Change.org "decision making" Reviews | Glassdoor

Change.org Employee Reviews about "decision making"

Updated Jan 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
75%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Change.org Founder and CEO Ben Rattray (no image)
Ben Rattray
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits like 18 weeks parental leave show a real commitment to work / life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "Everyone here is genuinely passionate about doing good and bringing positive social change into the world(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "decision making"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Working with smart people who genuinely care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Change.org full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    * Good career advancement and growth opportunities: From my experience and people around me, I found that generally if you seek for opportunities and challenges, you'll find them, AND you'll also have a support system to make sure you're set up for success in your challenge. * Supportive environment where I know my managers, teammates, work partners have my back * Mission of the company: I'm proud of what we do, and I'm happy the many hours in life I spend on my job is meaningful work that makes the world a better place. * Ever increasing diversity and inclusion efforts that started from a few passionate people and grew to whole-company-wide culture and projects with multiple leaders in the company pushing these efforts forward. * A leadership willing to listen and be transparent. I've been impressed with the depth of explanations and communications senior leaderships make on decision making and reality checks, as well as the amount of information my manager is willing to share with me.

    Show More

    Cons

    * Trust in leadership is hard to rebuild: Bad decisions that led to the 2016 layoff had caused distrust in leadership and fear in people. Even though it has improved through more transparency and feedback loops in the past 2.5 years, I still sense this distrust in leadership from people time to time. * Compensation package is not comparable to tech giants or well funded startups. * No 401k matching * Not working with the most cutting edge technologies. We continuously adopt new technologies, but we're not at the very forefront.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * Short revenue sprints and small iterative improvements bring huge results fast. However, building foundations, delivering value and delight to users, finding niche markets are what ultimately will lead to long term success for the product and the company. It's time to pivot before it's too late. * Share more about your short and long term vision past sustainability with the rest of the team.

    Change.org2019-01-02
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Meaningful strides towards a brighter future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Change.org full-time

    Pros

    Change is a fairly unique place. In addition to your traditional tech company organizational structure, it has country teams - on-the-ground forces in countries around the world that discover and amplify the voices of the citizens they work for. This means many of the people who work at Change want to genuinely make the world a better place for the people they serve. "Changing the world" is such a commonly abused expression in silicon valley that it's mostly lost its meaning, but I can guarantee you that is not the case here. We actively work to create the tools, communities and revenue support lines to enable our users to create the change they want to see. That doesn't mean it always works or that Change.org was the primary reason the change occurred, but it is a genuine focus of the company and it means that by and large the people you are surrounded with have hearts of gold. I work in PD (product development). Here are some of the things I love about working here: - Founded on strong values and team culture - We celebrate each other's successes - We celebrate the victories our platform contributes to in weekly team-wide calls - Out of a 1-10 on the "crazy mission-driven with blinders on" scale I'd put Change at a 3 (low + good); people have been here for years and know how hard it is to make a social change company really work - Change remains at the vanguard of offering incredible parental leave with 18 weeks paid time off, which you can take all at once or intersperse with working hours - As an engineer it wasn't always possible to truly take time off because the infrastructure was in a state of massive upgrade but that's all mostly settled thanks to our transition to AWS and in the process upgrades to server scaffolding, deployment, performance measurement, etc - Despite my years of experience in engineering, rarely a week has gone by where I haven't learned something new from other engineers - Very strong testing and code review culture - Polyglot shop where a native Android app and sophisticated JavaScript-powered website meets backend services written in Rails, Node, Go - Weekly optional engineering leads meeting discussing technical debt, process improvements, technical decision-making - Friday "demo" hour where anyone can get up and talk about a feature, refactor, tool, product idea, etc - Deployments anywhere from 2-5x a day - Willingness to listen to critical feedback and evolve the company for the better

