Challenger School Reviews | Glassdoor

Challenger School Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 99 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Hugh Gourgeon
35 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I worked there for 4 1/2 years and was never really thanked for my hard work(in 5 reviews)

  • "Highly unqualified directors and headmasters(in 5 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Hard work but great students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher, Secondary School 

    I worked at Challenger School full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    Amazing kids to work with

    Cons

    Lack of technology makes it hard to teach real world issues

    Challenger School2019-05-22
  2. "Straightforward"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Challenger School full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Decent communication of expectations and curriculum is already developed so lesson planning is easy. Your personal life can remain separate from your professional life since all parent interactions need to go through the office- parents don’t have direct access to your phone number.

    Cons

    Considering they charge so much for tuition, they pay their teachers chump change. Parents can be very demanding of their child needing to get straight As which can create some tension.

    Advice to Management

    Avoid favoritism. Treat all employees fairly.

    Challenger School2019-05-08
  3. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Preschool Teacher in Lehi, UT
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Challenger School full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Decent pay for an intern ($14.50/hour) Co-workers are friendly and helpful

    Cons

    I started out as an intern and eventually took over a preschool class at another campus after another teacher had to quit. My experience as an intern was awful. I got little to no feedback and the feedback I did receive was always negative and had nothing to do with my actual teaching. Once I was able to get my own class, I assumed I would be promoted to a preschool teacher’s pay. However, they never changed my title...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You need to seriously rethink how your treat your teachers.

    Challenger School2019-04-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Outdated and awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Teacher in San Jose, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Challenger School full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    - Easy to get hired. - Decent benefits.

    Cons

    - Huge teacher turnover rates. This is why they are constantly posting on job sites looking for new employees. They lose dozens of teachers every year and make no effort to retain them. - Big class sizes. 30 students crammed into a small room, just like a typical overrun public school. - Corporate does not care if you have valid concerns or feedback about anything. They will tell you to just leave if you’re “unhappy.”...

    Show More
    Challenger School2019-03-07
  5. "Good first time teaching job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - 4th Grade Teacher 

    I have been working at Challenger School full-time for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Good hours Many locations Benefits are solid

    Cons

    Upper management not transparent

    Challenger School2019-01-17
  6. "Extended Care Teacher"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Challenger School full-time

    Pros

    Very good environment to work with.

    Cons

    The only cons is that you have shift duty and you have nothing to do in between the shifts.

    Advice to Management

    You are doing Awesome Job :)

    Challenger School2018-11-10
  7. "Unique"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at Challenger School full-time

      Pros

      Pay, for little experience Clean Quality facilities

      Cons

      Micromanaging Expensive health care Time intensive Experience dependent on director

      Challenger School2018-10-21
    • "Challenger"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

        I have been working at Challenger School full-time

        Pros

        Good curriculum, lots of locations, good kids

        Cons

        Antiquated and inefficient systems, long hours

        Challenger School2018-09-24
      • Helpful (2)

        "Help the Teachers"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at Challenger School full-time

          Pros

          Children can attend for free if a teacher

          Cons

          Who wants to start from scratch to write every lesson plan, quiz, test and two musical programs a year for slave wages?

          Challenger School2018-08-17
        • "Current Employee"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at Challenger School full-time

          Pros

          Great company with an exceptional product. Management recognizes and rewards employees who do an outstanding job. Exceptional curriculum, management, and co-teachers make for a wonderful environment for employees, parents, and students!

          Cons

          The workload can be substantial for newer teachers.

          Challenger School2018-07-31
        Found 99 reviews