Centro Reviews

Updated May 15, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
80%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Centro Founder & CEO Shawn Riegsecker
Shawn Riegsecker
209 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The bonus structure changed almost yearly, never to the benefit of anyone who wasn't upper management(in 8 reviews)

  • "Company is growing rapidly and as a result it seems some policies are enforced differently by department, creating a inconsistency(in 8 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (4)

    "This place is truly special."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Prefer Not to Say 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    For future readers, I am writing this during the COVID-19 pandemic. The world is confronting something very terrifying at the moment, and it is sending shockwaves throughout the global economy and inciting a lot of fear, panic and distrust. It is a scary and uncertain time for families and businesses everywhere. Moments like this force you to take stock of what you are grateful for, and while I'll be the first to admit this is a weird time to write a Glassdoor review, I feel compelled to share what's happening here at Centro through the lens of my inbox. - Nearly overnight Centro assembled a taskforce of people to equip everyone the tools and info necessary to work remotely. We are a tech and services company that grew up on the internet, so it's easy to take this for granted. However, the speed and transparency and effort that went into making this easy for everyone is something I am personally grateful for. - Our CEO has scheduled multiple meetings to keep us updated on basic info about the virus, and how its growing across the world. At a time when there is a lot of mixed info in the media, and people aren't operating with the same level of concern - this is incredible. You may read from others about Centro's values around transparency and its care for its employees. It is real. - We are individually isolated but the culture is THRIVING. Within days, new inter-office chat rooms have sprung up. Office-wide Happy Hours are being hosted via webcam. People are sending out daily tips on productivity or working out from their living rooms. Heartfelt team-wide notes to inspire eachother. Equally inspirational videos of dogs and cats and babies working on laptops. We may be isolated, but we have never been more unified. - Centro has a nation-wide committe that organizes Centro's philanthropy called "The Giving Tree". It also matches some personal donations. This has been in overdrive in recent days. On and on and on. In all of this, I have no idea what comes next. No one does. But I thank God for the people here and places like this. Thank you, Centro.

    Cons

    We are services-oriented company. Building our own tech. In the Advertising Sector. In 2020. Expect all of the inherent challenges that come with that.

    Continue reading
    Centro2020-03-18

    Centro Response

    April 10, 2020Centro

    Thank you for your heartfelt words and appreciation! Centro has always been a special place, and that is only more evident in times of crisis when we come together, support each other, and persevere. Although this is a scary and uncertain time for us all, we continue to believe that transparency and doing the right thing in regards to the happiness, safety, and health of our people and their families is a top priority. You said it best – we’ll get through this together! If you have any additional thoughts, feel free to email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

  2. Helpful (2)

    "Best Decision I've Ever Made"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They truly empower us to be the expert in our field. They care! I've never felt more appreciated. Leadership across the company in on point. Work, life balance is truly a thing here. Benefits are great!

    Cons

    I would't say there really are any true cons, we all have bad days and nothing is perfect. But I have zero regrets coming to Centro.

    Continue reading
    Centro2020-03-05

    Centro Response

    April 10, 2020Centro

    Thank you for your kind feedback! One of our proudest accomplishments is that our people feel empowered, appreciated, and supported. We’re excited to continue to set the example in the industry with people like you on the team! If you have any additional feedback or questions, please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Benefits, Lacks Diversity & Competitive Pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Centro provides some great benefits to their employees including unlimited time off, tons of free food, and a sabbatical.

    Cons

    Entry and mid-level salaries for most of the company are far from competitive. Promotions are given based on favoritism and it's difficult to navigate unless your team and manager are favorites. Centro also has an alarming lack of diversity for such a "progressive" company that brags about their culture. Almost every POC I knew quit during my tenure.

    Continue reading
    Centro2020-05-16
  4. "Good place to work"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Centro full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great culture, benefits and people.

    Cons

    Weak data and analytics team

    Centro2020-05-08
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Not fit for their “culture”"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time

    Pros

    Snacks and whatever free food they have.

    Cons

    This is a great company to work for if you are white. If you are not white you will not fit their work culture. I would say POC beware working here since there is a lot racial tensions and exclusions. Everyone is fake nice, like high school type of behavior.

