Change.org "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor

Change.org Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated Feb 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

4.3
75%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Change.org Founder and CEO Ben Rattray (no image)
Ben Rattray
66 Ratings
Pros
  • "Benefits like 18 weeks parental leave show a real commitment to work / life balance(in 12 reviews)

  • "Everyone here is genuinely passionate about doing good and bringing positive social change into the world(in 9 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (14)

    "Hard to imagine working somewhere else"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Change.org full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    It's extremely refreshing to work somewhere with an engineering team that really cares about what they work on and the values of the company. Every Thursday on the Change.org all team call we hear from campaigners in countries around the world about the impact that Change.org petitions have had, and I always find it hard to imagine that there are any other tech companies out there where your work has such a broad impact. This focus on impact and social change has resulted in a team with a broad set of interests, which is great in itself, but also has many important secondary effects. Most people in the company have passions outside of work, and are supported by their coworkers and managers to pursue these interests, resulting in great work life balance. People work hard at Change.org not because their managers make them, but because they care about the mission and their team and want to see it succeed without compromising their personal time. Another secondary impact of this is that people value independent ideas and contributions that can help the company outside the scope of their day-to-day work. I've taken on lots of projects outside of my job description to improve the developer experience at the company, and not only have these projects been supported, they've led me to a role working more directly on the aspects of engineering that I really care about.

    Show More

    Cons

    There are many fundamental challenges to having a tech company that works on social change, which might just come down to the tension between capitalism and justice. It's an uphill battle to use technology to create social change, and we've often had to readjust our strategy due to changes in the market.

    Advice to Management

    Keep supporting your employees' broad interests—it makes for a rich and delightful team that's great to work with.

    Change.org2019-01-22
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Great employer + meaningful work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Change.org full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management has had a pretty dramatic turn around in the last 2 years after some challenging time. There is a new team at the top and much better vision and strategy from leadership and for the first time, the company has a viable business model through subscriptions and user generated revenue. Lots of places in technology say that they are changing the world for the better, but Change.org is the real deal. Getting to build technology and tools for people to take effective social action feels really meaningful and rewarding. Change.org is a pretty decent employer and mostly tries to do the right thing by its staff. Benefits like 18 weeks parental leave show a real commitment to work / life balance.

    Show More

    Cons

    Sometimes management makes decisions that punish regular employees for poor line management, e.g. shifting to "unlimited" time off because managers weren't properly managing or recording leave entitlements.

    Advice to Management

    We're on the right track. It's time to aim higher and think bigger so we can increase our impact.

    Change.org2019-02-05
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Passionate and Collaborative Team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Recruiting Coordinator (Contract) in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Change.org for less than a year

    Pros

    • Genuinely kind, empathetic, and hard working team of people who collaborate really well towards company goals. • My manager genuinely cares about me as a person and my professional development. She understands that life happens and works with you to help ensure work and life are balanced. • Exciting and engaging mission that truly is making positive change in the world. • Global company with offices all over the world and the company does a great job keeping teams and employees connected through video meetings. • Good work/life balance and flexibility with working from home. Great culture of paternity leave where company creates a coverage plan so new parents can log off and enjoy their family time. • Organized recruiting process that's very collaborative with a huge focus diversity and inclusion. • Dog friendly office - I was able to bring my dog with me to work most days and the company (especially my manager) was very understanding and empathetic when my dog was injured and I needed to work from home for a few weeks.

    Show More

    Cons

    • There's a lot of work to be done, teams are lean, and it's not always easy. You need a lot of grit and scrappiness to work here. • As a contractor I don't have long term stability or benefits.

    Change.org2018-12-27
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Felt quite anxious working there"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Change.org full-time

    Pros

    The company has a great brand, and exceptional work life balance.

    Cons

    Severe lack of leadership causing project completion velocity to be low.

    Change.org2018-11-10
  5. Helpful (10)

    "Great place to work with wonderful people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Change.org full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    * Everyone here is genuinely passionate about doing good and bringing positive social change into the world. * A distributed workforce with teams located around the globe, resulting in a diverse and multicultural company. * Friendly, caring, hardworking coworkers. * Skilled engineers. * Sincere commitment to diversity in recruiting. * Fairly flat, casual hierarchy. * Upper management and the C team encourage and take part in a culture of feedback. * Great work-life balance and flexible work opportunities. * Cute, sweet dogs in the office.

