Century Aluminum Reviews | Glassdoor

Century Aluminum Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 28 reviews

2.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
48%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Century Aluminum CEO Michael A. Bless
Michael A. Bless
12 Ratings
  1. "Excellent Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Century Aluminum full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Outstanding compensation and benefits. Wonderful coworkers. Overall company culture is quite positive. This is an organization that is growing and doing many of the 'right' things.

    Cons

    While rapidly becoming a larger company, it still sometimes behaves a small one. Needs work on established policies and procedures in some areas.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Century Aluminum2017-05-16
  2. "Maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Century Aluminum full-time

    Pros

    Laid back atmosphere and the hours.

    Cons

    It was hot at times, and dirty.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Century Aluminum2017-02-08
  3. "Great Company....great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Benefits Analyst in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Century Aluminum full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Employees and Management are wonderful. The nicest people I have had the opportunity to work with and for. They acknowledge your hard work and always treat you with respect. Everyone is willing to assist you if you need help.

    Cons

    No cons that I have encountered.

    Advice to Management

    Keeping doing what you are doing.

    Century Aluminum2015-08-12
  4. "great job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Carbon Setter in Robards, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Century Aluminum full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good pay excellent benefits learn lots of different things

    Cons

    very hot, people dont want help othes, new hires are targets

    Advice to Management

    give new hires more respect and stop looking for reasons to fire them

    Century Aluminum2014-03-25
  5. "Journeyman mechanic, very good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Journeyman Mechanic in Hawesville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Century Aluminum full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Union job and benefits were good and pay was good, other employees were very pleasant to be around and would help anyway they could.

    Cons

    You worked long hours and you was on a rotation swing shift, so you would go from days to nights every month

    Advice to Management

    Limited supply of skilled labor available in our area

    Century Aluminum2018-03-29
  6. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Charleston, SC
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Century Aluminum for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Smaller company -- less bureaucracy. Able to make command decisions quickly and effectively at times when time is of the essence.

    Cons

    Smaller company can feel less secure for longer term employment in a competitive global economy.

    Advice to Management

    none

    Century Aluminum2016-01-20
  7. "If you can stand the heat you will make it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Century Aluminum full-time

    Pros

    Pay above average job opportunity to do various jobs Gain great experience in many areas

    Cons

    Currently lacking tuition reimbursement not a lot of room to advance in certain areas buddy system

    Advice to Management

    pay a bit more attention to how personnel are treated give more benefits be more willing to give information about our future rather than generic answers

    Century Aluminum2015-11-17
  8. "Great place for tradesmen"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Century Aluminum full-time

    Pros

    Great compensation package, excellent insurance, very friendly almost family like atmosphere.

    Cons

    business model is tied to the LME (London Metal Exchange) and when prices drop layoffs and idling of production follow.

    Advice to Management

    Keep that family like atmosphere

    Century Aluminum2015-11-09
  9. "Process Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Century Aluminum

    Pros

    Great work-life balance. They treat employees like people and make sure that we can control what we can.

    Cons

    Plant may close down and am worried about the future of the company as well as the industry.

    Century Aluminum2015-11-04
  10. "Century"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Potlines Process Consultant/Technical Operations Leader in Puyallup, WA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Century Aluminum for more than a year

    Pros

    Good company to work for. Good benefits, employee perks, makes you feel a a part in most decisions. looking to grow and expand the company

    Cons

    There is a bit too much inexperience. Could improve training as well as recruiting experienced managers

    Advice to Management

    Enhance training, and recruiting efforts

    Century Aluminum2015-07-17
Found 28 reviews