CenturyLink "customer service" Reviews | Glassdoor

CenturyLink Employee Reviews about "customer service"

Updated 29 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
CenturyLink CEO Jeff Storey
Jeff Storey
397 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Also there is not much room for growth UNLESS you are close friends with upper management(in 122 reviews)

  • "Falling flat on basic customer service(in 73 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "customer service"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Structure Loader"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dothan, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    The knowledge of keeping up with a constantly changing industry.

    Cons

    The different ways of achieving their goals with cut backs in customer service .

    Advice to Management

    n/a

    CenturyLink2017-10-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great job but the company as a whole could use some guidance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Dispatcher 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits Work environment

    Cons

    Customer service is pretty bad Management seems somewhat disconnected from reality in certain areas

    Advice to Management

    Customer care should be top priority, a big weakness the company has in my opinion would be the care department. Not a lot of competent people there and the customers are the ones suffering because of it. Also I feel your forecasting department could use work, Technicians are getting overloaded with carried over work which is causing more and more misses all while other customers are cutting in line getting due... dates overridden for sooner due dates, everything snowballs from there.

    Show More
    CenturyLink2019-07-30
  3. "Treated well"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Tech in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well paid. Excellent experience. And stuff.

    Cons

    Disorganized upper management. Falling flat on basic customer service.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the simple things and go from there.

    CenturyLink2019-03-19
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Please think twice.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Small Business Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Worst company I have ever worked for. Made up lies, bullied and pressured employees into business practices that steals from hard working Americans. Constant lies to customer. If your a consumer yourself a favor and never purchase there product or services.

    Cons

    This place is a con. They lie about commissions. Tell you lies to force you into having daily activity that looks good but doesn’t equate to actual sales. They spoon feed individuals they like, and call it a sale. Please do yourself a favor and never work for centurylink small business. If your already a business customer you know the inner workings of the worst customer service experience you ever experienced.... Never worked for a company wher 7/10 current customers hate the sales and service experience and regret signing the contract or they were the only service in the area.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There was one manager that actually knew what he was doing and he finally got the right idea and left the small business department. I would give this place a negative 1000/1000. I wouldn’t waste my energy of the likes of the management team. I’m doing this so people don’t make the mistake for working for the worst company in the space of technology.

    CenturyLink2019-04-08
  5. Helpful (11)

    "Company Gone Off the Rails. Unsalvageable with Current Executives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Working from home for some groups.

    Cons

    After working nearly 6 years for Centurylink I can say it is in steep decline. -Each process is a comedy of errors, extremely contradictory, doesn't work, is poorly executed, has no training included when rolled out, and not even a semblance of accountability when things go wrong. -The CEO and the VP's of the sales organization do not know what they are doing and are not showing any interest in improving the... motivation, energy, and roadblocks to sales success. There is an extreme air of arrogance that taints them, and it shows with the stock reaching the lowest level in 25 years and most of the top sales talent has fled the company! -Many critically important systems are continually made worse by some random department that is trying to justify their job. They try to replace something that is working perfectly fine. If it's not broke, don't fix it! -Compensation is a complete and utter disaster. As a high performing sales rep each year I deserve to get paid what i'm worth. The current CEO and leadership does not believe in compensating you a fair salary or commission, thus it's a disaster. The compensation plan has taken a major and game changing turn for the worse in 2019, but in 2018 it was far worse than previous years as well. **Additionally** There is constant and big mistakes made on commissions where they do not pay you for the sale you made because the bad sales reporting systems do not pick up the sale, thus causing you to wait months longer to get paid what you earned and having to waste a lot of time and energy trying to correct the problem, since they will not proactively do it for you! -Note of extreme caution to any talented seller thinking about joining the company: I have far exceeded my quota each year I've been with Centurylink and they have not given me a salary raise in over two years and the CEO Jeff Storey announced himself that he doesn't believe in merit raises or even bonuses! how insulting is that? -Customer service is beyond horrendous--The customers do in fact have a right to complain, and it's far worse than even they think. I have constantly witnesses extremely incompetent service by project coordinators, customer service, billing departments, and other sales teams that dramatically undercut any claims this company has of excellence or values. Internal sales employees can't even get straight answers from order entry and install teams. It's a complete joke and it's baffling how this company is even in operation at this point.(seriously) -Management, whether intentionally or not, engages in gaslighting. There is constant twists and distortions in reality. We are told one thing and then within an hour the same thing is refuted or proven to be untrue by another manager or department, and are threatened if you don't follow a debunked policy or rule. -There is definite and noticeable change in energy in the last year that is pessimistic, negative, and de-motivational for the sales organization. Everyone knows it, but not one leader anywhere is doing anything to address it. Total abdication of leadership and responsibility. It's almost as if they're intentionally trying to get people to resign en-masse.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    The CEO, CFO, and most of the Level 3 sales VP's must resign. You are part of problem, and you must realize the majority of people at Centurylink do not like you and do not approve of you or the job you're doing. You can't destroy the compensation plan, install huge roadblocks to selling, ruin processes and expect self-respecting and successful sellers to want to continue to sell your product, as it becomes a... liability eventually to even do so

