CenturyLink Reviews

Updated Aug 4, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
53%
Approve of CEO
CenturyLink CEO Jeff Storey
Jeff Storey
506 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Seems like upper management didn't have a clear view of how the company should function in a post telecom world(in 129 reviews)

  • "Falling flat on basic customer service(in 76 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    COVID-19

    "Great Company-excellent COVID response"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Broomfield, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent response to COVID, the company quickly moved the vast majority of the workforce to work from home, and offered enhanced benefits focusing on the health, safety and overall well being of the employees. I was truly impressed, and feel incredibly supported, I couldn't have asked for anything more. Great benefits and competitive pay, flex time off, and solid work-life balance. I love my colleagues.

    Cons

    A lot of industry changes happening, which cause downstream affects. This can also be a good thing, as we are constantly innovating and being agile.

    Continue reading

    CenturyLink Response

    July 15, 2020

    Thank you for this 5-star review! We agree, our leadership team quickly responded to COVID while keeping the safety and needs of our employees, at the forefront of our decision-making process. We are fortunate to have employees like you!

  2. "No Comment"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Network Technician in Phoenix, AZ

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Century Link has good benefits

    Cons

    Some managers did not care to fix the telephone cable plant

    Continue reading

  3. "ISP are the sweat shop of IT, get exp and leave"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Solutions Designer II in Littleton, CO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good to get your foot in the door for the industry. Get decent experience depending on your field.

    Cons

    Pay is not commensurate to job duties. Typical ISP environment. No room for growth; wait, there is but HR does not want the administrative work it takes to promote or move an individual in the company. You have to fight for 3-5% raise when promoted. 10%? Haha leave the company and come back 3-6 months later is what a manager silently explained. Lack of training; high turnover rate.

    Continue reading

    CenturyLink Response

    August 4, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We view our employees as our most valuable asset, and we believe we have created an environment where our people can grow professionally and further their careers within the organization. As a current employee if you would like to discuss specific concerns you can contact us at CTLHRActionTeam@centurylink.com.

  4. "Sales Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good experience to use throughout telecom industry.

    Cons

    No raises available. Need to get a promotion to advance pay scale.

    CenturyLink Response

    August 4, 2020

    CenturyLink embraces a “Pay for Performance” culture and gives managers and business units the autonomy and ownership to make appropriate compensation decisions (raises, promotions etc.) for their teams. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review.

  5. "Good benefits"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Service Technician in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Good people to work for.

    Cons

    Slow order processing but getting better

    CenturyLink Response

    August 4, 2020

    Thank you for leaving us a review, we are happy to see you enjoyed our robust benefits and the great people you worked with here!

  6. "an ok place to work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior QA Engineer in Minneapolis, MN
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time

    Pros

    flexible working schedule, new technology, fast paced

    Cons

    frequent change of direction, lack of clarity leads to confusion

    CenturyLink Response

    July 30, 2020

    Thank you for leaving a review, we are happy to hear you were able to take advantage of our flexible work schedules and enjoyed the fast-paced environment at CenturyLink.

  7. "Acct Management"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Enterprise Account Manager in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits and overall company

    Cons

    Changing process constantly and confusing practices

    CenturyLink Response

    July 30, 2020

    Thank you for leaving a review. We are happy to hear that you enjoy our benefits program!

  8. "Not bad"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Engineer in Charlotte, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Wide product set. Global reach.

    Cons

    Disjointed go to market strategy. At its heart its just an old, stale telco.

    CenturyLink Response

    July 30, 2020

    CenturyLink is working diligently on our digital transformation; we are proud of our diverse product suite that we bring to the global market. Thank you for leaving a review.

  9. "Okay Company"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior QA Engineer in Gardner, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great people, diverse & flexible work environments

    Cons

    No raises, no room for advancement & not enough training.

    Continue reading

    CenturyLink Response

    July 28, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. CenturyLink embraces a “Pay for Performance” culture and gives managers and business units the autonomy and ownership to make compensation decisions (raises, promotions etc.) for their teams. We are glad to see you enjoyed the people you worked with.

  10. "it was good."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good people, competitive salaries, good environment

    Cons

    big company, can get lost in the chaos.

    CenturyLink Response

    July 28, 2020

    Thank you for the 5-star review! We are glad to see you are enjoying your time working here, and we appreciate your 10+ years of dedicated service.

Found 4148 reviews