KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Centura Health

Engaged Employer

Centura Health

Add a Review

Centura Health Employee Reviews about "high turnover"

Updated Dec 2, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 of over 864 reviews

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Centura Health CEO and President Peter D. Banko
Peter D. Banko
213 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and opportunities for advancement(in 35 reviews)

  • "Cohesive, proud, supportive work environment(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper Management does not care about improving processes(in 23 reviews)

  • "Reorganizing management has led to high turnover recently(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Centura Health and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "high turnover"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Mission focused employer

      Jul 25, 2019 - Network Engineer in Centennial, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Focused on providing quality health care. Good compensation and benefits.

      Cons

      Reorganizing management has led to high turnover recently.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Centura Health Response

      Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for your positive review! Our incredible team makes us so successful in delivering patient care.

    2. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Used to be good

      Nov 14, 2020 - Various IT Positions in Centennial, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay is decent, coworkers are like family. PTO good after being there over 5 years.

      Cons

      Leadership is more concerned with how they look instead of their people. Certain leaders are protected by HR and those that speak out end up gone. PTO includes sick time and holiday pay. High turnover due to leadership and mass departures do not warrant investigation by HR. Most recent layoff cycle of 230+ employees was never reported to the media, and happened after forced PTO and then bonuses were given. Layoffs seemed to be personal and not in the best interest of the business.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Centura Health Response

      We would like to look further into this situation. If you would like to discuss this matter, please contact us at centuracareers@centura.org

    3. Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals
    4. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Unethical Greedy Company That Overworks Employees

      Dec 2, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Huntsville, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The management and the organization as a whole are so terrible employees came together to provide each other with words of encouragement

      Cons

      I was a fan of Centura prior to becoming a Centura Employee. Their practices are not in alignment with their mission statement. The company is extremely greedy and unethical. Employees were already overworked prior to the pandemic , but since then our workload has more than quadrupled. Managers are incompetent, and micromanage their staff. Leadership monitors bathroom breaks and even asks employees to consult with them if they need to spend extra time in the bathroom (absolutely unheard of and ridiculous). Department leaders are not investigated even after departments experience high turnover and they are also extremely unprofessional. This was a decent company to work for prior to their South Denver merge. Their lack of adequate staffing and forcing staff to cover multiple COVID areas on top of their current duties has caused a huge delay in patient care. As a patient I no longer come here, and I advise family members and friends to avoid Centura at all costs. It was unfortunate to see what was once a good company to work for turn into an unethical and greedy corporation that does not care about the health and well-being of employees and patients they claim to serve. Managers are spineless and lack interpersonal competency. Just an awful company to work for. I am glad I took my talents elsewhere.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Centura Health Response

      Talent Acquisition

      We regret to hear that you had a negative experience with us and we would appreciate the opportunity to address your concerns directly. Thank you for leaving feedback. Please reach out to us at centuracareers@centura.org so we can work directly with you to resolve your concern.

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Bad leaders prioritized over people and patients

      Nov 25, 2020 - Various Positions At the Enterprise Level in Redmond, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      High turnover creates opportunities to gain valuable experience to take elsewhere. Mid-level management and down is full of wonderful people who believe that their work directly impacts patients' lives. It's inspiring to be around them.

      Cons

      If you're not Adventist, there is definitely a glass ceiling. I'm surprised there are not more comments about this as it is well known and openly discussed. Certain positions are required to be filled with Adventists and other departments have quotas. This varies by facility and department but is very noticeable in the culture. Constant "hiring and promotion freezes" spanning years that do not apply to Adventists but are used to promise others promotions when the freeze ends and keep talent there without paying them appropriately. Leadership is more concerned with how they look and the next step in their careers than their people or patients. Certain leaders are protected by HR and those that speak out end up gone. This is so extreme that the leaders over supply chain and telehealth were forced to "leave Centura Health to pursue other opportunities" in the middle of a pandemic while volunteers were flooding to the corporate office at night ironing trash bags to make PPE and patients needed increased access to telehealth. Employees get PTO days which include sick time and holiday pay so if you start at the wrong time of year, you may have a negative PTO balance, just due to mandatory holidays (up to 11 a year while I've been here) for the first 9 months you are there. High turnover due to leadership and mass departures do not warrant investigation by HR. Most recent layoff cycle of 230+ employees was never reported to the media, and happened after forced PTO (more PTO than employees accumulate in a year after mandatory holidays, that pushed them to negative PTO balances) and then maximum bonuses were given. Layoffs seemed to be personal and not in the best interest of the business. Constant rounds of layoffs every 6 to 12 months for the last 4 years.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Centura Health Response

