Central Transport Reviews | Glassdoor

Central Transport Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 413 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
30%
Recommend to a Friend
31%
Approve of CEO
Central Transport CEO Manuel J. (Matty) Moroun
Manuel J. (Matty) Moroun
238 Ratings
  1. "Driver Lead"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Driver Lead in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great environment that fosters success at so many levels. Great equipment with outstanding operators. Endless opportunity for advancement. Great pay.

    Cons

    The only disadvantage is the handheld imaging technology, But as long as you have patience it won't really get you down.

    Advice to Management

    Do away with mobile imaging and lower cube on outbound to 70% and you will see profits rise exponentially. Trust me, think outside the box. P.S Great Job #1 LTL in the business.

    Central Transport2015-06-08

    Central Transport Response

    June 17, 2015Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to submit a review! We are so pleased that you are happy, and greatly appreciate the details you've provided. We would love to learn more about your comments on the handhelds and cubing. Please talk to your manager about your ideas, or send an email ...

    Show More
  2. "Your a dock/truck driver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Truck Driver in South Bend, IN
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at Central Transport

      Pros

      Make decent money and friendly people

      Cons

      Work 70-75 hours a week

      Central Transport2015-03-26
    • "Hard Work! Great Company! Great People"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Line Haul Driver in Detroit, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Central Transport

      Pros

      Good money. Great co-workers. Consistent Work.

      Cons

      Long hours. Cold winters. Could use better forklifts

      Central Transport2015-02-02
    • Helpful (4)

      "Horrible company"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - City Driver in Detroit, MI
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Central Transport full-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Don't work there as a driver

      Cons

      Everything about the company..... ....

      Advice to Management

      Spend a little money and upgrade terminals

      Central Transport2014-10-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "My position at Central Transport is exciting, challenging, and rewarding - every day!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Detroit, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Central Transport full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      I like the environment and Company Leadership. We provide a great service to Customers and to the US.

      Cons

      Our turnover at the Driver level is higher than I would prefer. We need to find a way to better retain our most important assets - our drivers.

      Advice to Management

      Continue with the positive changes we are implementing here at the Corporate Office, and in the field.

      Central Transport2014-10-13
    • "Good job"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Operations Supervisor 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Central Transport full-time for more than 8 years

      Pros

      Started as a Dockman, got my CDL, although I failed the Hazmat the first time but became a driver and kept learning and advancing and now I am a supervisor. My brother drives for one of the other big carriers and we pretty much have the same occasional headaches that come with work but overall I am thrilled to be where i am and doing what I do. It pays pretty well, I can't complain and I believe if you are serious about...

      Show More

      Cons

      Lot of hours, although I understand alot of that is due to the growth we have been going thru. From what I am seeing, it looks like we will continue to grow so I probably have some more long days ahead of me but I like what I do and i like who I do it for so it doesn't always feel like work.

      Advice to Management

      They need to hire more people, as we keep getting busier, it seems we are always hiring 1 step behind the business levels.

      Central Transport2014-09-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "Central Transport has provided me with the opportunity to grow both individually and professionally."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Customer Support in Warren, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Central Transport full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      I started at Central Transport at a young age very unclear of my desired carrer path. Central Transport continuously promoted me within which helped me gain not only confidence in myself but added experience and growth as a person and as a professional. As I look back on all the challenges, I am very grateful for the opportunitues that Central Transport has provided me, as I've truly grown into a professional individual...

      Show More

      Cons

      I feel more frequent employee reviews would be beneficial. I've been with the company for quite a few years and have yet to receive a formal review. Although I know that my hard work is appreciated and acknowledged, I do think reviews would be a great way to let the employee know managers are aware of their efforts and work. Additionally, I do feel that more hands on management would be beneficial in most departments....

      Show More
      Central Transport2014-09-29
    • "Wonderful Opportunities"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Central Transport full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good company that provides the chance to be challenged while learning new skills to help grow the business. This also provides the opportunity to build relationships with employees at all levels. As a result promotions within the company are highly possible.

      Cons

      In order to be competitive in the industry there could be changes within the company so you need to be able to successfully adapt to those changes.

      Advice to Management

      Keep employees constantly updated with goals for the company.

      Central Transport2014-09-15
    • "Great company to learn and grow with"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Warren, MI
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Central Transport full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Central is a growing company with lots of opportunity if you're willing to continuously learn and work hard. The work is fast paced and provides various challenges. It is a great environment for self motivated workers. Significant investments in new equipment and IT position us as a leader in the industry. Fellow coworkers are generally great people to work with.

      Cons

      There is no direct deposit for paychecks. Unused vacation days are lost if not used by the end of the year (cannot be rolled over or bought out).

      Advice to Management

      Don't underestimate the power of a strong corporate vision that everyone can rally behind for the collective good of the company.

      Central Transport2014-09-15
    • Helpful (1)

      "Great Experience. Somewhat challenging and learn alot about customer service"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Central Transport

        Pros

        Learning how to deal with difficult customers and the employees are great

        Cons

        Management does not seem to care about the CSR's... little guidance from supervisors, left it up to capable team leads.

        Advice to Management

        Train CSRS better

        Central Transport2014-01-30
      Found 413 reviews