    Show More
    CenturyLink2019-03-24
  6. Helpful (1)

    "No wonder there is such a bad reputation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Order Resolution Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent benefits, You do learn a lot about the telecom industry

    Cons

    Lack of career development, lack of quality customer service, NO customer obsession,

    Advice to Management

    Instead of trying to find ways to keep customer's money, become customer obsessed.

    CenturyLink2019-01-29
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Las Vegas Operations Only"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Management in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Still have a paycheck. They still have some customers however COX is getting most of them back residential and business. A few good Supervisors and Field Techs are still there.

    Cons

    Poor management within residential and business operations. Reason they let most of their seasoned customer service professionals go during a the merger with Level 3. OUCH! Some walked out the door without notice same day. Most of the employees still there say it's worse than ever before. Promoting current Field Techs into OPS management that have no business managing people because they could never manage... their own workload and or provide customer service just arguing with their previous supervisor / manager Im going home you can't force me to work, no one is forcing you just need finish the task your currently working so the customer has service today, I feel sick Im going home Union Field Tech. Accountability for managers that do not meet their goals a complete joke within business operations just ask a few of their business customers getting slimmer by the day. The business sales team can never be trusted Lucky Dragon was a perfect example total sales masterminds that are incompetent and hostile. Even when you try to save them from themselves daily. Unifying Principles are a total joke in NEVADA, I cannot speak to other states.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    What is the status of PRISM TV or VOD ? Where is the FIBER going ? Is Managed Office still a complete drop ship disaster ? What's the business plan for 2019 and beyond ?

    CenturyLink2018-12-01
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Se. Relationship Managwr inside sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Relationship Manager in Apopka, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CenturyLink for more than a year

    Pros

    Great commission, and benefit package.

    Cons

    Training does not prepare you for the job and everyday duties. Managers are no help. No customer service you are required to take on roles that are not under your title.

    Advice to Management

    Get real trainers! Real hands on training.

    CenturyLink2018-11-06
  9. "Customer Sales and Servixe Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - CSSA in Boise, ID
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Waged and benefits are union negotiated, naturally pretty good.

    Cons

    Extremely Dale's heavy environment, with littlw emphasis on actual customer service. Stress runs high, due to the fact your job is forfeit should you not meet quotas.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the needs of the employees and the customers first. Do this and sales are likely to get better and easier.

    CenturyLink2018-09-17
  10. "Customer service representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time

    Pros

    Nice benefits. My supervisor was Great.

    Cons

    They started to focus too much on sales to a point that if you did not get the quota every month you would lose your job no matter how good you were at your job. Towards the end and why I left, I felt like a used car person not a customer service rep.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on customer service and not so much on upselling to make your customers happy and not have your employees worrying every month if they will have a job.

    CenturyLink2018-08-19
Found 73 reviews