Chadwick Martin Bailey Reviews | Glassdoor

Chadwick Martin Bailey Reviews

Updated November 17, 2016
16 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-time Part-time

3.7
Star Star Star Star Star
Rating Trends Rating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Chadwick Martin Bailey President Anne Bailey Berman
Anne Bailey Berman
9 Ratings

16 Employee Reviews

Sort: Popular Rating Date

  1. "Research company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Controller in Marlboro, MA
    Former Employee - Controller in Marlboro, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chadwick Martin Bailey (Less than a year)

    Pros

    great ownership and executive leadership with a solid business model that challenges the employees

    Cons

    the location is a challnege with a long commute into Boston is difficult. the company could use a broader range of product offerings

    Advice to Management

    CMB should strive to keep its unique work environment and broad customer base

    Chadwick Martin Bailey Response

    Dec 15, 2016 – Human Resources Generalist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback. We are so pleased that you had a positive experience while working here and that you hold high regard for our leadership and business model. We ... More


  2. "A great place to learn the business"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chadwick Martin Bailey full-time

    Pros

    Fantastic intellectual capital is very impressive.

    Cons

    Red tape. Can be difficult to progress within organization

    Advice to Management

    Loosen the red tape

    Chadwick Martin Bailey Response

    Dec 15, 2016 – Human Resources Generalist

    We are very appreciative of the feedback and your positive ratings. We are glad that you believe in our people and their intellect. We are proud of the people we have on board and the intelligence ... More


  3. "Great clients, but need to assess workload"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chadwick Martin Bailey full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Company has solid list of clients and I enjoyed the people I worked with

    Cons

    Pay could be improved, particularly for those promoted internally. There is limited growth opportunities past Project Manager or Data Manager. Drastic differences in expectations from directors/leadership makes it difficult to understand how to be successful in your role

    Chadwick Martin Bailey Response

    Dec 15, 2016 – Human Resources Generalist

    Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We very much appreciate your remarks and are glad that you enjoyed your time here and the people you worked with. The feedback I hear the most ... More


  4. Is this helpful? The community relies on everyone sharing – Add Anonymous Review


  5. "Researcher"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chadwick Martin Bailey full-time (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Extremely smart employees, advocates employee growth, good clients, nice environment to work in

    Cons

    Not a perfect place for everyone. Hours can be long but there is flexibility.

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving ahead


  6. "Great place to learn"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at Chadwick Martin Bailey (More than a year)

    Pros

    Everyone here is very smart and your opinions will definitely be taken into consideration throughout all levels of the organization.

    Cons

    Sometimes can be a lot of work, but hard not to be in the industry. Sometimes you will have to work long hours or on weekends, but other times work load will be lighter.

    Chadwick Martin Bailey Response

    Mar 16, 2016 – Human Resources Generalist

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us. We are glad to hear that you feel heard and respected as we try hard to listen to our employees. We know it can be a lot of work sometimes but hope that ... More


  7. Helpful (2)

    "Great Experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sharon, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Sharon, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chadwick Martin Bailey (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Excellent place to get a start in the business. Thorough training in all aspects of market research and opportunities to work with smart and knowledgeable people. Some great opportunities to work with well-known leading brands. Very much a friendly and supportive atmosphere.

    Cons

    It's market research, which isn't the most dynamic of business roles. You spend a lot of time reviewing and proofing data. The lack of dynamism leads to conservative business approaches for individual and overall company growth. It's still a successful company but for many employees, the greater success comes from using what you learn at the next job.

    Advice to Management

    Provide a clear and compelling definition of "The CMB Way". How is it truly different from other companies and MR firms?


  8. "Top-notch company"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chadwick Martin Bailey full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    I love the environment. People are smart and truly care about the growth of associates at all levels. The culture is easy with a lot autonomy and opportunity given to those who can handle it. I can say this is one of the best places I've worked. Flexible work schedule which is a fabulous compromise with the variable demands from clients which must be met.

    Cons

    None that rise to the level of mentioning (e.g. I wish the bathrooms were cleaner and the elevator less scary)

    Advice to Management

    None. Keep doing what you're doing.

    Chadwick Martin Bailey Response

    Mar 16, 2016 – Human Resources Generalist

    Thank you for your input here. Glad to hear you love the environment and the people. The people and the culture are what we hear over and over again as the best parts of working here which we are ... More


  9. "Great work experience"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Market Research Project Consultant
    Former Employee - Market Research Project Consultant
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chadwick Martin Bailey full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    A collaborative environment with very smart people and top notch clients. The great majority of employees have a passion for their jobs which makes the work more rewarding and fun to be involved with.

