Change.org "social change" Reviews | Glassdoor

Change.org Employee Reviews about "social change"

Updated Jan 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
75%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Change.org Founder and CEO Ben Rattray (no image)
Ben Rattray
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits like 18 weeks parental leave show a real commitment to work / life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "Everyone here is genuinely passionate about doing good and bringing positive social change into the world(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "social change"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (14)

    "Hard to imagine working somewhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Change.org full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's extremely refreshing to work somewhere with an engineering team that really cares about what they work on and the values of the company. Every Thursday on the Change.org all team call we hear from campaigners in countries around the world about the impact that Change.org petitions have had, and I always find it hard to imagine that there are any other tech companies out there where your work has such a broad impact. This focus on impact and social change has resulted in a team with a broad set of interests, which is great in itself, but also has many important secondary effects. Most people in the company have passions outside of work, and are supported by their coworkers and managers to pursue these interests, resulting in great work life balance. People work hard at Change.org not because their managers make them, but because they care about the mission and their team and want to see it succeed without compromising their personal time. Another secondary impact of this is that people value independent ideas and contributions that can help the company outside the scope of their day-to-day work. I've taken on lots of projects outside of my job description to improve the developer experience at the company, and not only have these projects been supported, they've led me to a role working more directly on the aspects of engineering that I really care about.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are many fundamental challenges to having a tech company that works on social change, which might just come down to the tension between capitalism and justice. It's an uphill battle to use technology to create social change, and we've often had to readjust our strategy due to changes in the market.

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting your employees' broad interests—it makes for a rich and delightful team that's great to work with.

    Change.org2019-01-22
  2. Helpful (10)

    "Great place to work with wonderful people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Change.org full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Everyone here is genuinely passionate about doing good and bringing positive social change into the world. * A distributed workforce with teams located around the globe, resulting in a diverse and multicultural company. * Friendly, caring, hardworking coworkers. * Skilled engineers. * Sincere commitment to diversity in recruiting. * Fairly flat, casual hierarchy. * Upper management and the C team encourage and take part in a culture of feedback. * Great work-life balance and flexible work opportunities. * Cute, sweet dogs in the office.

    Show More

    Cons

    * I had to leave Change.org for personal reasons. Otherwise, I have nothing but good feelings towards the company and wish them the best. I would enthusiastically recommend them to anyone who wants to work at a mission-driven company. * A senior-heavy engineering team makes it hard for less senior engineers to find significant projects to lead. * The company's laser focus on financial sustainability over the past year led to a lack of interesting projects, but management claims that the company's ambitions will expand as soon as it's sustainable. * 401k matching would have been nice.

    Show More
    Change.org2018-01-15
  3. Helpful (5)

    "Amazing team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends

    I worked at Change.org

    Pros

    A great place to work. People are cared for and really like working together. Benefits are great, with very generous paid leave. Team culture is strong. Very intelligent, kind, talented, motivated, passionate, fun people to work with. Making a big global impact for social change, and more than 150 million people are using Change.org to win tens of thousands of campaigns on issues they care about.

    Cons

    The company went through a rough patch recently while it started to shift revenue model. This meant people were laid off, but the strategic change is necessary and Change.org worked hard to make sure that the people affected were treated well (generous 3-month severance payouts, career transition counseling, training, network opportunities, job referrals, etc).

    Advice to Management

    Keep working on getting the revenue model right.

    Change.org2017-06-03
  4. Helpful (5)

    "Meaningful strides towards a brighter future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Change.org full-time