    Show More

    Cons

    * I had to leave Change.org for personal reasons. Otherwise, I have nothing but good feelings towards the company and wish them the best. I would enthusiastically recommend them to anyone who wants to work at a mission-driven company. * A senior-heavy engineering team makes it hard for less senior engineers to find significant projects to lead. * The company's laser focus on financial sustainability over the past year led to a lack of interesting projects, but management claims that the company's ambitions will expand as soon as it's sustainable. * 401k matching would have been nice.

    Show More
    Change.org2018-01-15
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Loving Change.org!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Change.org full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I have been working at Change for six months and am absolutely in love! I could see myself staying here for a while. - Amazing opportunities for growth and employee happiness/needs are extremely important to each department. - Love the benefits- 5 weeks of vacation, 18 weeks of maternity leave. They also have a flexible work from home policy which makes my work/life balance feel as though it is valuable to them. - Everyone is so smart and working for such a great mission. They also make the effort to celebrate the accomplishments of their users/members as well.

    Show More

    Cons

    I am aware that the company has undergone a good amount of changes in the last couple of years which can be hard, but I think that the way the executives handle it is extremely professional and caring. They are very transparent and are making efforts to make decisions that are best for the company and their employees.

    Change.org2017-07-07
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Best Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Change.org full-time

    Pros

    I have been at Change.org for one year. I love where I work and I couldn't imagine working as hard anywhere else. I have worked at several organizations, both big and small, prior to change.org and none have come close to being as incredible, impactful on my development, and eye opening. My colleagues are genuinely humble, passionate, hyper intelligent, and personable. The learning opportunities never end and management has become so transparent- doing everything they can to have cultivate a great culture. We have top notch benefits and an outstanding work life balance. We do incredibly hard work as a business and I love being part of an organization that supports the forward movement of so many important global issues. The changes we have had this year have only made us a healthier organization that is set up for long term success.

    Show More

    Cons

    We had to have a downsize in staff over the past year, to make sure we are on track for long term success.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being transparent! It's very refreshing.

    Change.org2017-07-07
  8. Helpful (13)

    "Can't be a startup and an activist org"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Director of Client Services in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Change.org full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    -Smart people -Opportunities to engage with interesting outside orgs doing cool work -Some flexibility and work/life balance

    Cons

    -Institutional disrespect for the organizations and communities who have been doing advocacy work for years -Refuse to settle on a single plan and see it through to completion -Definite founders' syndrome

    Advice to Management

    While I was there Ben Rattray was named "America's Sexiest CEO" or similar. That exemplified the headline-chasing-in-lieu-of-a-plan that sets the tone throughout the company. More than anything, I think that Ben's arrogance made it impossible for him to build a company that was PART OF the advocacy/activism world rather than a DISRUPTER OF that world. It's a bummer, too, because online petitions really can be meaningful and Change.org really did build a great model for helping them catch fire.

    Show More
    Change.org2016-09-08
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great employer, struggling business"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Change.org

    Pros

    Change was a fantastic work environment, and an opportunity to work alongside an incredible international team. Management is invested in the well-being of their employees, and builds a great culture and workspace, with an emphasis on work/life balance. Despite the size of staff, you definitely feel a close bond with coworkers across all offices.

    Cons

    The business model has failed, and there have been two significant waves of layoffs over the summer. There's no clear path forward, and no realistic plan to become a sustainable business. The website enables incredible change across the globe, but this hasn't translated into revenue. Upper level management has an ambitious idea of what they want the platform to be, but have over-invested in projects that don't contribute to the success of the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be realistic about what you're building, and develop a real, sustainable model

    Change.org2016-09-12
  10. Helpful (4)

    "Great people, great mission, great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Change.org full-time

    Pros

    I have never honestly liked and admired so many of my colleagues the way I do the team at Change.org. The people there are really top notch, and by far the best part. The mission, of empowering everyone, everywhere to make change is a great mission, and one everyone truly believes in. 5 weeks vacation and free language training are sweet perks, as are getting to know amazing people in all corners of the world at the annual team retreats. You also get to win a lot at Change.org, so if you like real success and concrete impact on the world, this is the place to be.

    Show More

    Cons

    Job ladders and advancement are still pretty unclear, but ambitious, smart, and flexible people can carve out success pretty well. Work-life balance is still a little challenging on some teams, but getting better. A globally dispersed team has communication and culture challenges, which show here, though there's a real commitment to making them better. Diversity in hiring is a challenge.

    Change.org2014-05-20
Found 15 reviews