Chanel Reviews

Updated May 5, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
75%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Chanel CEO  Alain Wertheimer
Alain Wertheimer
115 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Project Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chanel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Very Supportive and Open culture

    Cons

    Restrictive budgeting process can impact project effectiveness

    Chanel2019-07-26
  2. "Luxury retail"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Fashion Advisor in Costa Mesa, CA

    I have been working at Chanel full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced, great coworkers, competitive learning curve.

    Cons

    No room for growth, disconnect from Home Office in other state.

    Chanel2020-03-03
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Needs work"

    3.0
    Current Employee - Fashion Advisor 

    I have been working at Chanel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, loyal clients, nice discount

    Cons

    Horrible management. Constantly micro managed and being watched. Very competitive environment. Everyone talks bad about each other.

    Chanel2019-12-16
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Chaotic and under paid"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Chanel full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits Great perks Good people are staffed there

    Cons

    No one knows what they are doing. All management manages from a place of emotion which bleeds into the staff. Staff is undervalued monetarily. Full time staff is on public assistance while working at Chanel because the pay is so low. Several employees left because they were going to lose their homes if they stayed.

    Continue reading
    Chanel2019-12-05
  5. Helpful (4)

    "There is way too much favoritism."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chanel

    Pros

    The job itself was great. I was given an opportunity to use my strengths and showcase the type of work and organization that I’m great with.

    Cons

    If a coworker with more seniority doesn’t like you, you are ousted and treated like garbage. It’s sad because the job itself is great, but management allows way too much personal stuff to run rampant within its walls.

    Continue reading
    Chanel2019-11-15
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Industry Pinnacle for Fashion and Beauty professionals"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Chanel full-time

    Pros

    Chanel is highly professional and has a strong corporate culture

    Cons

    There is a lot of transition however the company is well managed

    Chanel2019-07-18
  7. "Former full-time employee"

    3.0
    Former Employee - Marketing 

    I worked at Chanel full-time

    Pros

    Great brand, great product, for the most part great people

    Cons

    Outdated processes and technology; management talks about change and challenging status quo but want soldiers to fall in line

    Chanel2019-08-05
  8. Helpful (10)

    "Hostile Work Environment & No Growth Opportunity"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Stock Coordinator in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chanel full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Discounts Reasonable hours for retail Resume booster

    Cons

    No transparency from corporate level Disrespect from boutique management Poor compensation Entitled employees Drama, drama, drama...

    Continue reading
    Chanel2019-06-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Love it!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Brand Ambassador in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chanel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very easy, fun and exciting!

    Cons

    Pay could be better, but it isn't awful.

    Chanel2019-05-08
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Make up artist/Sales"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Make-Up Artist in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chanel full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product and Luxury brand

    Cons

    Not a lot of support from Management

    Chanel2019-03-14
Found 370 reviews