Century 21 Stores "minimum wage" Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Century 21 Stores Employee Reviews about "minimum wage"

Updated Jul 24, 2019

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
32%
Recommend to a Friend
55%
Approve of CEO
Century 21 Stores CEO Raymond Gindi (no image)
Raymond Gindi
251 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great people, down to earth, care about your development, and privately owned(in 20 reviews)

  • "weekly pay every friday check is reasonable(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "For minimum wage, you are NOT going to work me to death(in 55 reviews)

  • "low pay for amount of work given & high expectations(in 39 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "minimum wage"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "MTM"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - MTM 

    I have been working at Century 21 Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    People are nice Easy job for people under 20

    Cons

    Cut your hours without any warning Minimum Wage Rude Customers

    Continue reading
    Century 21 Stores2017-05-30
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Barely Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Century 21 Stores full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The experience is great. You truly learn different functions of the field and how to handle certain situations in a timely manner and to the best of your ability. It's a dreadful place to work but if you can push through a year just for experience, go for it.

    Cons

    Unstable management and micro managers. College educated individuals were being paid $1.50 more than minimum wage and being taken advantage of. Workload is unfair and ridiculous. One person doing the job of 3 to 4 people. There were days I would go home and cry due to stress. I used to get anxiety randomly throughout the day due to stress, inconsistency, micro managing and dealing with things I shouldn't have had to deal with.

    Continue reading
    Century 21 Stores2019-07-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Worst place to work at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Century 21 Stores full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Got a check every Friday

    Cons

    Management is a joke and are rude. Customers are rude. I left right after they got rid of set schedules. For minimum wage, you are NOT going to work me to death.

    Century 21 Stores2019-07-09
  4. "Title"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Century 21 Stores part-time

    Pros

    Really flexible on hours and days off

    Cons

    They pay minimum wage and promotions are only 10 cents

    Century 21 Stores2019-01-01
  5. "Terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier/Sales in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Century 21 Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Full time 20% discount I did have some really nice team members. Very clean break room. Good location good and product selection.

    Cons

    They only care about getting credit card sign ups. If you are polite and hard working it does not matter just get those cards. Minimum wage, no incentives unless you are snitching on a fellow team member and a lot of that goes on. Very unprofessional but anything goes as long as you sign up guests for credit cards. Also security is so tight in there you are Always being watched like criminals. Most ridiculous thing I have ever witnessed. I see why they aware constantly hiring, most people have only been there a few months.

    Continue reading
    Century 21 Stores2018-04-13
  6. "Treated Workers like Cattle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Century 21 Stores part-time

    Pros

    Weekly Paycheck, 10% discount on merchandise

    Cons

    Must be in an union (taking my money), management does not care for employees, break time starts when you're not even in the break room, no team building exercises at all. Minimum wage

    Continue reading
    Century 21 Stores2018-02-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Worst place ever! Downtown NY store"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Century 21 Stores full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I like shopping. Find some good things for me and my child at the clearance racks plus 20% off. I'm interested in someone at work.

    Cons

    Minimum wage pay, .10 cent raise from starting part time to full time which I had to beg for. Now there's rumors that management is trying to get rid of full timers to get rid of full time slots and have everyone work as part time. Yet part time now has to pay initiation and union dues which is just robbing money from your check because nobody has any idea who these people are and how they can help you as an employee. You have no real lunch break unless you run from clocking out up or down the escalator to the break room. 90% of employees at this store (no matter what level) are disgusting human beings! You will get insulted and talked down to every day. They all talk behind your back yet want to be nice when you get enough credit card applications. That has to be the stupidest thing I have ever heard of. There's no need to trick or push guests to sign up for a credit card for this store. Who really wants a damn credit card that only offers 2 days of 15% off and 1 day (birthdays) of 20%. Ridiculous! But guess what, if we don't sign them up, the company "doesn't grow". Really? Macy's have done just fine without pushing people to sign up for their store card!!! Schedules are ridiculous unless you're part time and going to school or want to close every night. But even so you don't have a life! This company hires to fire which is just a waste of time! Management wonders why our American guests don't shop here anymore. Guess why? Because you have these new and slow idiots working here that have to be babysat on everything. Instead of working with the employees you already have! They buy a damn candy bar and there it goes, another offer to apply for the store card. There's this new "point system" 17 points in 3 months and your out. I can get fired tomorrow and I wouldn't care. I'm pretty sure I've made that clear to my managers. Too much work, low pay, treated worst than a dog!!! Only reason why I'm still here I got a little crush and someone and I'm determined to make it happen.

    Continue reading
    Century 21 Stores2017-06-29
  8. "terrible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Merchandiser in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Century 21 Stores part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    there is no best reasons to work at c21 , terrible place horrible managment , minimum pay a lots of work

    Cons

    minimum wage pay, terrible management, tons of work ,

    Continue reading
    Century 21 Stores2017-05-28
  9. "An "Okay" Level-Entry Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Rego Park, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Century 21 Stores part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good part time job for school students, Over time, you can swap schedules with Co-workers, User Friendly Register/Computer, Employee Discount 15%, 30% off uniforms (once a year), Incentives, Paid time off after a year, Benefits for recommended a friend, 30 minute Lunch + 15 minute break. Closed on Christmas Day. Bonuses for Signing up loyalty members.

    Cons

    All black everything (Dress Code). SUNDAY is the worst day to work! Its hard to get the weekends off. A lot of Incentives (ways to make extra money) were taken away, Starts off at minimum wage, $0.10 raise annually, Clocking out for breaks takes up too much time, L.P. (Loss Prevention) Pat downs are ridiculously annoying, and time consuming especially when taking breaks. Can't leave or enter through the main entrance only the employee entrance. Employees are under constant surveillance with cameras over the registers, store requirements to staple shopping bags + receipts. Strict demands for signing up Guests/Customers for Loyalty Rewards Cards is (at least) 10 guests per day. Having to work/learn departments other than the one you are hired for.

    Century 21 Stores2016-12-04
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Sales/cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales/Cashier in New York, NY

    I have been working at Century 21 Stores for less than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay, you meet awesome and hardworking people, free food on holidays, energetic environment. You also get to meet amazing guests. You get recognized for your hard work.

    Cons

    Minimum wage, some managers overwork you and take advantage of you, no work-life balance. Can be a toxic environment if you allow stress to take over. Always understaffed. Expect maximum work for minimum pay.

    Continue reading
    Century 21 Stores2016-11-30
Found 55 reviews