    Pros

    Change is a fairly unique place. In addition to your traditional tech company organizational structure, it has country teams - on-the-ground forces in countries around the world that discover and amplify the voices of the citizens they work for. This means many of the people who work at Change want to genuinely make the world a better place for the people they serve. "Changing the world" is such a commonly abused expression in silicon valley that it's mostly lost its meaning, but I can guarantee you that is not the case here. We actively work to create the tools, communities and revenue support lines to enable our users to create the change they want to see. That doesn't mean it always works or that Change.org was the primary reason the change occurred, but it is a genuine focus of the company and it means that by and large the people you are surrounded with have hearts of gold. I work in PD (product development). Here are some of the things I love about working here: - Founded on strong values and team culture - We celebrate each other's successes - We celebrate the victories our platform contributes to in weekly team-wide calls - Out of a 1-10 on the "crazy mission-driven with blinders on" scale I'd put Change at a 3 (low + good); people have been here for years and know how hard it is to make a social change company really work - Change remains at the vanguard of offering incredible parental leave with 18 weeks paid time off, which you can take all at once or intersperse with working hours - As an engineer it wasn't always possible to truly take time off because the infrastructure was in a state of massive upgrade but that's all mostly settled thanks to our transition to AWS and in the process upgrades to server scaffolding, deployment, performance measurement, etc - Despite my years of experience in engineering, rarely a week has gone by where I haven't learned something new from other engineers - Very strong testing and code review culture - Polyglot shop where a native Android app and sophisticated JavaScript-powered website meets backend services written in Rails, Node, Go - Weekly optional engineering leads meeting discussing technical debt, process improvements, technical decision-making - Friday "demo" hour where anyone can get up and talk about a feature, refactor, tool, product idea, etc - Deployments anywhere from 2-5x a day - Willingness to listen to critical feedback and evolve the company for the better

    Show More

    Cons

    Like many companies finding their way, Change has jumped from one product strategy to the next in search of a revenue bellwether. Change does well but this is a business, and it needs to have a product that performs as well for its users as it does for its company. In that pursuit we have had missteps - ideas that at the time seemed great but in hindsight couldn't create the type of high value our users would benefit the most from. Fortunately that is changing where at least in PD we have stabilized on a process of 1) Analyzing our existing product "value gaps", 2) Bubbling up great ideas from anyone, 3) Regularly scheduled meetings to have those ideas legitimately critiqued, 4) Pursue those ideas wrapped in a solid experiment framework, 5) Feedback loop sessions to facilitate learning. This process isn't an accident; it is an intentional shift away from the top-down decision making of the past. In the last year that has resulted in big features like notifications, weekly campaign digests, campaign communities to shift the power to petition supporters, a subscription program; releases including a native Android app, a more robust email foundation, a foundation for country teams to create and distribute content to their users, and a robust infrastructure on AWS. In addition hundreds of other releases that make the entirety of the site experience an engaging one for our users. While these might seem like standard fare for any tech company, they are big achievements for a company that has in the past been largely focused on a "sign-and-exit" transactional experience. There is still a long way to go to honing in on a smooth flow from Idea -> Deliverable and reducing our technical debt (this company is 10 years old - there's a lot to pay down!). It also needs to ensure that management enables "ground forces" and becomes more inclusive.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Continue to focus on big projects that can deliver high value to users. Resist the urge to jump around from one idea to the next. Focus on educational/growth opportunities for staff to take on more responsibility. More than ever I think Change is in the right place culturally, technologically and strategically to continue making strides towards delivering high value to its users and the business. But management needs to stay diligent to ensure we don't fall back to old ways that didn't work for Change.

    Show More
    Change.org2016-12-31
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Beware! E-team is toxic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Change.org for more than a year

    Pros

    The people who work here (except for the executive team) are really smart, enthusiastic and love what they do! I really enjoy interacting with people on a day-to-day basis. They have a passion to work for a social change company.

    Cons

    The biggest worry is the executive team. SO many problems I wonder where do I even start. The decisions are made behind closed doors without any data back up or consultation with the teams! The decision making process is so NOT transparent! They make it seem like its transparent but eventually we find out its not. For instance, the e-team were in a big lavish offsite 3-4 weeks before laying off the BD team and 2 months after that, they lay off the PD people. It felt like they gambled the money one night and hence they had to lay off people. Everything seemed so OK weeks before the layoff. There were NO signs of any trouble except "oh, we are 85% to our revenue goal this quarter, but lets focus on this important issue of this petition taking off in Russia!". And these kind of decisions coming from people who have sold their companies to big corporations is utterly ridiculous!.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I don't even know what to advise! You've created such a negative environment of non-trust and expect us to just move on!

