Chamberlain University Reviews | Glassdoor

Chamberlain University Reviews

Updated Sep 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 199 reviews

3.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
98%
Approve of CEO
Chamberlain University CEO Dr. Karen Cox (no image)
Dr. Karen Cox
7 Ratings
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Run, don't walk"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time

    Pros

    great pay. decent health insurance, love interacting with the potential student.

    Cons

    The onboarding process was something I have never experienced in my life. Their HR is outsourced, and they require previous years tax returns, w2's or current paycheck stub to verify employment. In all my years of working, I have never had to submit these documents to be hired. This was my first warning to run. This company is hell-bent on metrics, reviewing your calls, emails and other communications to ensure proper protocol is being used. Bombarded with tons of emails every day from the main office on Illinois. They actually believe that reading powerpoint presentations is the same as offering one on one job training.

    Chamberlain University2018-12-09
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Like a Family"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time

    Pros

    The environment is family oriented. Everyone is team oriented and student focused.

    Cons

    None at the moment. Overall a great company and i have been with them 7yrs

    Chamberlain University2018-11-19
  3. "Visiting Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Lombard, IL

    I worked at Chamberlain University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good reputation, comprehensive training decent salary

    Cons

    never scheduled me to work for months

    Continue reading
    Chamberlain University2018-11-17
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Leader in Midwest, WY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A culture that supports growth, respect, collaboration, positivism, and, caring. This culture is very deliberate and not like traditional nursing schools. Great work environment Strong leadership A focus on excellence Good benefits

    Cons

    Growth has required many changes. If you are resilient and can manage change, the university may work for you. If you don’t like change; consider another school. Not many cons

    Continue reading
    Chamberlain University2018-11-08
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Disappointing toxic environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Faculty in Jacksonville, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some students who graduate will make good nurses.

    Cons

    Favoritism is rampant. Bullying is rampant and even when reported to national HR and the ethics board, nothing has been done about it. Faculty are not supported when they try to hold students accountable. In fact, faculty are not supported at all.

    Continue reading
    Chamberlain University2018-10-17
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Admissions Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chamberlain University full-time

    Pros

    Benefits were great and they offered flexibility with schedule and working from home.

    Cons

    Due to the number of representatives promotions were competitive.

    Chamberlain University2018-10-04
  7. Helpful (5)

    "WOW!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Visiting Professor in Downers Grove, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Chamberlain University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid every two weeks and the checks didn't bounce

    Cons

    You are a grading machine, time consuming, and lets be clear you are not teaching. If you hold students to any kind of rigor they complain and will not stop until you give them an A. This is clearly a for profit operation people in leadership positions with make believe degrees evaluate you on how happy you make students and how high your grades are. Clearly most of the students could not get into real nursing programs and are gambling this degree will get them a job. Supervisor was a moron who knew very little about pedagogy. Only counted the number of times you wrote on the discussion board, not the content of what you wrote or your knowledge of the subject.

    Continue reading
    Chamberlain University2018-09-18
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Military Enrollment Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Military Enrollment Specialist in Lombard, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at Chamberlain University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working on a Military team that assists Military Veterans, Spouses of, and employees of the VA & DOD is an honor.

    Cons

    Management has come and gone in the last year or so as well as many very skilled and hard working Veterans of the team due to lack of communication within departments and culture change to that of a numbers based orientation.

    Continue reading
    Chamberlain University2018-08-15
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Professor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Chamberlain University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I'm thinking, but not coming up with anything. I guess it is a paycheck if that is the only thing you are looking for in a job.

    Cons

    Lots of micromanaging. You are really a robot to jump when they say jump and only ask if you jumped high enough (they will say no). They require that you send birthday emails to your students. Grading is very time intensive because of Canvas.

    Continue reading
    Chamberlain University2018-08-10
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Admissions Advisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Admissions Advisor in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chamberlain University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people, able to work from home

    Cons

    You're essentially a telemarketer - you have to make a certain number of calls everyday and hit your goals in terms of how many students you need to start for each cycle. It's a really stressful, sales based toxic environment that can make you feel really hopeless. I was also there when they laid off half the department at DeVry and shut down the downtown office down and moved everyone to Addison.

    Continue reading
    Chamberlain University2018-08-09
Found 199 reviews