Central Piedmont Community College Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
57%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Central Piedmont Community College President Kandi W. Deitemeyer
Kandi W. Deitemeyer
28 Ratings
Pros
  • "Opportunity to learn and advance, positive company culture, great benefits(in 9 reviews)

  • "There are a lot of dedicated teachers at CPCC and I really enjoyed the majority of my students(in 8 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "There is an imbalance between full time and part time benefits(in 12 reviews)

  • "stuck at the adjunct level forever, low pay(in 4 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great Staff!

      May 13, 2021 - Studio Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible hours, great and welcoming staff and team.

      Cons

      Position was not a full-time position.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Peer Tutor/Math Tutor

      Apr 30, 2021 - Peer Tutor in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was a great experience since I had my supervisors help me throughout my tutoring journey. They would even help me learn the fastest way to convey my message to different students

      Cons

      Sometimes there wasn't much to do and we would just sit there for hours doing our own thing, which can be good for me as I was student and bad for a full timer since it gets boring

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      An asset to the Charlotte community

      Apr 26, 2021 - Buyer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A great place to work. Employees who care of the education and growth of the students.

      Cons

      Traffic getting to and from Uptown is a mess! Summer hours can be very hard to deal with.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Adjunct Instructor, Fine for Part Time, Not for Making a Living

      Jan 22, 2021 - Instructor in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      You get to say you teach at a community college, your course is up to your own curriculum, faculty are helpful. If you're teaching a completely online course, this can be simply a side job and you check in on your own time.

      Cons

      You get to use your hard earned graduate degree that you spent years of blood, sweat, and tears over to earn just a little bit above minimum wage, teaching dozens of people that don't really want to be there in the first place. The job pay is more suited for people that don't need the money, but most of the people here do this as a profession. You get paid per class per semester and you're not guaranteed a full amount if enrollment is down. It's just the nature of the job, no one should expect to make a living out of this unless you adjunct at at least other schools (good bye social life) Burnout is easy, especially when there are constant changes but same levels of expectations -and the abysmal pay.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      You are making a difference when you work here.

      Mar 21, 2021 - Senior Coordinator in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Direct impact for the betterment of our community by creating career training

      Cons

      Pay is below average but that is set by the State of NC. It can be very difficult to navigate the large system to get small tasks done.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Great job, would go back in a heartbeat

      Mar 20, 2021 - Senior PT Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I always felt that I was supported and being fairly compensated for the work that I was doing. I was able to choose my hours and maintain a strong work-life balance.

      Cons

      There were occasional issues of a lack of communication between departments and at certain times, I was stuck idle waiting for something to work on.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great Place to Start

      Mar 18, 2021 - Information Systems Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a great place to start off if you are new to the field and learn new skills on the way. It provide you with flexible to attend classes.

      Cons

      Management wasn't great. Pay wasn't great

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee

      CPCC Review

      Mar 23, 2021 - Contributer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -The employees are very helpful and pleasant. -Positive company messaging

      Cons

      -HR is not helpful in toxic situations.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Former Employee

      Great workplace, questionable leadership

      Feb 24, 2021 - Information Systems Analyst II in Charlotte, NC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Team members were great as well as the work environment

      Cons

      Questionable leadership that seemed to ignore the demands of their employees

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Feb 23, 2021 - Advisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great campus to work at

      Cons

      A lot of things to do

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 166 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Central Piedmont Community College Job Seekers

    Instructor
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Central Piedmont Community College? Share Your Experiences

    Central Piedmont Community College logo
    or