Chamberlain Group Reviews

Updated Jul 30, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
72%
Recommend to a Friend
75%
Approve of CEO
Chamberlain Group CEO JoAnna Sohovich  (no image)
JoAnna Sohovich
51 Ratings
Pros
  • "Pros include compensation and benefits, a nice facility, and some great people(in 11 reviews)

  • "In some areas, very good work life balance(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "There was absolutely no work life balance in the finance department at CGI(in 7 reviews)

  • "looking for full time employment -- I have no Cons for this company(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Planning in Oak Brook, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    First let me say that people make work great and Chamberlain really has some bright folks working there who have made my transition super easy and helped me learn so much in an incredibly short period of time. I would say the tools we have to use are top notch, company support in terms of benefits and work life balance is great and management really does a great job at providing us with the resources to succeed.

    Cons

    Nothing yet although we should probably be thinking about a formal work from home policy.

    Continue reading

    Chamberlain Group Response

    July 13, 2020CGI ONETEAM

    We are glad to have you on our team. As you point out, the culture we are building is made possible with great people that share your energy. We will do our part to continue to provide you with the resources needed to keep solving problems and driving innovation. Thanks for your review. —CGI ONETEAM

  2. COVID-19
    Helpful (1)

    "The BEST mix of strategy & culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Oak Brook, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Chamberlain has an impressive forward-looking strategy and is well into a solid technology transformation and cultural transformation. Even better: In the midst of COVID-19, the CEO & Owner just committed to no layoffs, full salary for all employees for the next 3 months, and an additional 3 months for non-exempt & hourly workers (total 6 months). This is unprecedented and demonstrates a huge commitment to the employees and to the strategy.

    Cons

    Hard to see some employees still complain, no matter how good things are, but that is starting to dwindle.

    Continue reading

    Chamberlain Group Response

    July 13, 2020CGI ONETEAM

    This is great to hear! We are so happy you are feeling the commitment to what we are building. Even as we encountered the unprecedented public health crisis, CGI leadership continues to lead the company in safe and innovative ways. The whole team has done a terrific job maneuvering the challenges of the pandemic. Thank you for the review. —CGI ONETEAM


  3. Helpful (2)

    "Great People, no time to talk to them"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chamberlain Group full-time

    Pros

    Pros include compensation and benefits, a nice facility, and some great people.

    Cons

    There was absolutely no work life balance in the finance department at CGI. Employees didnt feel comfortable discussing this issue with management because management was in the same boat. Multiple late nights, all nighters, 3 or 4 times a week were the norm for everyone in the department. No regard for activities outside of work. Coworkers were great down to earth people, but really no time to interact with them.

    Continue reading

    Chamberlain Group Response

    August 3, 2020CGI ONETEAM

    We appreciate your feedback. In the last few months, the finance team has put in long hours for the organization and we appreciate their dedication to the business; however, we certainly do not expect it to be the normal way of doing business. We will share this review with the team to facilitate a discussion about approaches for a healthy work/life balance for the team, especially considering the current business environment as a result of COVID. Prior to COVID, to allow our hard-working employees the opportunity to relax and socialize, the company organized multiple events to interact with staff at social events, volunteer outings and activities, like the family picnic. Given our social distancing protocols, we will continue to look for creative ways to connect and engage with our team virtually. —CGI ONETEAM

  4. "Overall a good organization"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Director 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chamberlain Group full-time

    Pros

    Brings innovation to traditional product lines. Industry leader.

    Cons

    CYA happened often as high as the vice president level, teams can be clicky

    Chamberlain Group Response

    July 22, 2020CGI ONETEAM

    Thanks for your review. Innovation is in our DNA, and our myQ technology is bringing access to life through new products and solutions that connect people, places and events. CYA is not a welcomed practice. Rather we aim for delivering results and owning our actions. Teams spend a lot of time working with one another and form close bonds. Throughout the year, there are opportunities to interact with other staff at social events, volunteer outings and activities like the Global Walking Challenge. —CGI ONETEAM

  5. Helpful (4)

    "Terrible Culture"

    1.0
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Sales in Oak Brook, IL
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Chamberlain Group full-time

