Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation Reviews | Glassdoor

Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation Reviews

Updated Oct 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
54%
Approve of CEO
Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation CEO Brian Hooks
Brian Hooks
14 Ratings
Pros
  • "Opportunity - There is endless opportunity at CKI(in 20 reviews)

  • "The programming is thought-provoking, and the professional development training is beneficial to long-term career discernment(in 16 reviews)

Cons
  • "CKI management helps run the Koch seminar fundraising events(in 21 reviews)

  • "Mid-level management is either nonexistent or underutilized(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Culture & Exciting Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Financial Analyst 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation full-time

    Pros

    Long term vision Meaningful work Market to above market compensation/benefits Strong leadership team(s) Employee engagement and development opportunities

    Cons

    I enjoyed my time with CKI/F

    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation2019-07-20
  2. Helpful (11)

    "Good for a short time, not for a long time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Analyst in Arlington, VA

    I worked at Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation

    Pros

    - flexibility & work-life balance - ability to “drive your own role” and make it what you want - surrounded by smart, intellectual people who are above average in their professionalism, passion, and respect for each other - worthy mission

    Cons

    - unorganized direction, constantly changing - lack of middle management - a lot of turnover / people let go - a lot of coworkers with similar backgrounds and traditional perspectives - challenging to grow professionally, seemingly especially true for females - reputation

    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation2019-01-31

    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation Response

    February 21, 2019Vice President and Chief of Staff

    Thank you for writing this review. You highlighted one of the most unique things about our culture—how each of us are encouraged to take ownership of our work. Our unique talents and the skills we build over time allow us to continuously increase our contributions, meaning our roles are never static. They are constantly adjusting to reflect how each of us are growing and to align with new opportunities our staff identify to best tackle the tough problems facing our country. Those who view themselves as life-long learners tend to do very well here. I have been at Koch for most of my career and have directly benefited over the years (and through my many roles!) from this empowering aspect of our culture. If you have more specific thoughts on how we can make sure more of our staff understand how to take full advantage of this, I’d love to hear them: katey.roberts@charleskochinstitute.org.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I have been working at Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation

    Pros

    Wonderful colleagues, leadership connects you to vision, and great work life balance

    Cons

    Not much flexibility to telework on most teams

    Continue reading
    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation2019-01-20
  4. Helpful (19)

    "Libertarian Welfare Where Nothing Gets Done"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation full-time

    Pros

    all the LaCroix you can drink, some people committed to the org's mission, you don't have to do any work all day

    Cons

    The organization prides itself in their trademark management method, Market Based Management. Unfortunately, employees (entry level to senior management) use it as a tool to (1.) ensure that they take no responsibility for their work (2.) get nothing accomplished and (3.) destroy anyone who attemps to do so. In certain departments the environment at this organization is toxic. I do not recommend anyone work here. There is a cadre of individuals who have had terrible experiences at CKF/CKI. Do you research. Don't apply here.

    Continue reading
    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation2018-11-26

    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation Response

    December 10, 2018Vice President and Chief of Staff

    Thanks for the review. I’m truly sorry that you did not have a positive experience during your time at our organization. While we are certainly nowhere near perfect in the application of Market-Based Management, we continue to learn how to grow our impact as an organization through the application of our management philosophy. We are proud of our staff members who work tirelessly to make a difference in our country. We’ve seen our teammates meaningfully contribute to exciting gains in our criminal justice system, much needed innovations in K-12 education, and incredible partnership events like one we just had this week with The Atlantic addressing serious threats to free expression during these divisive times. It has been through the application of our management philosophy that we have been able to begin to scale these efforts and many more. I value all feedback from our current and former staff, and I’d like to encourage you to contact me directly to share your experience. Even though you’re no longer a part of our efforts, I hope you have found an opportunity meaningful to you. --Katey

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Exciting place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation full-time

    Pros

    It’s great to work at an organization with an approach that encourages employees to constantly grow. My manager is always looking for projects that stretch me and consistently gives me feedback to help me improve and make the most of my strengths.

    Cons

    Goals and expectations are high and it can be stressful sometimes. I’m glad or encouraged to make a difference, but constantly learning new things can also create a lot of pressure.

