Central New Mexico Community College Reviews

Updated May 31, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
Central New Mexico Community College President Katharine W. Winograd
Katharine W. Winograd
12 Ratings
Pros
  • "I really enjoy helping people and CNM lets me do that(in 7 reviews)

  • "Great benefits for CNM employees(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "CNM has virtually no regard for adjunct faculty or veteran status when assigning classes(in 5 reviews)

  • "Low pay not commensurate with education and experience(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great environment"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Central New Mexico Community College part-time

    Pros

    So supportive and you get to make a difference to so many New Mexicans

    Cons

    The pay is not great.

    Central New Mexico Community College2018-12-19
  2. "Wonderful company to work for."

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Albuquerque, NM
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central New Mexico Community College part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Central New Mexico is an awesome company to work for, even working part-time the staff is so nice and understanding when it came to finals.

    Cons

    It can get very busy at the beginning of the semesters.

    Central New Mexico Community College2020-05-31
  3. "For profit in disguise"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Upper Management in Albuquerque, NM
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Central New Mexico Community College full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They telegraph their ways in orientation.

    Cons

    Run like a for profit college. Leadership is built of former adjunct instructors who have little experience leading teams and use petty and novice tactics. I’ve seen some good people fired for not being social accepted by the office/boss. Micro management on a level I have never seen...You are required to respond to all email sent to your personal from the general dept email so that it can be screened by your boss. I’ve seen people fired days before Xmas, during family crises where insurance is needed, and for not adhering to the sickly Portlandia style they adore. It’s small town at CNM and if you seek a higher education campus...run!!! It’s the stepford wives of education.

    Central New Mexico Community College2020-01-12
  4. "Good Company"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Math Tutor 

    I have been working at Central New Mexico Community College part-time

    Pros

    Great environment and good co-workers

    Cons

    Not great salary and could use an interior update

    Central New Mexico Community College2019-11-30
  5. "Great place to help students succeed"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Central New Mexico Community College full-time

    Pros

    Great focus on students and working with business and community.

    Cons

    Often silos rather than collaboration.

    Continue reading
    Central New Mexico Community College2019-11-02
  6. "CNM"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Adjunct Professor 

    I worked at Central New Mexico Community College part-time

    Pros

    I didn't have any problems while I was there. For a part time position the pay and benefits weren't bad.

    Cons

    Can't think of anything note.

    Central New Mexico Community College2019-06-23
  7. "Overall Fun Experience"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Officer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central New Mexico Community College full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I really enjoy helping people and CNM lets me do that.

    Cons

    I don't like being treated like a toddler and mircomanged by management. It's as if they don't trust their own training.

    Continue reading
    Central New Mexico Community College2018-12-28
  8. "Meh"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     

    I worked at Central New Mexico Community College

    Pros

    They try hard to be great. Staff below the Administration and Dean level are all really great people.

    Cons

    Micromanaging executives, back stabbing administrators. They do not value their employees and enjoy watching the infighting. Toxic environment.

    Continue reading
    Central New Mexico Community College2018-12-21
  9. "Applications Developer"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central New Mexico Community College full-time

    Pros

    Great environment to work in. The college pushes for innovation by introducing things like Salesforce and Blockchain development.

    Cons

    Pay could be better. People can be protective of their department and have a specific way of doing things that the college may be moving away from doing.

    Continue reading
    Central New Mexico Community College2018-10-01
  10. "Very difficult work environment"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Central New Mexico Community College full-time

    Pros

    There are some faculty and staff who really care about doing a good job and helping students.

    Cons

    Management is short-sighted and does not think plans through before having them executed nor do they consult with anyone who has knowledge or experience of the subject being discussed. Less experienced or qualified people are often promoted over others. The work culture is very petty, hierarchical, and unnecessarily competitive.

    Continue reading
    Central New Mexico Community College2018-08-21
Found 55 reviews