Central Transport "decent pay" Reviews | Glassdoor

Central Transport Employee Reviews about "decent pay"

To filter reviews, or .

Found 404 reviews

2.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
36%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
Central Transport CEO Manuel J. (Matty) Moroun
Manuel J. (Matty) Moroun
235 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great hours, friendly supervisors and staff, decent benefits, and good pay(in 40 reviews)

  • "Nice people (that I've encountered), decent pay for entry level, easy job(in 19 reviews)

Cons
  • "no direct deposit and it's 2019(in 39 reviews)

  • "Tractors are quit new but they have old poorly taken care of trailers(in 37 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "decent pay"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Account Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Transport full-time

    Pros

    Decent Pay Home Every Night Nice People

    Cons

    Poor Management Constant Changes Damaged Freight Late Shipments Unhappy Customers

    Advice to Management

    Have more contact with your reps.

    Central Transport2018-05-20

    Central Transport Response

    May 29, 2018Human Resources

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts & write a review. We agree with all the pros you cited & are pleased to read you think highly of those. We would appreciate learning more about what you cited as cons & your advice so that we can do research and ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Central Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay, freedom, nothing, nothing, nothing.

    Cons

    Didn’t take care of their customers

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing from Michigan and let the folks in their positions do their jobs.

    Central Transport2017-11-23

    Central Transport Response

    November 27, 2017Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to provide a review. We are sorry to read of your displeasure - we take great pride in providing quality service to our customers, and making the employee experience a positive one. We wish you luck in the future.

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Horrible run away as fast as you can."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Road Driver 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Central Transport full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay. Easy work for the most part. Co workers were cool, we would stick together because we were all in the same boat.

    Cons

    No direct deposit. Broken equipment, dont take care of brand new trucks (they have never been washed). Will steal money from you if you leave (Made me pay back PTO). No reward for doing a good job, only punishment if you make a mistake. Policies change every couple weeks. This company does not care about their employees. Charge you $500 if you accidentally break one of their refurbished handheld scanners. I could keep...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Start taking care of your equipment and treat your employees better. They work hard and deserve better. I know this is a waste of breath because you will never change as a company but glassdoor asked the question so I answered.

    Central Transport2017-07-21

    Central Transport Response

    July 24, 2017Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We agree that we have tremendous team members here, and always try to be highly competitive with wages. We are actively researching direct deposit, and have purchased more than 1600 tractors, hundreds of forklifts, and hundreds of ...

    Show More
  4. "Billing Department"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Current Employee - Biller/Auditor in Warren, MI

    I have been working at Central Transport

    Pros

    Warren location, flexible hours, decent pay

    Cons

    BEDBUGS, BUGS and FILTHY work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Offices need to be cleaned and overhauled.

    Central Transport2016-11-17

    Central Transport Response

    November 21, 2016Human Resources

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Employee safety and health is of paramount importance to us, and we will look into your statements. We hope that you speak with your Manager or Human Resources should you ever have any concerns - both are always available.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "DIspatch Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispatch Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Central Transport

    Pros

    Decent pay, promotion opportunities. Benefits are available.

    Cons

    No work-life balance, Poor top down management strategy

    Advice to Management

    Look out for your joes, accept mistakes as your fault, deflect praise for accomplishments back to your workforce. Motivate and Empower!

    Central Transport2016-09-12
  6. Helpful (2)

    "material handler/ semi trailer stripper"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Central Transport

    Pros

    decent pay. laid back enviroment

    Cons

    Shady management. terminal basically shut down with zero notice firing around 20 people out of the blue. If you want to be led on just to be let go this is the place for you!!!

    Central Transport2016-09-08
  7. "Dock worker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Central Transport

    Pros

    Decent pay Lot of over time

    Cons

    No break room Dirty restrooms

    Central Transport2016-08-08
  8. "Decent Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Biller 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Central Transport part-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Nice people (that I've encountered), decent pay for entry level, easy job

    Cons

    No room for advancement

    Central Transport2016-05-10
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Customer Service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Central Transport full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay for an entry level position, but everybody is miserable all of the time. Relaxed environment, gets boring answering the phone all of the time. They will move you up if you aren't a slacker (they see a LOT of slackers).

    Cons

    High turnover because they hire kids who don't care. They don't care about their service or their customers so you have to deal with angry customers all of time.

    Advice to Management

    Matty, retire already. Focus on providing better service, try to care about your customers and your reputation instead of just your bottom line.

    Central Transport2016-02-26
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not bad to start at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Warren, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Central Transport full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Decent pay. Easy to move up in the company.

    Cons

    Lack of communication by management! There is no organization!!! Everything is played by ear and there are no set rules. Customers were very unhappy with the service as they have the right to be. Poor quality service as everything is "estimated"

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect and give everyone the same information

    Central Transport2016-01-09
Found 404 reviews