Cerner "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Cerner Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Nov 26, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
65%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Cerner CEO Brent Shafer
Brent Shafer
518 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "New hire friendly"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Engineer in Kansas City, KS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Cerner full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Focused on the new hire experiencs. Healthly living focused, excellent benifits

    Cons

    Can be a hectic work life balance, but it gets better. Currently in a hiring freeze.

    Advice to Management

    Sorry None at this time

    Cerner2019-09-05
  2. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Software Engineer(Internship) 

    I worked at Cerner

    Pros

    Good work life balance and free housing

    Cons

    Not allowed to work over time

    Cerner2019-11-27
  3. "Good Place to start but needs improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Test Analyst 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Cerner full-time

    Pros

    Work life balance , Work with very talented people , Very good health benefits, PTO and Vacation

    Cons

    Pay is very low when compared to market , no bonus and very little salary rise

    Cerner2019-11-02
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to start the career in IT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Cerner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good range of technologies to get your hands dirty if you are in the software field. Good work life balance and some great people in there. Hardly had to work overtime possibly because my team was spot on when it comes to planning ahead. I do miss them.

    Cons

    Why would you pay a new hire with less experience than your current employees almost 25% more? Does not make sense at all. From the conversations I had with upper level, it seems they don't really care to retain the employees. Would rather hire someone by paying 20-30% more rather than giving a decent hike and encourage to stay.

    Advice to Management

    Like i said in cons, one thing I never understood is why pay new hires with 1-2 years of experience almost 30% more than current employee with 3-5 years experience?

    Cerner2019-10-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Place to start, but don't stay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cerner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    -Onsite clinic -Work you do helps real people's life -Lots of opportunities in different areas

    Cons

    -Poor corporate communication -Low pay compared to market -Company does not respect work/life balance

    Advice to Management

    Recognize that your workers are people and they have lives outside of work. There should not be a regular expectation of working after regular business hours Pay fairly - Many of your best people are taking opportunities elsewhere and they make a lot more money

    Cerner2019-10-22
  6. "Great Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Solutions Advisor 

    I have been working at Cerner full-time

    Pros

    Great team with applicable industry experience

    Cons

    Work Life Balance can get hectic

    Cerner2019-10-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great job to start"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Adoption Consultant in Kansas City, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Cerner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The benefits are great. This is a good company to get your foot in the door.

    Cons

    Raises are very small. Young workers, poor management. You will work long hours and the company is not very concerned with the reality of work-life balance.

    Advice to Management

    Vet those who you promote to management. Not everyone is a good manager and listen to associates when they express concern about wanting a new manager.

    Cerner2019-10-23
  8. "Engagement Controller"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Engagement Controller 

    I have been working at Cerner full-time

    Pros

    Great company for young associates looking to start their career.

    Cons

    work life balance / burnout

    Cerner2019-10-09
  9. "Decent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Integration Architect in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Cerner full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good culture A lot of freedom (little micro management)

    Cons

    Does not pay well, don't trust glass-door salary reviews for this position Work-Life balance is hit or miss

    Cerner2019-09-30
  10. "Good entry level opportunity in engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Associate Software Engineer in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends

    I have been working at Cerner full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good learning curve, modern tech stack, software's directly impact people's lives, Extremely knowledgeable colleagues, good work life balance

    Cons

    Compensation wise peanuts, not a lot of other benefits (bonus/stock options), healthcare benefits so so, poor 401(k) contribution

    Cerner2019-10-14
Found 578 reviews