    Change.org2016-09-26
  6. Helpful (14)

    "Leadership schizophrenia and mass layoffs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Change.org full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Loads of work from home time Possibility to do interesting work on social change issues No real pressure to follow through on projects, very casual

    Cons

    Change is hard to explain. A group of insiders has been promoted to senior management well beyond their actual ability, and are not held responsible for the failings of their teams (and sometimes entire departments). You are not reviewed based on performance or ability to deliver revenue or wins. Performance reviews are entirely based on anonymous feedback from inside members of senior management. Managers will candidly say they are as confused as you are, and are sad they can't provide actual help to you to meet confusing and often subjective standards for "improving" your fit with the company culture.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You laid off your ENTIRE Business Development & Revenue team but ignored shockingly incompetent management problems. It may be too late.

    Change.org2016-07-01
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Too much change"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Change.org full-time

    Pros

    Incredibly passionate and talented individuals (and cute dogs!). The ability to work on and influence serious social change issues. Good snacks and food always around.

    Cons

    Continuously shifting goals and objectives. The North American team has undergone two reorganizations in the last year alone -- including massive layoffs. Senior management is in way over their heads with no clear path to getting things on track. Instead of knowing exactly who and what they are as a company, they want to be everything to everyone which causes staff to be pulled in multiple directions. Without strong leaders I fear that Change.org won't be around for much longer.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Figure out what you want to be as a company and stick with it. Let whatever new product you develop actually have time to get established before you move on to something else. Give your staff clear, definable and understandable goals with the resources and time to accomplish them. Also give them freedom to do what they are best and stay out of their way. Creating real change in the world is a laudable goal but too much change inside a company will kill the company.

    Show More
    Change.org2016-07-09
  8. Helpful (4)

    "A hard balance to strike"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Change.org full-time

    Pros

    I worked with some absolutely exceptional folks at Change.org, and learned a lot about what it means to truly expect and assume the best about the people you work with. I also learned the value of approaching social change from the perspective of a real organizer, not an activist. This means meeting people where they're at and truly empowering them -- not to create the change you want to see, but the change they want to see. The leadership team is pretty exceptional when they're focused on what they're great at, like raising money, evangelizing and basically, leading from the top. I also just had a lot of fun!

    Show More

    Cons

    There's distrust and lack of communication between departments -- especially engineers and campaigners. They each have their own deep expertise, but they don't know enough about each other to work collaboratively and efficiently. The biggest Con is in re: to product management. The great staff are hamstrung by leadership, who have a positive feedback loop/bubble and get too involved in product decisions. It's hard to get product changes made that are driven by actual customer and user feedback, rather than what leadership wants to do and prioritizes.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Work on listening more and continue to manage from the top. Let the amazing staff you've hired do what they do best, and trust their decisions. Be more open to critical feedback.

    Change.org2016-02-07
  9. Helpful (14)

    "Great mission, unseasoned leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Change.org full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Change.org has a great mission and a somewhat vague idea of how to achieve it. You'll have amazing colleagues from around the world, and some of them will inspire you with how much they've achieved. If you're US based, you'll realize that the company resembles a franchise and that there is a idealogical gap between the US staff and the non-US employees. Outside the US, Change.org advocates for substantive social change. Within the US, Change.org sells email addresses to non-profits and to some questionable for-profit orgs.

    Show More

    Cons

    Most problems stem form unseasoned leadership. The CEO has never held another job: Change.org is the literally the only place he's ever worked. He's a frat-boy who fancies himself the CEO of a tech company. Life being what it is, he's actually the leader of a global campaigning org. Over time they've invested less and less in the campaigns staff that lead to rapid global expansion, and more in a sizable engineering team that absorbs most company resources while contributing a disproportionate share of the value.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Bring in more seasoned leadership, cut the dead weight from the engineering team, stop understaffing and under-resourcing the campaigns team, and for the love of all that is holy: ship some new product already.

    Change.org2015-06-23
Found 9 reviews