Centrica Reviews in Belfast, UK | Glassdoor

Centrica Belfast Reviews

Updated Jun 7, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
74%
Recommend to a Friend
45%
Approve of CEO
Centrica CEO Iain Conn
Iain Conn
11 Ratings
  1. "Employment & Global Mobility Tax"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Employment & Global Mobility Tax in Windsor, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centrica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good management. Above market comp and perks. Flexibility/ good work life balance policies. Opportunities to progress. Free on-site gym.

    Cons

    Location - but the business does put on free buses and free parking to mitigate this.

    Centrica2017-03-29
  2. "Human Resources"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Compensation Analyst in Windsor, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centrica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great facilities on site, gym, canteen, lots of extra curricular activities. Great team at colleague level. Lots of mobility internationally and within teams. Notably from the reward to HRIS teams! (mass exodus)

    Cons

    Depends on your manager but mine was the worst manager I have ever had to date. They moved the performance curve last minute, moving people to below expectations in order to save money on bonuses due to poor business performance. She tried to implement an unwarranted PIP. I took the decision to leave the business for another opportunity, got a 20k rise and what would have been my bonus paid. Subsequently got a outstanding...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more transparent in how you try to manage messages of how the poor financial performance of the company is affecting teams and individuals. You were sly in how you tried to manage my situation, placing it on me instead of the business. Nothing gives me more joy now than watching you squirm going through another round of lay offs.

    Centrica2019-06-07
  3. "Great opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance Intern in Windsor, South West England, England
    Recommends

    I worked at Centrica full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As an intern you are invested in very heavily by the company and there are good opportunities for progression.

    Cons

    Office location, would rather London based

    Centrica2018-09-13
  4. "200 years history and the future looks great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager in Windsor, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centrica full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Big company with big ideas for the future Leading the way on innovation and future energy markets For a Big FTSE, with 200+ year history that is willing to take some risks to try out new business models and ways of work Investing in new technologies to help this global business work together Excellent perks and benefits

    Cons

    In some areas we suffer from 'dis-economies of scale' We could do more to encourage more internal movement to develop people and leverage knowledge sharing. It happens, but with the size of Centrica we could do so much more

    Centrica2018-06-22
  5. "Inclusive, supportive and forward thinking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Windsor, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centrica full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Welcoming, great work life balance, some inspirational leaders around the company, mentoring schemes

    Cons

    Unclear strategy, poor share price performance, limited progression, slow

    Centrica2018-05-22
  6. "Good company but constant change in direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Windsor, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centrica full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance Supportive and friendly colleagues Experienced senior managers who you can learn from

    Cons

    Hard to find technical projects as all outsourced Change in direction every 2-3 years

    Centrica2017-10-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent presentation skills - Lawyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Legal Counsel in Windsor, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centrica full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job security, challenging, great team

    Cons

    Location, not using my presentation skills

    Centrica2017-04-08
  8. "Centrica doesn't care about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Planning and Analysis Manager in Windsor, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Centrica full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a great organisation for indigenous population and progression is great for them. Centrica is quite a health and safety conscious organisation.

    Cons

    Always Restructuring and not a great organisation and diversity is a big issue especially within top roles within finance. Very little investment is made on career development of employees.

    Advice to Management

    For a change think about your employees and not your bonuses and targets

    Centrica2017-03-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Treated well most of the time but once new management arrived it was clear the company no longer cares about its staff."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources in Windsor, South West England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Centrica full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible working, good salary, parking, gym and canteen on site, medow at the back to go for a walk when you ever get tume

    Cons

    Treated as a number, says all the right stuff but they don't care how much stress they put their staff under! Glad to be gone

    Advice to Management

    Start caring about your staff rather than your. Profit, people are a companies greatest asset!!!! To give senior management a bonus based on how many people they get rid of is not human or caring... to go from a fm team looking after 1 property to 19.... imagine the stress .... how is that looking after your staff????

    Centrica2017-02-08
  10. "Summer placement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Summer Placement in Windsor, South West England, England
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centrica

    Pros

    Good insight to company, when kept busy

    Cons

    Just very short time, sometimes not always busy

    Advice to Management

    Try to always include interns on projects even though they seem a hindrance

    Centrica2016-11-08
Found 17 reviews