Challenger School Reviews | Glassdoor

Challenger School Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.8
28%
Recommend to a Friend
43%
Approve of CEO
Challenger School President and CEO Hugh Gourgeon  (no image)
Hugh Gourgeon
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I worked there for 4 1/2 years and was never really thanked for my hard work(in 5 reviews)

  • "Highly unqualified directors and headmasters(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "challenger"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Teacher 

    I have been working at Challenger School full-time

    Pros

    challenger has a positive environment

    Cons

    I have not experienced any cons yet.

    Challenger School2019-08-13
  2. "Good but hard place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at Challenger School part-time

    Pros

    Curriculum and coursework is amazing

    Cons

    Teachers are really stressed out

    Challenger School2019-12-06
  3. "Stressful and full of favoratism"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Preschool Teacher in Farmington, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Challenger School full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work can be fun since you get to work with cute little ones!

    Cons

    High stress levels, not enough or any work time for planning, many teachers if not all plan at home, their lunch hour or skip planning and just improv all together! The best way to survive is having plenty, I mean plenty, of previous experience!!!!

    Continue reading
    Challenger School2019-11-19
  4. "Not that great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 

    I worked at Challenger School full-time

    Pros

    Free childcare... thats it (I don’t have a kid)

    Cons

    Management, coworkers, pay, culture (or lack there of)

    Challenger School2019-08-13
  5. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Challenger School full-time

    Pros

    Lots of development for staff members

    Cons

    Long hours for students and staff

    Challenger School2019-07-18
  6. "Not the worst not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Challenger School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hours Tuition discount Curriculum Coworkers

    Cons

    Management Curriculum Lack of substitutes Benefits

    Challenger School2019-06-28
  7. "Hard work but great students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Secondary School 

    I worked at Challenger School full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Amazing kids to work with

    Cons

    Lack of technology makes it hard to teach real world issues

    Challenger School2019-05-22
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Straightforward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Challenger School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent communication of expectations and curriculum is already developed so lesson planning is easy. Your personal life can remain separate from your professional life since all parent interactions need to go through the office- parents don’t have direct access to your phone number.

    Cons

    Considering they charge so much for tuition, they pay their teachers chump change. Parents can be very demanding of their child needing to get straight As which can create some tension.

    Continue reading
    Challenger School2019-05-08
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Preschool Teacher in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Challenger School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for an intern ($14.50/hour) Co-workers are friendly and helpful

    Cons

    I started out as an intern and eventually took over a preschool class at another campus after another teacher had to quit. My experience as an intern was awful. I got little to no feedback and the feedback I did receive was always negative and had nothing to do with my actual teaching. Once I was able to get my own class, I assumed I would be promoted to a preschool teacher’s pay. However, they never changed my title and therefore continued to pay me as an intern even though I was responsible for everything a normal teacher does. I was told that I had “potential” but my pay was never increased to match my job duties. Because of this, I felt taken advantage of. They are extremely weird about you taking time off. Whenever I requested time off, I had to remind my manager about it several times in the preceding days and weeks, and even then they sometimes wouldn’t approve it. They don’t have a sub system in place, so anytime a teacher is gone they scramble to find an intern to fill in. The benefits are extremely expensive. Medical and dental coverage for my husband and I cost over $600/month. At $14.50/hour, benefits took about half my paycheck! They give you basically no prep time. All of my prep time was done in the dark during the kids’ nap time (which they gradually decrease, so as the year goes on you get even less prep time), where I was interrupted every 5 seconds by kids who weren’t asleep. At staff meetings we were repeatedly told that we were not supposed to prep in the morning, during recess, etc. but were never offered any other prep time besides during their nap (which was extremely unproductive, as I described above). It just didn’t make any sense. A lot of teachers would come in early and/or take work home, which I refused to do on principle. If you’re paying me by the hour I will work the hours I’m being paid - no more, no less. Another thing is that the hours are extremely long, even for a teacher. They don’t pay for your lunch hour, so I was working from 8 to 5, M-F for 8 hours of pay. Overall, I would say to avoid Challenger if you can. Everything I learned or gained as a teacher, I did in spite of Challenger, not because of it.

    Continue reading
    Challenger School2019-04-30
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Outdated and awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Challenger School full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Easy to get hired. - Decent benefits.

    Cons

    - Huge teacher turnover rates. This is why they are constantly posting on job sites looking for new employees. They lose dozens of teachers every year and make no effort to retain them. - Big class sizes. 30 students crammed into a small room, just like a typical overrun public school. - Corporate does not care if you have valid concerns or feedback about anything. They will tell you to just leave if you’re “unhappy.” - Outdated curriculum and resources. No technology allowed, not even simple overhead projectors. - Curriculum focuses entirely on white men in history and white characters in literature, which is appalling considering over 90% of the student population in California Challenger campuses is non-white. Even for MLK Day, the curriculum includes nothing about him. Representation of diversity is desperately needed. - Policies, events, etc vary completely by campus. There is no uniformity and everything depends on who is running your campus at the time. - No fun allowed. You can’t decorate your classroom. You can’t hold spirit days, cultural days, or any other classroom events. There are no field trips. Anything that would actually be fun for the kids is not tolerated.

    Challenger School2019-03-07

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 104 reviews