Central Garden & Pet Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Jan 20, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
56%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Central Garden & Pet CEO Tim Cofer
Tim Cofer
9 Ratings
Pros
  • "You meet a lot of great people and develop great relationships(in 14 reviews)

  • "The company is great for work life balance and generally a positive place to work(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "upper management not always engaged(in 9 reviews)

  • "The work environment is hostile and by that I mean cursing, throwing/grabbing items aggressively and loudly exclaiming about anything wrong being done(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "I'm glad I made the move to Central"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Transactional Buyer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I've been at Central for almost 6 months and I'm so glad I made the switch from my last place of employment. The workload is reasonable and good systems are in place so that we can get our jobs done. Great work/life balance. Special events are planned to keep employees informed and engaged. These range from quick 15 minute team building events to a full day "state of the union" meeting.

    Cons

    The merger of 2 business units still isn't fully assimilated, but I know that's being worked on.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    August 1, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the positive review. We are glad you made the switch to Central too!

  2. "Good Company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Agent De Surface in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work independently. Good work/life balance.

    Cons

    Some long hours. Physical work in the heat

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    March 15, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback.


  3. Helpful (3)

    "Marketing & Sales Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Manager in Walnut Creek, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    People are easy to talk to. Work life balance (to a degree)

    Cons

    Not a marketing company No merit increases despite achieving individual goals Lack of support for promotion and moves

    Continue reading

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    October 16, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    As a clarification, all employees are eligible for annual increases based on their performance.

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good Company - lots of layers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Hours and work life balance

    Cons

    company is separated by pet and garden upper management not always engaged lots of work with not a lot of time to complete

    Continue reading

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    September 11, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Yes, our company is made up of separate Garden and Pet businesses but we are all one team with a focus on doing the right thing.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Work / Life Balance"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The company is great for work life balance and generally a positive place to work.

    Cons

    No overwhelming Cons. Little things that you find at most companies.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    August 21, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the review - we think Central is pretty great too!

  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director of Marketing in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture with friendly coworkers/management. Opportunities for lateral and upward career growth. Reasonable work/life balance.

    Cons

    Can be a lot of travel, depending on team/position.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    July 25, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the great review! We are proud of our work environment and the good people that work at Central!

  7. Helpful (1)

    "A very good company working hard to be great!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Work-life balance is very good. Your work hard but are fairly recognized for your efforts. Leadership is very strong and they listen to their teams. There is a lot of autonomy to create your path. Teamwork and collaboration is supported and encouraged.

    Cons

    No major cons...I don't believe that any place is perfect. As long as CG&P continues to want to be better, the company will continue to thrive.

    Continue reading

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    July 25, 2019Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for your review and your advice. We are continually working to be better and appreciate your insight.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Benefits"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Central Garden & Pet full-time

    Pros

    From my experience, very good work/life balance.

    Cons

    I did not experience any cons.

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    February 21, 2018Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for the great review!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "Worth sticking with it through the tougher times a couple years ago"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Walnut Creek, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The people are amazing: genuine, caring, resourceful, and far less political than any other company I've worked for during my 25+ years as a working adult. Work-life balance is better than others in the industry. The CEO is the best change we've had in the 9 years I've been here--a true leader and values-oriented guy. And the products are ones I'm proud to use and to recommend to friends and family. The growth we've seen in the last two years is awesome, and there are LOTS of opportunities for those who work for them.

    Cons

    The company went through some challenging times about three years ago and lost some good people--some who have since returned. But there are still people griping about what happened three years ago.

    Continue reading

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    December 1, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the detailed review. Central has gone through some bumps in the past but we have learned from those and are better for it. Thank you for hanging in there during the tough times and being part of our success!

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Manager level"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Garden & Pet

    Pros

    Relaxed workplace, good group of people. Work life balance is good and management makes a good effort to create a positive work environment

    Cons

    Limited promotions within the company so far. Office location has terrible traffic issues so allowing more telecommuting would make the work life balance better.

    Continue reading

    Central Garden & Pet Response

    February 2, 2017Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thank you for the great review and suggestions!

Viewing 1 - 10 of 10 English Reviews

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.