Central Transport Reviews | Glassdoor

Central Transport Reviews

Updated Jul 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 414 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
29%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Central Transport CEO Manuel J. (Matty) Moroun
Manuel J. (Matty) Moroun
239 Ratings
  1. "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Transport

    Pros

    Nice people and Good hours, M-F

    Cons

    Hard to get promoted because there are so many people

    Advice to Management

    N/a

    Central Transport2016-09-20

    Central Transport Response

    October 20, 2016Human Resources

    Thanks for your review - we appreciate your candidness. Because your review was anonymous, we don't know your department or terminal. It's therefore hard to comment on promotions, but I can tell you to just hang in there, keep going above and beyond, and promotion is possible.

  2. "Well rounded company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Transport

    Pros

    A lot of opportunities to learn and grow within the company. Competitive salaries and PTO, all major holidays off. The environment and people are great to work with.

    Cons

    The only cons for CT are that the insurance benefits and 401 k could be better / higher but that is it

    Central Transport2016-09-15

    Central Transport Response

    October 20, 2016Human Resources

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we do appreciate it. We are continually looking into the cost and ROI of our benefits and 401 K to make sure that they are competitive with other companies and provide value to our employees. We assure you we will continue to do so.

  3. "Director, Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Transport

    Pros

    Great advancement opportunities to work for.

    Cons

    Great company to work for.

    Central Transport2016-08-22
  4. "Diesel Mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Diesel Mechanic in Secaucus, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Central Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I enjoy working with all of my coworkers and the overlap of the shop and terminal keeps things busy year round. The benefits are good, and the shop is well ran. I enjoy driving the service truck and the work day seems short when there is no time to sit around.

    Cons

    Exposed to the elements.

    Central Transport2016-07-27
  5. "Truck Driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Central Transport full-time

    Pros

    It's local home daily position, weekends off, and get the major holidays paid off as well.

    Cons

    The driving position that i am working is an over night shift.

    Central Transport2016-07-14
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Employee Relations Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Competitive Salary -Support from upper management -Lots of room for advancement -Good PTO Plan -Fast Paced Environment -New trucks for company drivers

    Cons

    -No Direct Deposit option available for employees at this time -401k plan could use a higher company match on contributions to the plan

    Advice to Management

    Look into offering employees direct deposit option.

    Central Transport2016-05-20
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Central Transport - Great Employer - Highly Reccommend to All"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Class A CDL Delivery Driver in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Central Transport full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Equipment is new, always busy, not OTR, and good management team to offer support.

    Cons

    Working 10 to 12 hours a day and used to move freight on dock occasionally.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work. Very happy with my direct management team.

    Central Transport2016-05-12
  8. "Really good business to work at."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Central Transport

    Pros

    Start off pay is very good and goes by so fast. Great employees that work there and a awsome staff and management

    Cons

    You have to start off part time until they have a spot for you on full time. Forklifts are kind of run down. They are still old school, no scanners

    Advice to Management

    Up to date technology, better condition forklifts, bigger warehouse instead of the employees walking back and forth to each watehouse

    Central Transport2016-05-03
  9. "Good company, good people Grand Rapids MI"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Truck Driver in Grand Rapids, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Transport full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Fair pay, great TM, everyone always eager to help out. Good start times, I would defiantly recommend to freind

    Cons

    Older equipment, yard condition, insurance a bit pricey. Overtime not until after 55 hours.

    Central Transport2016-01-31
  10. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends

    I worked at Central Transport full-time

    Pros

    This is a good company that offers growth opportunities if that is what you seek.

    Cons

    The transportation industry itself isn't always easy. You have to have the drive to push yourself to perform.

    Central Transport2015-06-24
Found 414 reviews