    Continue reading
    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation2018-07-21

    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation Response

    July 30, 2018Vice President and Chief of Staff

    Thank you for the review. It’s great to hear you’ve taken advantage of opportunities to grow your role and impact. Our managers are expected to be more than just managers—they are coaches and mentors who partner with their direct reports to help fully develop and apply their skills in a way that is aligned with our strategies. We’ve made strides on sharing more stories with our staff, but I’d love to hear what other ideas you have for us to continue to improve on this. You’re more than welcome to stop by my office anytime, and I’m always game for a coffee run, too. --Katey

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Mission driven and impactful place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation full-time

    Pros

    It seems like everyone here is really passionate about the mission and the vision of the organization. But I think the most unique and exciting thing about CKI is that it is a part of a much larger network of organizations that each play a different and important part in achieving a common vision.

    Cons

    While collaboration is fairly easy within CKI and CKF, it's not easy and takes awhile to understand who to reach out to at other network organizations. Overlap in work can be frustrating , but at least there is path to get things resolved.

    Continue reading
    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation2018-07-15

    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation Response

    July 17, 2018Vice President and Chief of Staff

    Thank you for taking the time to write this review. I’m glad to hear you’ve found our culture to be collaborative—we believe collaboration across our network is vital to our long-term success in advancing our vision. One of our priorities this year is to upgrade our knowledge management processes to make it easier for staff to have the right knowledge at the right time. I’m counting on everyone to contribute to this initiative, so please focus on identifying areas where you can directly improve knowledge-sharing across our network and share ideas you have for other areas of the business. If each of us is contributing, the cascading effect will be powerful. --Katey

    Continue reading
  7. "I love working here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation full-time

    Pros

    My teammates are smart and encouraging. The vision we're working toward is powerful and meaningful to me. And no one is ever satisfied that what we're doing is good enough.

    Cons

    Because we're always pushing to be better, there's a lot to keep up with. But I like it that way!

    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation2018-06-21
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Admin Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation full-time

    Pros

    I've been given opportunities to move into areas that interest me - I was unhappy in one situation and I was given the freedom to move to a different one that was much more enjoying and fulfilling.

    Cons

    my salary has been slow to grow

    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation2018-06-04
  9. Helpful (18)

    "Talk the talk but don't walk the walk."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation full-time

    Pros

    You will meet some amazing people who are incredible sources of knowledge. Countless times, I was introduced to new resources and readings that revamped my line of thinking on issues. The pay is better than most non-profits in the DMV and your work life balance will remain in tact. You will also be showered with free food and La Croix.

    Cons

    Office politics and rumors get in the way of actual progress. There are managers in positions that they have no right being in. Those who deserve to progress in positions are looked over in favor of those who talk to the right people. This causes grief and a high amount of turnover. Trying to innovate, as the culture is supposed to allow, can quickly land you in hot water because higher ups are stuck to what their comfortable with. Leadership will start a project and quickly scrap it or ignore proposals from those who are the most initimate with certain processes and topics.

    Continue reading
    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation2018-03-14

    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation Response

    March 29, 2018Vice President and Chief of Staff

    Thanks for the review. All levels of our staff have driven incredible innovations that are transforming the way we think about how to make the biggest impact. I can think of so many individuals who have challenged the status quo, experimented, optimized, and made really good decisions about how to capture new opportunities to advance our vision. Just recently, I’ve seen innovations in our grant-making, partnerships, and educational curricula, to name a few! I’m really proud of our culture that enables our staff to be entrepreneurial, and we need to do a better job sharing these stories. If you have some ideas for how we can do that, I’d love to hear from you: Katey.Roberts@cki.org.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (17)

    "Elitist Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are no pros for this company.

    Cons

    This is an elitist company that hires and promotes based on who you know, rather than your actually ability or skill. They look down on their employees if they are not as "high-class" as them and present far fewer opportunities to everyone else. If working for an elitist company that fuels and promotes the blatant class division in society is your thing, then go ahead and give these people your time. If not, stay far away from this company.

    Continue reading
    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation2018-03-27

    Charles Koch Institute and Charles Koch Foundation Response

    April 10, 2018Vice President and Chief of Staff

    Thanks for the review. We strive to be a workplace where our staff have the opportunity to develop their skills—and adjust and build roles around individuals as those skills change and grow over time—so that each employee can fulfill his/her potential. Decisions about hiring and promotions are made not only on such skills, but also on contribution to culture and overall value creation. The diversity in experiences and backgrounds that our staff bring has enriched our culture and been key to our success. If you have specific concerns to share, please follow up with me directly: Katey.Roberts@charleskochinstitute.org

    Continue reading
Found 89 reviews