KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

Chapin International

Is this your company?

Chapin International

Add a Review

Chapin International Reviews

Updated Oct 12, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 82 of over 86 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Chapin International President / CEO Jim Campbell (no image)
Jim Campbell
69 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great, collaborative work environment(in 4 reviews)

  • "pay is good(in 4 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Chapin has high performance standards, but I consider that more of a positive than an negative(in 8 reviews)

  • "The lack of training and lack of support from management make it hard for them to do their job(in 3 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Opportunities / Recognition / Great Co-Workers

      Jun 11, 2021 - Director of Sales in Batavia, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      When you can reflect on having 40+ years at one company you can call it a “career”. It is gratifying to know a company exists where you can work hard and be recognized and rewarded. My success at Chapin International was a result of many factors, but having great co-workers throughout the years and a CEO who acknowledged my dedication and support of the company goals brought me from production worker to Director of Sales. Our business is very competitive, so the expectations are high and the pace is fast. Results are continued growth and success year after year. Chapin can offer you a challenging and rewarding career with great benefits (health insurance, 401k, education, etc.).

      Cons

      Very busy and fast paced environment leads to long hours and can be stressful at times.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Shipping Receiving

      Oct 6, 2021 - Warehouse Worker 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Well established company , with great expectations

      Cons

      Poor management and the training is very lacking at times

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a bad Place to work

      Oct 12, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great products, good benefits, updated equipment

      Cons

      micro-managed, lots of tension management mtgs

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Fast paced growth company with unlimited opportunities

      Mar 25, 2021 - Vice President Outdoor Products in Batavia, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I had the privilege of working at Chapin International Inc. for the last 6 years of my career in Sales and Sales Management. You won’t find a better group of highly skilled employees anywhere. Everyone has a “can do” attitude that supports the fast paced, ever changing environment necessary for companies to compete in today’s economy. At Chapin employees make the difference! Your ideas and suggestions are taken into consideration and are often acted upon. The CEO has his hands on the pulse of our day to day operations as well as the long term strategic initiatives. He has high expectations of all the employees and trusts them to deliver on their commitments as agreed upon in the annual operating plan. The compensation and benefit programs are highly competitive for the industry. If you’re looking for a challenging and rewarding career with a fast paced growth company focused on innovation, product quality and its customers, then Chapin would be a great place for you.

      Cons

      Since this is a fast paced company, at times changes are implemented prior to effectively communicating the change to all involved parties.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Large company with a small company feel

      Dec 14, 2020 - Senior Designer in Batavia, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great co-workers. I used to work for a small company that had a very close team. I feared going to a larger team as you can sometimes feel like a cog in a machine. But just about everyone I have encountered has been quite friendly. I even regularly carpooled with some and thats something I never did at my previous job. Great management staff. Again, at my previous job I really did enjoy my team and my boss. They did their best to show me appreciation and I again feared how this would translate with a larger company. However, I don't know why I ever worried. I have felt quite appreciated. And not just financially, but also with words of affirmation/recognition and command of certain projects and tasks. I know how important it is to show employees you care beyond just giving them more money and I can certainly tell they go the extra mile when possible.

      Cons

      Long commute. This is really the only item that bothers me. However its a more personal issue and I have already started looking at places to move closer to alleviate this issue.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Chapin International Response

      Director of Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that you are enjoying your time here at Chapin. I understand your situation with commuting distance. Chapin has its roots here in Batavia and is able to benefit from drawing talented employees from both the Buffalo and Rochester metropolitan areas. That benefit can lead to long commutes for some employees.

    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      The reason why unions exist

      Aug 25, 2021 - Production Supervisor in Batavia, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The pay is good and the medical insurence are good.

      Cons

      Union members are treated bad and if you are a supervisor you are expected to treat them bad to. If you don't, you get in trouble. There is tons of overtime and it is mandatory. You will work 6 days a week jut about every week.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Good money, but its sink or swim.

      Aug 3, 2021 - Forklift Operator in Batavia, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Money is decent for the area.

      Cons

      Management treats you bad most of the time.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Nice coworkers

      Jul 22, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Your co-workers are decent people; benefits very good.

      Cons

      Leadership is poor; bully-like mentality.

      1 person found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Love my job

      Dec 14, 2020 - E-Commerce Specialist in Batavia, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      * Recognition of a job well done by team members * High personal and professional expectations and drive is needed to succeed - management helps you get there * Clear goals and expectations - with understanding by management if those goals can't be met - the employee needs to give clear and real reasons why with adequate timing before due dates * Love working with my team and across teams - great dynamics * Wellness initiatives are getting stronger * Lots of plans by the party committee and alternatives with COVID

      Cons

      * Distance from my home, the commute is long

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Chapin International Response

      Director of Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback. Communication is always difficult and social distancing has limited our ability to hold large meetings. Communication between departments is critical and it is something that HR is working to improve.

    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      a strong and growing company

      Jan 4, 2021 - Director, Marketing in Batavia, NY
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It is a pleasure to be part of a team that is so committed to the company's continued success. It is not a company for those that embrace the status quo. Teamwork is the driver of Chapin's success and it breeds pride among the entire Chapin family as the company continues to deliver great American made products year after year. Coworkers are like family. Everyday brings new and diverse challenges that lead to great opportunities. And... the people are just plain fun to work with.

      Cons

      Chapin's home is in western New York. It is one of the most difficult states to operate in which sometimes impedes productivity. State restrictions can be frustrating.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Chapin International Response

      Director of Human Resources

      Thank you for your feedback. The people here are fun to work with! Chapin has been rooted here in Western New York for over 120 years, sometime it is frustrating for sure.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 82 Reviews

    Work at Chapin International? Share Your Experiences

    Chapin International logo
    or