    Cons

    The management structure is cumbersome and at times there's a layer of administration that seems to have no clear function/connection to revenue. There are also high levels of systematization for what seem like they should be simple tasks.

    Chadwick Martin Bailey Response

    Feb 24, 2015 – Human Resources Generalist

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and feedback with us. We're glad that our passion for the work shines through and was something you took away after so long with us. I ... More


  10. Helpful (1)

    "While the type of work & clients can be pivotal to career growth, there's a lot left to be desired."

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chadwick Martin Bailey full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    - CMB provides decent avenues for career growth/development from their "CMBUs" which are presentations by colleagues across the market research subject matter spectrum, to sponsoring conferences, seminars or training for everyone from the entry-level associates to PM's & upper management
    - Their client list is fairly solid across industries such as Tech, Finance & Media/Entertainment, giving project level staff a good experience on complex, interesting projects that have a direct impacts on the client's business decisions
    - Their on-boarding process for entry-level employees sets a good foundation given most don't come from an MR background, training them up on all the tools and basic MR essentials
    - The people are usually good to get along with and CMB definitely reaches out to get new employees involved in community outreach, company events & sponsoring team sports outside of the workplace
    - Compensation & benefits are on par with most smaller MR/Professional Services firms, so as long as you go in with realistic expectations you'll be fine
    - One of the better highlights as of recent has been their focus on bolstering their analytic capabilities through training and talent acquisition as well as streamlining processes/tech

    Cons

    - As with most MR firms, you're at the whim of the end client and the swings of business depending on industry and it's not uncommon to work longer or varied hours depending on the project; if you feel pressured it's always good to let your manager know
    - CMB tends to be more of a wait and see company, which can be either shrewd or naive depending on what competition is doing for which they need to do a better job at understanding (example: a new product concept was being developed and the people behind it had no idea other such similar concepts existed); albeit this is something they seem to be addressing
    - Operations wise, there seems to be a disconnect at times on what the role of senior consultants & others actually serve: whether it is around business development and high level client relationships or working more with the project teams on specific projects, as this can cause confusion and inefficiency
    - One of the larger issues that they seem and has been resonated by another reviewer is the internal environment including relationships between the project support level and upper management level, which seems be caused by longer tenured upper management seeing certain work beneath them even when resources are tight and a closed feedback loop relationship compared to the symbiotic relationship between project level staff

    Advice to Management

    - Continue to invest in people and technology, due diligence on competitive intel
    - Have senior consultants focus more on business development, high level client relationships/issues, white papers & product development so that PMs and Associates can have more ownership over the project
    - Proactively address and build on the internal relationships between the various groups by having town-hall like meetings in a space where everyone has a voice, or at the least have meetings specifically between Associates/PMs with upper management to discuss their concerns to ensure a better feedback loop
    - Continue to and possibly do more to allow direct involvement of Associates & PMs in product development and innovation

    Chadwick Martin Bailey Response

    Feb 24, 2015 – Human Resources Generalist

    We very much appreciate the time you've taken to share your feedback with us regarding your experiences here at CMB. I'm glad to hear that many of the things we hold in high regard (training and ... More


  11. "Challanging, a little bit quirky, and wicked smart collegues and clients"

    Star Star Star Star Star
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chadwick Martin Bailey full-time

    Pros

    CMB's commitment to employee development and growth is genuine - the company strives to find win-win opportunities that leverage employee strengths. For people looking to be challenged for their own personal and professional growth, this is a supportive environment in which those goals can be achieved.

    There's a great culture of collaboration and comradery among colleagues which is established not just by working together, but also have fun together during the annual summer and holiday parties; after-work Fun Fridays; kickball games; volunteer activities and charitable events; etc.

    Cons

    Not a con for everyone, but it is a fast-paced environment and requires the ability to manage competing priorities really, really well. Additionally, like many professional services firms, the work can come in waves, so it’s not for people whose strong preference a strict 9-to-5 schedule.

    Advice to Management

    CMB is on the right track; let's keep the positive momentum up!

    Chadwick Martin Bailey Response

    Feb 24, 2015 – Human Resources Generalist

    Thank you for your very fair evaluation. I'm glad that our dedication to employee professional development is realized by our employees. We really do believe in developing our employees skills for ... More



Showing 16 of 16 reviews
Reset Filters