Chamberlain University Reviews | Glassdoor

Chamberlain University Reviews

Updated Sep 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 198 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Chamberlain University CEO Dr. Karen Cox (no image)
Dr. Karen Cox
7 Ratings
  1. "good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Adjunct Professor 

    I have been working at Chamberlain University part-time

    Pros

    Great friendly staff, and good work environment

    Cons

    None at the time to report.

    Chamberlain University2019-05-22
  2. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Professional Nursing Tutor in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chamberlain University full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Very organized operations and thorough

    Cons

    Political advancement, no merit system

    Advice to Management

    Poor management

    Chamberlain University2019-05-02
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Professor in Cleveland, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chamberlain University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good salary. Nothing else is good.

    Cons

    Poor management. Costly benefits. The students run the school.

    Chamberlain University2019-04-25

    Chamberlain University Response

    June 17, 2019

    We’re sorry to hear you had a negative experience working at Chamberlain. We’d like to hear more about how we could have improved your time at the University – can you email us with more information at social@chamberlain.edu?

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Faculty"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Chamberlain University

    Pros

    Not many layers and bosses

    Cons

    To many layers in company

    Advice to Management

    Eliminate directors

    Chamberlain University2019-04-15
  5. Helpful (3)

    "No future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Downers Grove, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Most teams offer flex work options and remote functions.

    Cons

    Pay is on bottom of average and there are practically no chances for advancement. The university is run by general thinking MBAs with no vision on how highest learning should function to benefit students and employees. If you just want a paycheck and no future or acknowledgement of your value, apply here

    Advice to Management

    Hire people with actual education backgrounds and don't function like a comcast call center.

    Chamberlain University2019-02-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Services Advisor 

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good team atmosphere, decent pay

    Cons

    Not a lot of room for growth, tedious work

    Chamberlain University2019-02-14
  7. "Online MSN-FNP program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student 

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time

    Pros

    Good content, easy online platform.

    Cons

    Very little time to absorb content, no part-time option for this program

    Chamberlain University2019-01-30
  8. "Awesome place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time

    Pros

    Local campus very attune to students needs and employee needs.

    Cons

    Corporate office employees are much more likely to get promotions.

    Advice to Management

    Look for talent through out your campuses

    Chamberlain University2018-12-27
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Nepotism At Its Finest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    If you know someone who works here you can get hired easy. Plus they get a bonus.

    Cons

    Low-quality staff is the result. Case in point is at our Phoenix campus where we have a new faculty that was hired a year ago but has yet to actually work a full session. Took 6 weeks off, came back for one week then took vacation for the rest of this year. Pretty good huh?

    Advice to Management

    Wake up and get rid of nepotism. Raise the standards so the students won't feel entitled to get an A because they 'paid alot' for tuition.

    Chamberlain University2018-12-11
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Run, don't walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time

    Pros

    great pay. decent health insurance, love interacting with the potential student.

    Cons

    The onboarding process was something I have never experienced in my life. Their HR is outsourced, and they require previous years tax returns, w2's or current paycheck stub to verify employment. In all my years of working, I have never had to submit these documents to be hired. This was my first warning to run. This company is hell-bent on metrics, reviewing your calls, emails and other communications to ensure... proper protocol is being used. Bombarded with tons of emails every day from the main office on Illinois. They actually believe that reading powerpoint presentations is the same as offering one on one job training.

    Show More
    Chamberlain University2018-12-09
Found 198 reviews