Chamberlain University Admissions Advisor Reviews | Glassdoor

Chamberlain University Admissions Advisor Reviews

Updated Aug 9, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

Found 13 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
47%
Recommend to a Friend
Chamberlain University CEO Dr. Karen Cox (no image)
Dr. Karen Cox
0 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Advisor in Troy, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Coworkers, benefits, and family like environment

    Cons

    getting laid off was a bummer but it was a great time while it lasted.

    Chamberlain University2017-05-10
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Admissions Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Advisor in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chamberlain University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, able to work from home

    Cons

    You're essentially a telemarketer - you have to make a certain number of calls everyday and hit your goals in terms of how many students you need to start for each cycle. It's a really stressful, sales based toxic environment that can make you feel really hopeless. I was also there when they laid off half the department at DeVry and shut down the downtown office down and moved everyone to Addison.

    Advice to Management

    Properly advertise the job as SALES!

    Chamberlain University2018-08-09
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Disappointed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Advisor in Lombard, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are the only pros

    Cons

    Will not value you. Low paying.. No room for growth

    Advice to Management

    Support your employees

    Chamberlain University2018-05-21
  4. "Admissions Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Advisor in Naperville, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Acceptable pay, god benefits, great work environment

    Cons

    STRESS< STRESS< STRESS. You will never want to hear the words "week 8" again

    Chamberlain University2018-05-07
  5. Helpful (2)

    "You will alwayd feel disposable working herr"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Advisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chamberlain University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great people working on campus

    Cons

    For-profit college that is focused on expanding campus locations rather than the success of the existing campuses. They have even now gone as far as centralizing admissions for the ONSITE BSN. Prospective students want to see the campus and sit down with an advisor face to face to make sure they have a good understanding of what the school has to offer. There is also very limited growth potential and very minimal... raises. I was told I could be reviewed after 1 year in the role for a promotion. (I also had a form proviced to me upon hiring of the promotion tiers and the timeframe and requirements needed to achieve this) My review did not occur until almost 2 years in the position...after a year of me inquiring about it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Focus on the needs of each individual campus AND think of the needs of future and current students. Actually follow through with Chamberlain "care".

    Chamberlain University2017-05-07
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Pleased to be a Chamberlain Colleague"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admission Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can honestly say I am proud to work for Chamberlain. This organization focuses on the care of each colleague by constantly reinforcing it's core values. I have found a better work/life balance here than any previous job and work under great management at my campus. My direct leader has an open door policy that makes it easy to bring any concern forward and she constantly supports and encourages us in our jobs. ... There is also a dotted line that ensures that your concerns are carried to the correct individuals when they arise. This is a breath of fresh air compared to other work environments that I have been in over the years.

    Show More

    Cons

    I think with any company there is always an area that can be identified for improvement. I think as an admission advisor the biggest area for improvement would be consistency in expectations across each campus. I understand that this is difficult to monitor as there are different DAs at each location, but I do think that there could be some streamlining in this area. Overall, no major issues that would cause me... to question the integrity of the company or the organization itself.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep the commitment to the care model and you will keep happy employees who produce great quality work!

    Chamberlain University2015-08-28
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great at first but they loose site of you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Online Admissions Advisor in Addison, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Chamberlain University

    Pros

    Pay is good, and benifits day one. If you get on a good managers team you'll love it. The people you meet will be great friends. The nurses you enroll are fabulous and are really great to Work with.

    Cons

    There's too much favoritism among the establishment. If you don't drink the cool aid then they look at you as combative and not trying hard. They feed there favorites good leads to help with thier numbers. When you get your observation it's so hard to get a perfect score since it's a matter of each of the ADA'S opinion. Even when you do what they ask they will still find reason to dock you points. Its very hard to... get promoted to the next level of admission advisor role. be careful how you talk to certain adas, if they don't like you they'll do what they can to fire you.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Don't hire outside people as a manager that has no admission experience. You'll loose good employees that way.

    Chamberlain University2015-05-11
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Admissions Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Chamberlain University

    Pros

    Benefits, great management team, opportunity outside of a single department, flexible schedule enabled the ability to have active roll in family activities. Very caring group with genuine care for employees

    Cons

    Can burn out and seemingly monotonous days after a few years. Sometimes felt like high school with the cliques, created a interesting dynamic at times.

    Chamberlain University2015-01-26
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Very Honest Review from Admissions Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Advisor 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time

    Pros

    I am providing a very honest review here, as I have read previous reviews and don't think Chamberlain is completely an A+ company or place to work, but also don't think its a bottom of the barrel type of company or work environment. One of the biggest pro's about working at Chamberlain is although they are a for-profit education company, unlike their sister company Devry and other for-profit institutions, they are... legit. They are fully accredited and a do not have a bad reputation. Unlike most inside sales jobs, you will actually feel decent about selling the product here, as you are not selling worthless paper like Devry and most other for-profits. This is one sales job that will let you sleep at night peacefully with the peace of mind that you didn't work 9-5 selling snake oil. They also offer good pay and great benefits for an inside sales job. All the co-workers are friendly and unique people. You also get more freedom, as far as flexibility with your schedule, time off, etc than most other inside sales jobs. You will gain valuable experience on how to sell or perform inside sales, which would definitely come in handy if you want to continue to work in sales in the future. There are some opportunities still to get pay increases and get promoted if along with your performance you do the right things, which are discussed in the cons section below.

