KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Central Transport

Is this your company?

Central Transport

Add a Review

Central Transport Employee Reviews about "trailers"

Updated Jan 6, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 44 of over 647 reviews

3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
42%
Approve of CEO
Central Transport CEO Manuel J. (Matty) Moroun
Manuel J. (Matty) Moroun
342 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, most are good guys to work with or for(in 50 reviews)

  • "Decent pay rate, great working environment(in 24 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "We are paid weekly but no direct deposit Everyone hates hr except for the koolaid drinkers(in 53 reviews)

  • "No Pup trailers for inner city driving(in 44 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Central Transport and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "trailers"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Stable company

      Jan 6, 2021 - Linehaul Driver in Aurora, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Average Pay, Steady Work, Newer Tractors

      Cons

      Long Hours, 2Many Older Trailers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Bad but not horrible

      Oct 14, 2020 - Road Driver in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is great and your home everyday

      Cons

      Have to work the dock all year loading and unloading trailers

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      difficult place to work at

      Sep 20, 2020 - Terminal Manager in Omaha, NE
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is pretty good.

      Cons

      long hours and the main office is difficult to work with to get things done and repaired at the terminal. Not very willing to listen to terminal managers just want you to do it their way and not take into consideration on what you have to say. Give them tools to load trailers without damaging the customers freight. Get the freight delivered in a timely manner.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to start trucking

      Aug 7, 2020 - City Driver/Dock Worker in West Chester, PA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      City drivers make around $800+ a week depending on hours... normally get about 8-10hrs a day including working the dock. Have to load/unload trailers which is easy work.

      Cons

      No overtime until 55 hours. Overtime is straight pay. No Pup trailers for inner city driving. only 48,53ft almost a full automatic fleet

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Linehaul

      Mar 19, 2020 - Commercial Truck Driver in Los Angeles, CA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay. Shuttles. Long hauls

      Cons

      Bad trailers was a no good. Especially when entering dot scales.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      It pays good

      Dec 12, 2019 - Line Haul Driver in Key West, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It pays good is all one can say

      Cons

      Tractors Trailers and management are all JUNK No retirement, 401k is a joke and insurance is company owned, not even a safety bonus or a holiday ham.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Central Transport Response

      Human Resources

      We appreciate your feedback and are glad you felt you were well paid. In the past three years we've invested more than $300 million in tractors and trailers, and have purchased thousands of each. We have also increased the number of shops to have stronger preventative maintenance programs. We plan to continue this momentum as safety is always our top priority. Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and we wish you the best of luck in the future.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Place is so so.

      Jul 22, 2019 - Line Haul Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      No one bothers you if you keep your head down and do the job. Decent pay with nice bonus paid out over some years. Referral bonus for city is decent, better for line haul, again paid out over time. Trucks are in decent shape. Anything goes wrong, mechanics are there to fix, most problems. Never had an issue with a pay check. Some trailers are new, most in decent shape. You get a consistent raise for the first few years then you get capped out, but after a few more years they raise the cap wich is nice.

      Cons

      No direct deposit. Major financial issues from time wasted throughout the year due to outdated hand held issues, and bugs ie; re-signing into certain menus to dispatch multiple times per trip, screen loading times, freezes and reboots, time spent on hold for tech support etc. Long hold times for dispatch, especially on weekends 25 min+. Weekend work when available is not smooth at all. Again wait times on the phone to get planning or things required to enter delivery site terminals is long. Some trailers are in really bad shape. Most terminal managers are decent, folks, but stress from MI due to, "quality control visits." (Rhymes with faudits) trickles down to regular employees.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Central Transport Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for being so detailed and sharing your thoughts and feedback with us. It is details like these that give us the opportunity to review processes, procedures, and equipment to make improvements and changes. We're glad you are pleased with the pay and the continued purchases of new equipment. I will ensure your statements about ELDs /Handhelds/Work Hours are seen by Executive Management and again, we appreciate your thorough feedback and hard work.

    8. 2.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible

      Apr 26, 2019 - Road Driver in Columbus, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good money, Brand new tractors

      Cons

      Home life, horrible trailers, long hours, overworked, well below average benefits

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Central Transport Response

      Human Resources

      Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. We continue to make significant investments in equipment, buying more than 3,000 new trailers in the past two years - as well as continued tractor purchases. We are sorry to read of your disappoint in the Blue Cross insurance offerings. Insurance offerings are routinely researched to ensure competitiveness. You are welcome to speak with your RERM regarding any of your questions or concerns.

    9. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Driver

      Feb 4, 2019 - Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay decent 23hr start not much else

      Cons

      Long hours 70+ a week at times, forklifts are always broke down, ABSOLUTE WORST trailers hope ur doors latch

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Central Transport Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for sharing your feedback & opinions. We are pleased you find your wages competitive - we are always striving to ensure our team members are happy. We have invested hundreds of millions of dollars the past three years to upgrade our fleet - purchasing more than 3000 tractors & trailers. We will continue to make such upgrades and have already ordered more equipment in 2019. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to write and encourage you to notify your supervisor of any equipment in need of maintenance.

    10. 1.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      stay away

      Jan 19, 2019 - Line Haul Driver 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is good if you play their game.

      Cons

      Paychecks are 2 weeks behind if they get it right. Have pto but dont allow you to take it when u want.. what they call blackout dates Dont follow thier own pollices or the law unless it suits management or they want to fire you Tractors are quit new but they have old poorly taken care of trailers As a driver any time someone else slows you down it costs you money Never trust management, line haul, road service or your hr rep. This is because even if they do want to help you the people above them dont. So record everything you can and keep notes about anything and everything.

      Continue reading
      5 people found this review helpful

      Central Transport Response

      Human Resources

      Thanks for sharing your thoughts. We're sorry to read of your frustration and encourage you to speak with your Supervisor, Human Resources, or use the anonymous tip line which is always available to employees if you are more comfortable doing that based on your concerns with Management. Our payroll does have a two week processing period, so that we can ensure all metrics, hours, and time off are paid correctly. If you believe there are any errors in pay, you can always contact payroll. We have purchased many tractors, and a couple of thousand trailers, and we are continuing to buy more this year to further enhance our fleet. Again, we appreciate you taking the time to write a review and hope that you know there are avenues to assist you and people to talk to for assistance.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 44 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Central Transport Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Central Transport? Share Your Experiences

    or