CenturyLink "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

CenturyLink Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Nov 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.9
45%
Recommend to a Friend
48%
Approve of CEO
CenturyLink CEO Jeff Storey
Jeff Storey
389 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Also there is not much room for growth UNLESS you are close friends with upper management(in 121 reviews)

  • "Falling flat on basic customer service(in 73 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink

    Pros

    Benefits and pay and loved working with Co workers

    Cons

    Upper management needs to keep there promises. They need to learn to reconsideration of others

    Advice to Management

    Keep your promises

    CenturyLink2015-06-12
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Business is closing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Specialist in New Century, KS
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good hours and good benefits

    Cons

    Upper management doesn't care about the employees and doesn't respect loyalty

    Advice to Management

    listen to employee response

    CenturyLink2019-11-11
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Quality Telecom Services is not the end goal"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Good work life balance. Some very talented co-workers. Generous FTO

    Cons

    Disorganized and self-serving upper management. If you didn't intern at a silicon valley company or own an Apple Watch you won't get promoted (or hired). If you're over 40 you have a target on your back. Constant re-orgs under people who don't understand the business. Lack of direction and very very weak senior management.

    Advice to Management

    Strategy isn't a telecom product. Stop sitting around thinking big thoughts and actually hire people who understand how to get things done. Manic activity doesn't equal productivity. There's too much lipstick on this pig already. If upper management just wants a big payout, do what normal people do and go to Vegas.

    CenturyLink2019-11-13
  4. Helpful (4)

    "How about 1 word? HORRIBLE!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Broadband Technician in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay and if you know how to use your personal and vacation time, scheduling is very flexible.

    Cons

    Upper Management, First level Management Actually, the company as a whole is pretty crappy and want nothing more than to see you fail. It’s why they stack the deck against us and find every single excuse or reason to make life harder on us. Team? What team?! There is no team, just a bunch of crybabies. They preach about caring for the customer but all they really care about is their bottom line and shareholders. ... We are union, but the union really has no power. I would stay far away from this company, believe me, sometimes peace of mind is more valuable than a great paycheck.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Grow up! Stop trying to hold employees back. Stop stacking the deck against them. If you want good hard working people to represent CenturyLink the way you see fit, treat them respect and dignity in the process, don’t try to make life harder for them. We give you 8 hours 5 days a week out of our lives, the least you can give us is respect!

    CenturyLink2019-10-09
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Scrum Master"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Scrum Master in Monroe, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    FTO & Decent pay in MOnroe

    Cons

    Lack of Growth , Upper management does not recognize

    Advice to Management

    Recognize your employees

    CenturyLink2019-07-10
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Treated Employees like Rats"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Data Analyst in Denver, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Access to work from home remotely

    Cons

    Lack of access toward upper management Middle management gave poor reviews of employees to keep themselves in their position Lied about the length of the contract to full-time employment (was six ended up being a year)

    Advice to Management

    Respect your employees

    CenturyLink2019-08-13
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Look at the stock value for the past 8yearsd. Run away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Monroe, LA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great until mergers started to eat profits including L3.

    Cons

    "Upper management lost track of what was important; which was the it's employees and customer." They make 10b per year yet still lay off 5-10k each year at Thanksgiving and Christmas

    Advice to Management

    Fix your culture in senior management

    CenturyLink2019-06-26
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Big hot mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Executive in Albany, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at CenturyLink full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you are working in the former Level 3 areas it’s like you do not exist. There are no resources to help. No one cares to help they just pass the buck. So there are no pros

    Cons

    Benefits are lousy, there is no culture upper management says they are waiting to help , but when you ask they punt and tell you to sell more no one has got a commission check in the north east . Pay plan is not geared towards the sales rep.

    Advice to Management

    Go back to basics until you can merge the systems and stop making things so complicated. Hire a salesman in upper management not An accountant.

    CenturyLink2019-06-20
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Centurylink went downhill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Shift Supervisor in Piscataway, NJ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Large company with decent benefits. Many offices and divisions so you could move within the company if you found an opening in another group.

    Cons

    Upper management lost track of what was important; which was the customer. Bad decisions were pushed through with no input from the people that actually do the work. We were told how to do our jobs by people who did not know what our jobs were. Too many groups were not on the same page. Process and procedure became out of control and disorganized. This became a reflection on us and not the management that... implemented the changes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Talk to the techs that do the work. Listen to what they say and what they need to streamline process and procedures. They need an undercover CEO, just like the TV show.

    CenturyLink2019-04-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Worst management I have ever had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Care Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at CenturyLink full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    the people that work there are amazing

    Cons

    My immediate manager was more interested in having having a relationship with upper management and sales that she neglected our department. Managers I had before this were amazing! It was 1 bad seed that I only knew for a few months that makes me give the 1 star.

    Advice to Management

    Care about your immediate department. And when a new person becomes manager of a department, do not let them make changes without being there long enough to truly know the department. Listen to your direct reports instead of your coworkers.

    CenturyLink2019-06-06
Found 121 reviews