Charles River Apparel Reviews

Updated Jan 11, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
54%
Recommend to a Friend
50%
Approve of CEO
Charles River Apparel President & Owner Barry Lipsett (no image)
Barry Lipsett
27 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Small business

    Oct 23, 2020 - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great community, Growth opportunities , Down t earth people

    Cons

    Hard to come up with any

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    great place

    Jan 11, 2021 - Janitor in Charlton, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    fun and funner to work at

    Cons

    Very cool place sunny and stuff

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Do Your Due Diligence

    Nov 16, 2018 - Manager in Sharon, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good Quality Products, Good Business Model

    Cons

    A Micro-managed environment beyond your wildest imagination, high turnover, lack of respect for employees coming from the top. Little room for career growth

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 3.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    very good

    Oct 3, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    there were friendly people there

    Cons

    i felt i was underpayed

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    A Tough Work Environment

    Aug 11, 2018 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Many who work at Charles River truly put in their best work despite the challenges this workplace created. I had the opportunity to meet some wonderful individuals who I would consider friends. While there are a handful of people who have let the negativity become a part of their lives, there are many others who fight it each day and focus on positivity.

    Cons

    Overall, I found Charles River to be a difficult work environment. I was disappointed by the actions of the owner and those who were closest to him. This company does not have a clear cut strategy or plan, and this shows itself in a variety of actions. Goals, projects, and direction changed daily (sometimes hourly). Every project was a fire that "needed to be put out yesterday." In the time that I worked here, I saw individuals berated on a weekly, if not daily, basis. These actions led to a work environment of finger pointing, accusations, and a general feeling of helplessness. In my time spent here, I saw an impressive number of people simply walk out after reaching their breaking point. Additionally, I witnessed the owner treating the women in this office in a harsher manner than than the men. Women were often spoken over, thrown under the bus in meetings, and generally treated with a lack of respect. I was very disappointed with my experience here and I am extremely happy to have moved on.

    Continue reading
    18 people found this review helpful

    Charles River Apparel Response

    Charles River Apparel

    Thank you for your feedback. We at Charles River Apparel pride ourselves on fostering an environment of mutual respect and equality. Accordingly, we do not tolerate discriminatory conduct of any kind. Any allegation of inappropriate or discriminatory conduct is immediately investigated and addressed. We value our employees and appreciate all their hard work. Of course, as with any growing and evolving company, we continue to look at new ways on improving our processes, procedures and culture to ensure that we are exceeding our obligations to our employees. We welcome any feedback from our employees on how else we can improve. We recently conducted respect in the workplace training for all employees. Our leadership team has developed and communicated our current and future strategic plans as well as our mission and core values. We pride ourselves in fostering a positive environment. We regret that you did not have a positive experience working at our company and we would welcome your feedback directly to our Human Resources team. We would be grateful if you would reach out and discuss any issues you have directly with them. Thank you for your service, and we wish you the best.

  6. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Company that I will never forget

    Feb 1, 2018 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opportunity for growth, the company gives back to the community, good quality apparel.

    Cons

    Office gossip and rumors at times caused unnecessary drama

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Nothing Ever Changes

    Apr 20, 2017 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The products are good and some really great people work here. Having Nice colleagues make work life better and more pleasant.

    Cons

    Misogyny is normal occurrence. Cultural programs "rolled out" without buy-in have a proven fail record. Bullying employees into "volunteering"'on personal time as a common practice. A complete lack of diversity in the workforce. Major disparity in pay scale male vs. female. Complete disregard for state and federal employment guidelines and laws.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Charles River Apparel Response

    Charles River Apparel

    We want to thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback. We value input from our employees and would welcome you to speak to your manager about these or any other concerns you may have. Charles River Apparel and our employee run Spirit Squad genuinely cares about impacting our broader community and giving back, and we try to involve employees as much as possible in our company lead efforts as a way to foster team spirit and comradery while giving back to their community. We also offer an Employee Volunteer Program which allows employees to give back to a charity of their choice. The volunteering is completely optional. In response to your other criticisms, we assure you that we are in compliance with all state and federal laws and pay men and women equally. We are confident that we can alleviate any concerns you may have in this area.

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Run away...don't even walk. Run.

    Apr 21, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Ha! There aren't really any. I guess if I had to say anything, most people are nice for the most part.

    Cons

    There are too many to list. All I can say is IF the people who's name is on the bank account like you, you will be fine. If you go in as a seasoned professional in your career, fully expect to be treated like a moron.

    Continue reading
    6 people found this review helpful

    Charles River Apparel Response

    Charles River Apparel

    Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry that you have felt your professional experience was undervalued. Please know that our leadership team very much appreciates and respects our employees and their hard work. We continue to look at new ways on improving our processes, procedures and culture to ensure workplace satisfaction. Our leadership team has developed our current and future strategic plans as well as our mission and core values and we are excited about the future. Thank you for your service, and we wish you the best.

  9. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    I worked for Charles River Apparel for 15 years - it was a great experience

    Dec 29, 2016 - Salesman in Detroit, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    My name is D. Selinger and I worked for Charles River Apparel for about 15 years. Sales tools given me from from Charles River Apparel got me much bigger orders faster. Working closely with management gave me more sales over a period of time. Charles River made a quality garment from knowledgeable clothing buyers which gave us more sales Customers bought samples which gave them larger sales quickly. I worked doe Charles River for many years and grew sales from $300,000 to $3 million. Being a part of Charles Apparel which is an up and coming clothing company with great vision was a great experience. This has made them year after year a stronger company and I enjoyed being a part of that.

    Cons

    Sometimes having sizes and colors of some styles weren't always available on time.

    2 people found this review helpful
  10. 1.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Hell on earth

    Dec 3, 2016 -  
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The product is good but stifled bc innovation is discouraged. The holiday party is fun. Sometimes there are bagels on Fridays but it's quickly forgotten when you take your last bite and you are then BS k under thumb of CEO

    Cons

    Management micromanaged you so much that you cannot possibly advance or reach goals. Company is stagnant and because of s lack of vision and trust in employees it will never grow. People are yelled at, put down and the smart ones leave.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 37 English Reviews

Work at Charles River Apparel? Share Your Experiences

Charles River Apparel logo
or