    Pros

    I was lucky enough to meet some amazing mentors and coworkers during my time at CGI and whom I still talk to on a weekly basis. There are several fundraising events/happy hours that I enjoyed

    Cons

    It is my impression that I was never valued as a coworker/teammate, but as the "token female" working in a frat house environment. There were several instances in which women were spoken to/about in a demeaning manner, to the point where I had to excuse myself from the situation to gather my thoughts. I pride myself on being "thick skinned" and have never experienced sexism prior to working for this company. I understood that I would be working in a commercial and male dominated industry, but was dismayed in the complete lack of professionalism and common courtesy displayed by superiors and coworkers alike. I found myself embarrassed to act in my typical feminine way as apparently it gave off the impression of "playing dumb" in the always kind words of a male coworker. This coworker refused to learn the names of customer service reps (with whom we talked to on a daily, if not hourly) basis, belittled other departments while blatantly ignoring work responsibilities, but received constant praise from superiors for this behavior. I almost quit my first MONTH working for the company after several sexist and downright inappropriate (being disgustingly sexual) comments were made about both my appearance and my ability to do my job during a sales conference from superiors I was meeting for the first time. The comments made to me were so demeaning that I left the room and went into the nearby restroom with tears in my eyes. During my final few months with the company, I found my mental health rapidly decreasing to the point where my friends and family suggested I needed to find another place to work. I brushed this suggestion off, as I was convinced I was just "new and not used to my job yet." However after being constantly bullied/publicly humiliated by a certain male coworker and a few female superiors, I began taking my lunches alone to apply for new jobs. Even the thought of working here gives me anxiety. Downtown, employees start drinking early in the afternoon. No surprise there, as they're severely underpaid and aren't provided with clear directives or goals anyways. Those who choose not to partake are shamed and not seen as part of an exclusive clique. In the corporate office, happy hours are few and far between. No communication between teams. Higher-ups make decisions with no consideration of how their changes will affect other departments. Poorly executed/no training. New employees are given incomplete or non-existent training material with no direction and somehow expected to know product through and through within a few weeks with no prior experience in the field. There are no bonuses with the company, and promotions are rare and seemingly based on politics/tenure alone. I wish I was an older male with years of experience in a commercial industry and a severe superiority complex, else I would have enjoyed my time here! Sadly, I am not... so I have to give CGI one star.

    Continue reading

    Chamberlain Group Response

    July 29, 2020CGI ONETEAM

    We are very sorry to hear about your experience. Your post includes alarming assertions that are not aligned with our value system or CGI’s culture. We value all the members of our ONETEAM and are dedicated to cultivating a collaborative, diverse and inclusive environment, and we do not tolerate any form of discrimination or harassment. If an employee encounters the behaviors you outline in your post, we ask that HR is made aware of the situation immediately so that they are able to thoroughly investigate the matter and intervene as required. We encourage you to share any further specific information with one of our HRBP team members or on our anonymous hotline at 866-955-3824. HR monitors the line and when given enough specific information will investigate any claims of impropriety. The claims you make are extremely concerning and are not acceptable at CGI. —CGI ONETEAM

  6. Helpful (5)

    "The Perfect Clash of Old School vs New School"

    1.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain Group full-time

    Pros

    Ownership genuinely cares for its employees.

    Cons

    We've seen this before: Former CEO came in with all of the right ideas and personnel but the old guard of lifers refused to budge making it difficult to press forward. This time is different. Current CEO has overlooked the cash cow that is the LiftMaster brand and trying to turn company into a tech platform. In both situations, the story remains the same. Engineering and Sales wield too much power. Marketing is non-existent.