    Centro2020-03-28

    Centro Response

    April 10, 2020Centro

    We appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us and are saddened to hear that you experienced the culture around you in this way. We remain incredibly dedicated to diversity, equity, and inclusion for all of our employees, and are constantly striving for improvement and forward motion in these areas as they are absolutely essential to our company. Our employee-led Community Groups (ERGs), company-wide ‘Centro Conversations,’ which open up dialogue around diversity topics, and employee surveys are among the avenues that we have provided over the last year in hopes that all employees feel more supported, heard, and included. Additionally, a DEI task force was formed to ensure that time and energy is continuously being put behind our DEI goals and initiatives. We acknowledge there is room for improvement, and we are taking action on a wide scale. We are very open to ideas and feedback around how to keep the momentum headed in the right direction and would like to hear any additional feedback or specific examples if you are open to sharing them. Please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

  6. "Good"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Senior Human Resources Generalist 

    I have been working at Centro full-time

    Pros

    good management and people to work with

    Cons

    need more communication and time off and value

    Centro2019-12-06

    Centro Response

    February 26, 2020Centro

    Thank you for your feedback! We’re glad that the people and management stand out to you – they are the backbone of Centro! Please don’t hesitate to reach out to your manager (or me directly) if you have any questions about our flexible time off policy or any of our other benefits or development programs – we want to make sure our employees feel in the know about everything that’s available to them. If you have any additional feedback or questions, please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

  7. Helpful (3)

    "Believe in the Product Centro Sells"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Centro provides opportunity for personal growth, provides its internal teams with endless marketing and sales resources and has an amazing product (Basis). I left Centro for another opportunity and ended up coming back a year later.

    Cons

    The regional offices don't always get the perks of the larger hubs, but that's the case at most companies.

    Continue reading
    Centro2019-10-10

    Centro Response

    December 6, 2019Centro

    Welcome back! We loved hearing your thoughts about Basis – thank you for your feedback. We truly believe Basis will change the industry, so giving our people the right resources to sell it is a no-brainer! Speaking of resources, we’re really proud of the perks and benefits we provide and are always open to hearing new ideas for our employees in different regions. If you have any ideas or additional thoughts, please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great place for Career Growth - if you're up for the challenge!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Services Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Echoing what has been said before of the overall amazing culture. Great chemistry across the teams that service our clients and a company that definitely values the people behind the levers. But something important to note is the overall career growth and skillset Centro arms its employees with. Given the varying clients, verticals, strategies and objectives, no day looks the same and no day comes without learning something new. Centro is exceptional at keeping people on their toes and challenges from both a work and personal growth perspective to be a better version of yourself every day.

    Cons

    Each office does great work, communication across the regions could use some improvement.

    Centro2019-09-23

    Centro Response

    December 6, 2019Centro

    We really appreciate your constructive feedback! Helping our employees become a better version of themselves has always been a huge goal of ours, and we’re so happy you see the many possibilities for personal growth and development at Centro. You make a great point that no two days ever look the same! Additionally, your feedback about improving communication across regions is much appreciated. We’re continuing to work with leadership to ensure more consistency and communication across all regions – from interviewing best practices to workforce planning. Continuous growth and improvement is always the goal! If you have anything else to add we’d love to hear from you at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

  9. Helpful (3)

    "A very special place to learn, grow and thrive"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Centro full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I loved working at Centro - best job I've ever had. Working with a mission-focused, value-focused company to make the industry better means a lot to me. I'll take those lessons, friendships and connections with me wherever I go and be a better person for it.

    Cons

    Lot of pressure now to get Basis adoption...it will happen, but Rome wasn't built in a day.

    Continue reading
    Centro2019-08-20

    Centro Response

    September 30, 2019Centro

    Thank you for your thoughts on your time here at Centro! It’s amazing to hear that you’re a better person after working with us. Our media service teams are some of the hardest working people in the industry, and play a huge part in driving the success of Basis forward – thank you for your part in that. We’re looking forward to getting Rome built in order to make the industry better! If you have any additional feedback, please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Best place to work- hands down!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Performance Analyst in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Centro full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You will never find a company culture like Centro. Everyone is so friendly and truly there to help. It is an extremely collaborative work environment with some of the smartest minds in the Ad Tech/ Digital Marketing industry. The CEO, Sean, is extremely hands on and receptive to his employees and their needs. Ego's are left at the door the second you walk into Centro and all ideas are listened to and treated equally. At Centro there is no such thing as "my way or the highway" managers are open to new ways of doing things and listen to what other people have to say.

    Cons

    If I ever want to change career paths, it's going to be tough to find a better company that makes me excited to come to work everyday.

    Centro2019-08-20

    Centro Response

    December 6, 2019Centro

    Thank you for your feedback on your time at Centro! We’re so happy that you’ve found the culture here to be special. As you know, the leadership team tries very hard to cultivate a transparent, collaborative, and ego-less culture and loves hearing new ideas from our people! If you have any additional feedback or ideas, please email us at tellusmore@centro.net. -EVP, Talent and Development

Found 266 reviews