      Thank you so much for sharing your feedback. We would like the opportunity to discuss this further. Please contact us at centuracareers@centura.org

    6. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Just go somewhere else

      Oct 11, 2020 - Emergency Department Technician 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Higher Pay than some competitors

      Cons

      Extremely high turnover, mandatory on call shifts, low morale.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Centura Health Response

      Talent Acquisition

      We appreciate your review and the opportunity to address your concerns. If you still have concerns, please contact CenturaCareers@Centura.org.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Mediocre workplace at best

      Sep 14, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Austin, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Co-workers -T 10 -bonus pay when their desperate

      Cons

      -New CNO and CEO every couple years -inconsistency with the “enterprise”(what they want is to call corporate) -extremely high turnover -unsafe staffing -uncaring upper management -Not enough training on what matters and too much training on corporate BS -showed their true colors during covid

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Centura Health Response

      Talent Acquisition Marketing Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. We are so grateful for our incredible caregivers and regret to hear your experience wasn't what you expected. We offer Nurse Residency Programs to our RNs to develop the skills they want for their career journey.

    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Sprawling hospital network with low effort to standardize business practices leads to stress in billing departments

      Nov 5, 2019 - Patient Access Coordinator in Redmond, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Some wonderful colleagues with big hearts -State of the art facilities are nice, if you get to work there -Ambitious corporate strategies ... too ambitious

      Cons

      All the acquisitions and mergers mean facilities have their own pricing and local deals with their respective communities. Centralization of business functions has forced associates to catch up with practices of other facilities, rather than standardizing pricing across the corporation. Lots of inconsistencies from poor communication between facilities and departments. Patient access personnel were moved to non-ideal, poorly maintained sites. The following have improved somewhat: -Toxic micromanaging culture -Insufficient new hire training programs -Understaffed with high turnover -Low transparency and poor communication

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Centura Health Response

      Talent Acquisition

      We are grateful that you took the time to bring this matter to our attention. We regret that you feel this way about your experience with us, and would value hearing more details from you. If you would like to discuss further, please contact CenturaCareers@Centura.org.

    9. 1.0
      Former Employee

      Centura is a horrible place to work!

      Aug 20, 2019 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I found nothing good about working at Centura Health!

      Cons

      DO NOT WORK FOR THIS COMPANY - this is a horrible place to work!!! High turnover & low pay! They micromanage their employees & can careless about the person. It is all about the dollars!! They have no idea how to manage people only to over work them & than tell them they are not doing enough or correctly! Never any praise!! NOT A GOOD PLACE TO WORK!!!!

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful

      Centura Health Response

      Talent Acquisition

      We are grateful that you took the time to bring this matter to our attention, and regret that you feel this way about your experience with us. We would value hearing more details from you. If you would like to discuss further, please contact CenturaCareers@Centura.org.

    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Same old toxic nursing culture

      Apr 29, 2019 - Registered Nurse in Singapore
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Nice facilities, good quality equipment, decent patient ratios.

      Cons

      Same old unbearable toxic nursing culture, uncompetitive pay, very high turnover.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Centura Health Response

      Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for taking the time to bring this matter to our attention. We regret that you feel this way about your experience with us, and would value hearing more details from you. If you would like to discuss further, please contact CenturaCareers@Centura.org.

    11. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company overall

      Apr 9, 2019 - Anonymous Employee in Redmond, WA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employee wellness program, great culture, good benefits package with discounts for good health

      Cons

      Restructuring/changes, high turnover in some areas

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Centura Health Response

      Talent Acquisition

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment. We appreciate you sharing your positive experience with us!

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 18 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Centura Health Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Centura Health? Share Your Experiences

    or