    Show More

    Cons

    Now, as there are pros, there are also a lot of negatives that come along with working at Chamberlain. I have been working here for a while and things are constantly changing. It seems like it is a very different company each year. Its a pain to constantly have to keep adjusting. I myself have done very well here, and although I am good at being an admissions advisor and have great skill, you still have to "play... the game" especially with management in this place. There isn't too much to the job because 80% of the leads belong in the dumpster, 15% are very good leads that will go to school even if they don't speak with an admissions advisor, and the other 5% are the ones on the fence and take good sales skills to convince to enroll at Chamberlain. This is what separates the good advisors from the average to bad ones. However, even if you are a top advisor in closing the 5% of the on the fence/below average leads if you don't engage in their politics, at the best case scenario you will just hold on to your job but never get a raise or get promoted, etc. This is very unfortunate, but it is just how the culture is here. Also, even though I am well liked and get a long with management, I must honestly say that management is pretty terrible. The place needs a 40-50% haircut at the management level. Everyone has them figured out, and you can tell what they are going to do or say before they even do it. Very easy to read. They also will do things that are very blatant, like giving someone that doesn't play the game all the crappy leads, or bad scores on their lead interviews or find little ways to constantly screw them over so they will get fired, etc, and even have the guts to try and cover it up. They must think that nobody knows or at least their good advisors don't know or care, but I got some news. Maybe we might not be as blatant as you, and even kiss a little bit of ass, but believe me we can read this place like a book and know what's going on, and do care about the treatment of our fellow advisors and friends, but obviously we don't want to end up like them or some of our other cubicle mates and continue to play our own game. Other than management or some of the work culture there aren't really other cons. However, this job isn't for someone that is seasoned good salesman, or doing well at their current inside sales job. Its an ideal job for fresh grads, and a good job for someone working inside sales that wants to move in to a different industry and/or get more money and better benefits.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    As I mentioned you need to do some trimming at the management level. Some are nice people and who I would consider friends, but honestly do not have management skills. Also, do a more complete unbiased analysis of your company's talent, instead of relying on management's word. You have some very skilled people that have gotten fired or are quitting, or looking elsewhere because they are very professional people... that don't engage in Management's political culture, but they are very skilled admissions advisors, and if given equal opportunity as the current top advisors that are well liked they can really do well for the company.

    Show More
    Chamberlain University2014-04-02
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Take advantage of them, don't let them take advantage of you"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Admissions Advisor in Addison, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Your co-workers for the most part are very nice and fun people to know and work with. Also, benefits, such as days off, 401K match, vacation time, etc is good. Lastly, you will get a guaranteed base salary.

    Cons

    Too many to list, but I have broken is down so a potential employee would know what to expect and how to behave to get the most of working there: First of all, it is an extremely political environment, where you don't want be the person that questions anything, and DONT EVER QUESTION any ADA or D.A. big no no. Instead, swallow your pride, and drink the "Kool-Aid." This will allow you to get promoted, get good... raises/reviews, and just be on managements good side, at the very least it will allow you to keep your job and be a lifer there even if you are the worst at your job. The "admissions advisor" role is a telemarketing/inside sales job that requires no skill to perform. They can basically put anyone in there and soon enough they will be able to perform the job. This is because the leads are given out by management, and there is no marketing or hunting that can be done on your part. You have to work with what management give you, and they give the good leads to, you guessed it... the Kool-Aid drinkers. There is a big discrepancy in leads. The good leads for the most part are the ones that call in or apply through the chamberlain website, or inquire through google, etc. After this, the other 98-99% of the leads are garbage that they waste there money on and are not interested, or even never inquired. Also, the D.A.'s and A.D.A's are very lazy and have the most "sit back, put your feet up" type of job. A lot of them would never make it even as admissions advisors today, but they were there when Chamberlain was just launching so basically got put into management by default or the newer ones by clout. I want go into more detail, but there are a couple of A.D.A.'s who if you get transferred to there team, it most likely means you will get fired. They are notorious for sending or trading people to these A.D.A.'s teams who they want to get rid off. It seems like they still keep them A.D.A's for that reason. Secondly, there is really no room for growth or to make any kind of big money. The for-profit education industry has been under the radar from the government for a while, and its continuing to be scrutinized. The fly by days for Chamberlain, Devry, and its counterparts are over. Don't expect anything but to keep your job and keep working there for few years and getting a 0-3% raise yearly. Management, will try to brainwash and dangle the carrot in front of you by telling you that you will get promoted and are on the fast track or in their special program to be in management. Don't believe the BS, use your own knowledge to realize and understand where the industry and company is headed, and that's in the dumps. Therefore, again just kiss ass and meet the required number to dials and talk hours you are suppose to get daily, and work there for a few years collecting a guaranteed base salary of about 40-45K and move on. You will look very good to your next company because more and more hiring managers from other companies are realizing that this is a pretty hardcore sales job when you take away the smoke & mirrors and the "front" that they put on, and for you to be working here 2+ years looks good to another company for their sales role, which you might be able to earn a lot and make a career out of. Finally, even if you are drinking the Kool-Aid realize at the end of the day you are still just another number just like the students. No loyalty at all. They will demote you without notice, or lay you off and/or fire you if you are making too much money and they need to cut salary. They will also treat you like a potential student and keep asking you questions about your motivation, goals etc. Just always say you want to be in management that's your goal. Bottom line use them more than they use you and you will get the most out of this place.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have a lot of good employees that are very intelligent, articulate and can improve your sales number and student satisfaction, as well, as improving the brand name overall. Use these peoples talent to the fullest extent. Don't play politics all the time, it will really burn you in the end. 90% of the people couldn't care about the Admissions Advisor role and are putting on a front for you. Instead, of firing... or laying off Admissions Advisor, get rid of the useless management personnel. At least you will save more on benefits and pay. They don't do a thing but make the job worse for everyone. You ever notice when they are on vacation for a couple of weeks that your production and numbers go up? Truly a waste of money and benefits.

    Show More
    Chamberlain University2014-02-27
Found 13 reviews