Chapman University Reviews | Glassdoor

Chapman University Reviews

Updated Jul 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 167 reviews

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
75%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Jim Doti
94 Ratings
Pros
  • "Beautiful campus, free education, great reputation, many opportunities to be a self starter(in 12 reviews)

  • "Great environment, great people, great benefits(in 10 reviews)

Cons
  • "Low pay so you do not make too much extra money doing it(in 10 reviews)

  • "The student pay was low and there was no room to advance within the library after graduation(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Very friendly environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Graduate Teaching Assistant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Chapman University full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The professor is really kindful, and I refreshed my technical skills by helping students with their homework problems.

    Cons

    I could not think of any cons working for Chapman

    Chapman University2019-07-08
  2. "Graduate Assistant in Student Engagement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate Assistant in Orange, CA

    I have been working at Chapman University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The autonomy and flexibility they give you with the work and your schedule is extremely nice. They treat you like a professional and completely understand if you have another job. They grant you the flexibility to make your work schedule congruent with that job.

    Cons

    You are limited to 19 hours per week which is really unfortunate. I could be achieving a lot more in my job with more allotted time.

    Chapman University2019-06-06
  3. "Supportive of students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Staff Lead in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Chapman University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very flexible around work schedule

    Cons

    Too lenient on some of the students who didn't take the job seriously

    Advice to Management

    Your support of students is appreciated, however, you could hold some of the boundaries that real jobs would have, like showing up for a shift on time, or calling in sick too many times, or not calling in at all.

    Chapman University2019-06-01
  4. "Just Avoid the Drama and Keep Looking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Analyst 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Chapman University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A few decent restaurants in the area. Some of the students are sharp. A few folks who work there are genuinely kind and just don't have job options.

    Cons

    Low pay for faculty and staff. Toxic work environment due to high drama among upper administration, who are universally narcissists looking for their ego to be stroked. If you cross them, watch out – they will make your life miserable! Basically zero accountability for nepotism, so plum faculty and admin positions go to friends of admins. If I could go back in time and stop working there a year ago, I would.

    Advice to Management

    Fix the culture, clean house on deans and administrators. Look to other Universities for better standards and practices.

    Chapman University2019-06-21
  5. "Incredible work climate and benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Professor in Irvine, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chapman University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Amazingly supportive administration, true camaraderie among faculty, beautiful and comfortable work spaces (on both campuses), and the most updated and functional technology I've ever seen in a classroom. Their educational technology and library support staff are always efficient and effective, and whatever kind of classroom/curriculum support you need, you get. We earn high-end salaries as FT faculty comparatively across...

    Show More

    Cons

    Disappointed that a disproportionate number of adjunct faculty have the nerve to rate Chapman so low on this site, simply because they don't get benefits. I'd like to know what university (or employer), if any, actually provides benefits to part-timers?

    Chapman University2019-04-12
  6. "Love this Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Patrol Officer in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Chapman University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Continued education for myself and my family

    Cons

    I have any concerns at this point

    Advice to Management

    keep up the good work

    Chapman University2019-04-08
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Slow moving"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Help Desk Support in Orange, CA

      I worked at Chapman University full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The benefits and opportunity for training are ok.

      Cons

      Employees pay for parking, too many meetings which could be done in email, and no clear direction from technology.

      Advice to Management

      Don't charge employees for parking in a small town.

      Chapman University2019-03-11
    • Helpful (1)

      "Overall OK"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Coordinator 

      I worked at Chapman University full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Good sense of community, great vacation time

      Cons

      Extremely low pay, no room for advancement

      Chapman University2019-02-28
    • "Administration Really Cares"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Chapman University full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      The benefits are pretty generous.

      Cons

      I understand the pay is a little lower than some larger institutions.

      Chapman University2019-02-03
    • Helpful (5)

      "Chapman perks not worth the poor pay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Registrar in Orange, CA
      Recommends
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Chapman University full-time for more than 10 years

      Pros

      Location is amazing and its very laid back. Tuition benefits and overall benefits are awesome. You don't have to work hard because they know they don't pay enough and thus you are compensated for the laid back atmosphere.

      Cons

      Technology wise Chapman is light years behind. Everything is manual and out dated. Processes take forever to get implemented and the chain of command is confusing. Chapman pays way less than any other University in the area. They cannot keep people because they do not promote or pay equitable salaries.

      Advice to Management

      Chapman is losing their top talent constantly because they refuse to pay them what they should be earning. There needs to be an equity increase at some point or they will not be able to have employees that will stay on and be satisfied with the status quo.

      Chapman University2019-02-04
    Found 167 reviews