve to be pampered and loved? Enter Kaytee. For over 150 years Kaytee has proudly championed the total well-being of birds and small pets with food, treats, bedding, toys, habitats, and accessories. They know the tremendous impact small companions can have on consumers' lives, and they want to talk about it in a big way. Introducing "All for the Small," a new campaign featuring the ways Kaytee has supported the little guys for over a century. "No brand has done more to understand and deliver on the wellness of birds and small pets than Kaytee," said Todd Regan, General Manager of Central Specialty Pet. "It's so exciting to bring our commitment to small animals to life in this new and engaging way that is sure win the hearts of consumers everywhere."
Kaytee | Small in Show Full Length ft. Rainn Wilson
www.youtube.com
Logo

Central Garden & Pet

107 days ago

Company News
At @Central Garden & Pet, our company mission is to lead the future of the garden and pet industries. Over 150 of our top leaders met in Phoenix to discuss how we will achieve our goals (while also having fun!). We can’t wait for all that lies ahead. #centraltohome
Shared image
See all

Central Garden & Pet Photos

+ Add Photo
Central Garden & Pet photo of: Tim Cofer, CEO, with Toby
Central Garden & Pet photo of: Welcome to the Team!
Central Garden & Pet photo of: Corporate Halloween 2019
Central Garden & Pet photo of: CSC Halloween 2019
Central Garden & Pet photo of: Corporate Halloween 2019
Central Garden & Pet photo of: SunPet Halloween 2019
Central Garden & Pet photo of: Corporate Halloween 2019
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

Central Garden & Pet Job Seekers Also Viewed

The Home Depot Logo
The Home Depot

3.7

41,294 Reviews
Compare

Glassdoor has 325 Central Garden & Pet reviews submitted anonymously by Central Garden & Pet employees. Read employee reviews and ratings on Glassdoor to decide if Central Garden & Pet is right for you.