    Show More

    Cons

    Like many companies finding their way, Change has jumped from one product strategy to the next in search of a revenue bellwether. Change does well but this is a business, and it needs to have a product that performs as well for its users as it does for its company. In that pursuit we have had missteps - ideas that at the time seemed great but in hindsight couldn't create the type of high value our users would benefit the most from. Fortunately that is changing where at least in PD we have stabilized on a process of 1) Analyzing our existing product "value gaps", 2) Bubbling up great ideas from anyone, 3) Regularly scheduled meetings to have those ideas legitimately critiqued, 4) Pursue those ideas wrapped in a solid experiment framework, 5) Feedback loop sessions to facilitate learning. This process isn't an accident; it is an intentional shift away from the top-down decision making of the past. In the last year that has resulted in big features like notifications, weekly campaign digests, campaign communities to shift the power to petition supporters, a subscription program; releases including a native Android app, a more robust email foundation, a foundation for country teams to create and distribute content to their users, and a robust infrastructure on AWS. In addition hundreds of other releases that make the entirety of the site experience an engaging one for our users. While these might seem like standard fare for any tech company, they are big achievements for a company that has in the past been largely focused on a "sign-and-exit" transactional experience. There is still a long way to go to honing in on a smooth flow from Idea -> Deliverable and reducing our technical debt (this company is 10 years old - there's a lot to pay down!). It also needs to ensure that management enables "ground forces" and becomes more inclusive.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on big projects that can deliver high value to users. Resist the urge to jump around from one idea to the next. Focus on educational/growth opportunities for staff to take on more responsibility. More than ever I think Change is in the right place culturally, technologically and strategically to continue making strides towards delivering high value to its users and the business. But management needs to stay diligent to ensure we don't fall back to old ways that didn't work for Change.

    Show More
    Change.org2016-12-31
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Unfulfilled potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Change.org full-time

    Pros

    The non-leadership employees are some of the brightest, most compassionate people I've known. If was truly enjoyable to work with the team to try to accomplish great things in social activism. People cared about the mission, and cared about working with each other. I'm not sure that's the case anymore, it's about survival now.

    Cons

    Leadership failed the company, and continues to do so. The earliest signs were centralized decision making paired with lack of long term strategy. Leadership didn't seem to trust the people they hired to do a good job, so projects were routed through "executive reviews", which were handled with the best of intentions but ultimately slowed everything down. Due to the lack of focus, there was a culture of frenetically shipping MVPs, then abandoning them to work on the next MVP, never sticking around long enough to improve an idea to the point where it achieved the original goal. The result was a fractured experience, with employees not feeling ownership in ideas that were twisted beyond recognition. I and many others with whom I spoke never quite felt supported by leadership. They were kind and passionate, to be sure, but they did not exemplify professional managers by any means. They did not know how to delegate real responsibility, how to nurture and advance employees in their careers, how to set a strategy and then move the company toward it. The layoffs were undoubtedly hard on them, and they tried to handle it as well as they could, but even in the messaging they were clunky and ill prepared. When combining the poor leadership with a lack of sound financial planning (more poor leadership), the company ultimately forced its own hand in August. After a round of layoffs in June, affecting the BD team (the primary source of revenue, with no replacement in sight), the company laid off about half of the product team, and many others across all functions, in order to survive. The remaining employees aren't feeling positive about the outlook from here, and I know many who are looking to move on.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    It's going to take a lot of hard work to turn the company around, and morale is shaken severely. If you can find a sustainable business model, and hire in a more conservative and diverse manner, maybe the company will survive. But you have to put your employees ahead of yourselves, and let them take ownership of the company. You are there to support them, not the other way around.

    Change.org2016-09-15
  4. Helpful (8)

    "Beware! E-team is toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Change.org for more than a year

    Pros

    The people who work here (except for the executive team) are really smart, enthusiastic and love what they do! I really enjoy interacting with people on a day-to-day basis. They have a passion to work for a social change company.

    Cons

    The biggest worry is the executive team. SO many problems I wonder where do I even start. The decisions are made behind closed doors without any data back up or consultation with the teams! The decision making process is so NOT transparent! They make it seem like its transparent but eventually we find out its not. For instance, the e-team were in a big lavish offsite 3-4 weeks before laying off the BD team and 2 months after that, they lay off the PD people. It felt like they gambled the money one night and hence they had to lay off people. Everything seemed so OK weeks before the layoff. There were NO signs of any trouble except "oh, we are 85% to our revenue goal this quarter, but lets focus on this important issue of this petition taking off in Russia!". And these kind of decisions coming from people who have sold their companies to big corporations is utterly ridiculous!.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't even know what to advise! You've created such a negative environment of non-trust and expect us to just move on!