    Continue reading

    Chamberlain Group Response

    July 13, 2020CGI ONETEAM

    Thanks for your review. We are undergoing a business transformation, part of which was born out of advances in our myQ smart technology. However, the transformation is not possible without our trusted LiftMaster and Chamberlain brands. Our smart access technology empowers our customers by connecting them to their homes and businesses via internet-enabled garage door openers, commercial door operators, gate operators and now also smart cameras and locks. Our company’s greatest resource is our people; part of our transformation includes continually improving our culture. We focus on our values and behaviors—acting as ONETEAM instead of siloed functions. It would be great to hear what good ideas you think have not been implemented effectively. —CGI ONETEAM

  7. Helpful (8)

    "(MyQ) Incompetent, Arrogant, and Unprofessional"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sr Specialist, Site Reliability Engineer in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some of the consultants are professional

    Cons

    - Lack of empathy for those with disabilities and those that are minorities or women - Constantly is firing management and moving engineers between roles to cover up not meeting business requirements - There is a boys club of management that begins drinking at 1pm every day and unless you're apart of their group you are penalized for not being apart of the team - The company offers no benefits or travel compensation. If you work downtown then you will be required to travel to the suburbs on your own dime for required corporate events - There are no bonuses, and the salaries are below market value - There are constant projects that are abandoned - A lack of vision and strategic business decisions - All of management have tenure, and are 45+ year old men - Those new on the team are hazed with alcohol constantly It's absolutely a mess. stay away.

    Continue reading

    Chamberlain Group Response

    July 13, 2020CGI ONETEAM

    Thank you for submitting a review. We are sorry to hear that you feel this way, and we conducted an investigation into this matter. If you’d like to share any further specific information, please contact our anonymous hotline at 866-955-3824. The company employs people of all ages, genders, race and abilities and does not tolerate any form of discrimination. CGI values all members of our ONETEAM and is dedicated to cultivating a diverse and inclusive environment. Being part of our team means being accountable for your actions and holding others accountable in order to create a collaborative workplace. —CGI ONETEAM

  8. Helpful (6)

    "Worst place to work specially if you are not “Yes Sir” kind of person"

    1.0
     

    I worked at Chamberlain Group

    Pros

    1. New CEO trying to change 2. Nice 401K

    Cons

    1. MyQ IT leadership has no technical knowledge to Make any right decision 2. Outsourcing partner has no value 3. Team takes decision based on personal preferences 4. Race and gender biased

    Continue reading

    Chamberlain Group Response

    July 13, 2020CGI ONETEAM

    We appreciate your review. As you mention, our CEO JoAnna is making a lot of positive changes for the company, including continuing to deliver innovative new applications of myQ technology for our customers. We value all members of our ONETEAM and are dedicated to cultivating a collaborative, diverse and inclusive environment and we do not tolerate any form of discrimination. —CGI ONETEAM

  9. "Great company, lots of managers"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sourcing 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chamberlain Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fantastic CEO. Beautiful facility, strong collaboration, inclusion and communication from the top regarding company goals, good benefits, on-site gym and cafeteria, occasional work from home, employee appreciation events and free tickets to Arlington Park. Chamberlain provides many opportunities for professional development.

    Cons

    Too many levels of middle/lower management. No bonuses for non-managers Takes too a long to become vested.

    Continue reading

    Chamberlain Group Response

    July 13, 2020CGI ONETEAM

    We’re glad your CGI experience was positive. JoAnna is a great CEO and leader, and her efforts as Chief Culture Officer resonate with your comments. You may be pleased to know we recently instituted a new Job Architecture program to create more clarity around job profiles and leveling. Thank you for taking the time to submit this thoughtful review. —CGI ONETEAM

  10. Helpful (2)

    "Was a good company..."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Oak Brook, IL
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chamberlain Group

    Pros

    Unlimited sick days, 401k match

    Cons

    PMO office needs a revamp, Engineers are the ones making and following the schedule along with going outside of their role to ensure project timelines are met. PM’s just watch the show. Engineers are expected to work long hours to make the project happen, that is ok every once in a while but is more of a norm. Very little positive recognition by functional management and director level management after working your tail off.

    Continue reading

    Chamberlain Group Response

    July 13, 2020CGI ONETEAM

    Collaboration and teamwork are an important part of our culture, and we want it to be equitable so that everyone is actively contributing to achieve goals. To facilitate more teamwork, CGI’s headquarters was uniquely designed for better collaboration and business performance. We appreciate your constructive criticism and will bring it to the attention of the Engineering and HR teams. —CGI ONETEAM

Found 163 reviews