KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Centura Health

Engaged Employer

Centura Health

Add a Review

Centura Health Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Sep 14, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 22 of over 864 reviews

3.5
62%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Centura Health CEO and President Peter D. Banko
Peter D. Banko
213 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good benefits and opportunities for advancement(in 35 reviews)

  • "Cohesive, proud, supportive work environment(in 29 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Upper Management does not care about improving processes(in 23 reviews)

  • "Reorganizing management has led to high turnover recently(in 18 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    Talk anonymously with Healthcare professionals

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Centura Health and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?

    Reviews about "upper management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 10 years

      RN Assistant Nurse Manager

      Oct 14, 2016 - RN Staff Nurse in Lakewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Very good company to work for. Employee as well as patient centered. Recommend employment.

      Cons

      Difficult to advance. Upper management not visible at all, only during inspections and holidays. CEO never visits staff.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Mediocre workplace at best

      Sep 14, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Lakewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Co-workers -T 10 -bonus pay when their desperate

      Cons

      -New CNO and CEO every couple years -inconsistency with the “enterprise”(what they want is to call corporate) -extremely high turnover -unsafe staffing -uncaring upper management -Not enough training on what matters and too much training on corporate BS -showed their true colors during covid

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Centura Health Response

      Talent Acquisition Marketing Coordinator

      Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. We are so grateful for our incredible caregivers and regret to hear your experience wasn't what you expected. We offer Nurse Residency Programs to our RNs to develop the skills they want for their career journey.

    3. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Help Desk at Centura Health

      Aug 3, 2020 - IT Professional in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There is no end to I.T at Centura, growth wise.

      Cons

      Upper Management does not care about improving processes.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Centura Health Response

      Talent Acquisition

      We appreciate your review and the opportunity to address your concerns. If you would like to discuss your concerns, please contact CenturaCareers@Centura.org.

    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Registered Nurse

      Apr 16, 2020 - Registered Nurse in Denver, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers, easy to advance

      Cons

      Upper Management lacks good communication

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Centura Health Response

      Talent Marketing

      Thank you so much! Your positive rating means a lot to us!

    5. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Not the place to work if you want Job satisfaction

      Feb 28, 2019 - Certified Surgical Technologist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      There are NO pros to working here other than having a Union for NON professional staff , But the Union representatives are useless and lazy when it comes to standing up for any person covered by the union contract .

      Cons

      Exceptionally low pay and increases, Hostile work environment !! The use of Nurses as Manager even though the have no management or people skill when it comes to dealing with associates with problems or issues. Bad Upper management making VERY BAD decisions that have a negative impact on moral and the treatment of patients. Surgeons are extremely dissatisfied with the way the Hospital operates and take it out on the surgical staff which leads to verbal abuse of staff and then a high turnover rate for staff in the OR most of whom are very cliquish and take their frustrations on one another . Management gives them a slap on the wrist and it all begins again shortly thereafter because they would rather lose as many or staff as it takes rather than truly punish a Surgeon which leads to very short staffing and a very punishing call requirement.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Beware - CHPG Finance

      Oct 18, 2019 - Financial Analyst in Englewood, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      General Corporate atmosphere is friendly overall workforce with good pay

      Cons

      Finance has several openings, there is a reason for this churn. The longest serving analyst is just over a year. Area managed in an authoritarian manner. HR is there to service upper management and doesn't care about staff. HR allows management to abuse staff and fosters retaliation actions, making staff vulnerable. HR is a tool used to cover management actions. The PTO policy is rather paltry, you have to use your accrued PTO for holiday pay short changing employees 10 days of PTO.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      Centura Health Response

      Talent Acquisition

      We are sorry to hear that you felt this way and would like to learn more about your experience. If you would like to discuss the situation further, please contact CenturaCareers@Centura.org.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      An Okay Place to Work For...

      Dec 6, 2016 - OFFICE SPECIALIST 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I think it all depends which clinic/department you work in that will determine how good/bad your working experience is. I like the doctor and staff that I work with, we all get along pretty well. I think our clinic is a good place to work at. I like that I have freedom in my position and that I am not micromanaged. I also like my clinic supervisor - I feel that she is a fair person to work for. However, I do think the cons outweigh the pros. In all honestly, if I could give an accurate rating it would be more like 2.5 stars.

      Cons

      I think the upper management (Administrators and Assistant Administrators) is horrible. I think they are clueless as to what it is like to work inside the clinics. I also feel like they lie a lot. I don't think they tell us the truth to a lot of the things that are happening behind the scenes - no transparency at all. The communication between upper management and staff is absolutely horrible as well. Also, the benefits for working for Centura Health are bad - no paid holidays, very little PTO, no bonuses, no holiday parties, etc. Finally, they do not do reviews based off personal performance, but rather by quality measures for the entire clinic. There is no incentive to work harder because everyone gets the same raise, which by the way was only 0.26 cents this year!

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Centura Health

      Aug 22, 2016 -  in Colorado Springs, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Overall, Centura is a pretty good employer... but this totally depends on your direct manager and the VP of your dept. There are vast differences between depts. and facilities of whether or not Centura Health is a good place to work or not. Some depts. have additional fringe benefits due to they have budgets for them (like education).

      Cons

      Many of the upper management are driven by bonuses and their dept goals - and therefore are willing to not live nor support the mission they are supposed to be modeling to their direct subordinates and their depts. And then when the annual wage increases are less than expected, they bring up the fact Centura is a not-for-profit entity and we working for a not-for-profit and serving in a mission (yet they are getting very wealthy for their contributions to the same mission). Some depts. do not have any work-life balance due to their VP's demanding temperament.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Centura Supply Chain

      Oct 23, 2015 - Capital Equipment Analyst in Centennial, CO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      With such a large organization you are given the opportunity to develop new skills and continue to work your way up

      Cons

      Unfortunately Centura Corporate leardership is very blind how their staff is managed, the poor processes that hinder good work to be completed and how their "big ideas" are ineffectively rolled out. It again is a big company and they don't have a good handle on how to manage all the work that needs to go on to support their hospitals. After working 80hrs and asking both employees and vendors to work weekend and nights to complete a project I had expressed my concern to upper management of the expectations they were putting on their staff and I was told that the CEO and CFO of the hospital and the corporate Centura did not care what we were going through. "Just get it done".

      Continue reading
      8 people found this review helpful
    10. 3.0
      Current Contractor, less than 1 year

      mixed bag on the service desk

      Mar 13, 2014 - IT Customer Service Analyst in Paranaguá
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      pay is solid, management is competent, team was mostly great. keep most of their equipment up to par, facilities are serviceable and clean. coffee bar. they encourage people to go to school and benefits are pretty solid.

      Cons

      i was to start off by saying i was let go because management found out i had a phone interview at a different company, so theres that. Also, theres a chronic case of spinelessness from management and co-workers affecting the place. People would spy on what i was doing, and taddle to management. was insulted when i took less than 50 calls a day its owned by a church somehow, so people will expect you to just agree with them when talking about religion, really dont like disagreement. Management makes a effort but its clearly insincere when they ask for input. Also they have a hard time saying no or countering the demands of upper management and will commit to projects that they have not business doing.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 22 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Centura Health Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Centura Health? Share Your Experiences

    or