    Change.org2016-09-26
  5. Helpful (11)

    "I wish they'd get out of their own way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Change.org full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Warm, passionate coworkers - Global company, great working with other cultures - Opportunities to take on new things

    Cons

    - Too many leaders that don't have enough outside experience - Centralized decision making for EVERYTHING, not nearly enough delegation - Tendency to make everything too complicated and unsustainable for a company so small - Forced fun... the culture is suffering because all the "fun" is forced by the leadership - Constantly overworked and under resourced

    Advice to Management

    Bring in experienced leaders and allow your teams to make decisions, even if it's not what you would have done. There's a solid chance they can do things better than you. And if not, learning from failure is so valuable.

    Change.org2016-01-20
  6. Helpful (7)

    "There's a great company buried in here!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Change.org full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great mission-driven company with lots of smart, driven frolleagues (friends and colleagues). They work on some incredible issues and create a better world for so many people! The community internally is unlike any other that I've experienced, with people opening their homes to new friends from all over the world as the norm, not the exception.

    Cons

    There's definitely a Boy's Club of insiders who all have seats at the table and the inside track to shaping the company. Full credit to some of the newer members of management who've tried to shake things up to find the gem of the company that's hidden inside of this lumbering hulk. The company is, or was, haphazard in its decision-making and hyper-organically driven to the point of sloppy work and similar mistakes made over time. Decimating layoffs due to mis-management and broken promises led to a dearth of morale while I was there - it seems like its cyclical and if I were going into it again, I'd have my eyes much more open than before.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Make the hard choices earlier. I appreciate the desire to please people and see the glass as half full as much as possible, but you've loaded down a slim, promising company with the weight of too many cooks. I know I mixed metaphors, but please consider valuing competency over youth and excitement!

    Change.org2015-03-17
  7. Helpful (14)

    "Dysfunctional Product and Engineering team."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Change.org full-time

    Pros

    Campaigners finds trending petitions to keep the company alive. Relaxed environment, performance reviews were not taken seriously. 5 weeks annual leaves. A sense of the site being useful sometimes.

    Cons

    Nepotism, ex-Zynga VP hired an entire team of "principal" ex-Zynga engineers in Canada in a remote office without technical interviews. More ex-Zynga engineering managers, product managers and QA were hired. The other half of the engineering team are juniors straight out of Hack Reactors, Hack Bright etc. Very top down decision making. Not listening to employees even thought there were plenty of feedbacks given.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on creating values for users instead of burning users to make money. Be real and trust data from experiments. Hire real engineers.

    Change.org2015-03-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Best people, great perspectives"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Brussels
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Change.org full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    * The amazing people. Incredible global team of smart and deeply committed people that want to help others change the world. I've worked in some good places, but nothing compared to this. * Brave and agile decision making. For the 6 years I have been here, this is still one of the things I appreciate the most: how fast we are able to adapt to a rapidly changing world, and how leadership is not afraid of taking hard decisions when needed, as painful as they might be, for the good of the organisation and its users. * New product development strategy and delivery. For some years our tech was quite stale. It has been amazing to see the turnaround in our product team in the past 18 months, with new tests and features and improvements for our users every single week. * A coherent business model, focused on user generated revenue, that pushes us to put user satisfaction and experience at the core of every decision, unlike the past.

    Show More

    Cons

    * Still struggling with diversity and inclusion. Not very different than other companies in the space. Diversity and inclusion are better than they were 2 years ago, but still not great. It's good to see the concrete plan and efforts put in the last 6 months to make this better. They have already led to many more women in leadership positions, and hopefully they will bring more results. * Timezones can be hard to manage. Depending on your role you might be working across many different timezones, so it takes some time to manage it well without working too many hours. The good thing is the flexibility they offer in terms of working hours.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    * Continue the track started 18 months ago: transparency, support of staff board, consultation with teams, ambitious goals and pushing for excellent delivery.

    Change.org2018-03-14
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work but can be even better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Victoria, BC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Change.org full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    A talented engineering group, lead by a technically strong yet very humble CTO, you wouldn't knew was a founding member if you meet him Great work\life balance 5 weeks vacation and 18 weeks parental leave Transparency

    Cons

    Centralized decision making, need to open up a bit Trying too hard to be fun place to work Compensation could be better No plan to go public

    Advice to Management

    Most people at the company are passionate about the version, and good idea can come from anyone, be more inclusive and get out leads meeting. It is already a great company to work for, do not try too be to be fun, it's bordering bring cheesy now

    Change.org2016-05-04
Found 9 reviews