Charles River Associates Analyst Reviews

Updated Apr 21, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
88%
Recommend to a Friend
99%
Approve of CEO
Charles River Associates President Paul Maleh
Paul Maleh
32 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Outstanding place to work

    Apr 19, 2021 - Analyst in College Station, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with incredibly smart and awesome people, and tasks vary from case to case depending on client needs, making it refreshing every time.

    Cons

    Just the inconsistent workflow, but it’s overall a great place to work.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Good pay, nice colleagues, but hard during a pandemic

    Apr 21, 2021 - Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good pay, helpful colleagues, ability to pick up many new skills

    Cons

    unpredictable hours at times, exacting managers

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Lots of opportunity for growth/promotion, very little room to be a human being

    Feb 22, 2021 - Analyst in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    CRA is exceptionally organized, and works like a well-oiled machine. You will be able to work on a wide array of projects in many different areas. The problems are challenging, but interesting. You will become very proficient in whatever tools you use to solve those problems.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is nonexistent. Management touts “flexibility” in workload, but this flexibility is only meant to provide you with more work- very seldom are you encouraged to rest during periods of less work. As an analyst, you will be expected to work at a moment’s notice during nights, weekends, and holidays. Making personal plans and sticking to any kind of schedule is very difficult. Day-to-day experiences will vary wildly by project, and especially by project manager. Some project managers are organized, communicative, and considerate. Some are the polar opposite. You are expected to perform consistently across all of these projects- very little (if any) responsibility is placed on poor project managers. The overall culture at CRA is broken. Despite putting in the majority of the work, analysts don’t get to experience any ownership of the projects- they forfeit all successes and shoulder the mistakes. Even the best project managers are pushed to their breaking point by the tremendous pressures that upper management puts on them to take on more projects and promise faster deadlines. The generous amount of PTO given to employees is hardly ever utilized. Working in this type of atmosphere, the general dissatisfaction is apparent to everyone, but verbally recognized by no one (for fear of seeming unmotivated or lagging behind). Many of the junior staff learn to accept this “churn-and-burn” type of culture, which is truly unfortunate.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Charles River Associates Response

    Thank you for the feedback. We strive to provide every employee with a positive experience, and I am sorry to hear that your experience with us was not so. I note that you are no longer with CRA, but please reach out to me directly if you would like to discuss your concerns further. Jen Kordell, CHRO

  4. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Your experience will be very practice specific

    Mar 13, 2021 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    As the title says, depends on the practice you join. Generally however, pros involve doing a variety of projects and picking up very valuable skills along the way

    Cons

    Compensation / bonus to stress/work requirement level ratio can be very imbalanced. Junior staff underpaid somewhat.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Former Intern

    Great internship

    Jan 11, 2021 - Analyst Intern 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I had a great time interning at CRA. They adapted very well to the pandemic in still providing an internship experience. I got to work on real casework, and I learned a lot from my coworkers. Great experience overall!

    Cons

    I can't think of any.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Smart Coworkers, interesting work

    Jan 24, 2021 - Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get to work with great people and on interesting projects with real impacts

    Cons

    Long and unpredictable hours year round

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A Place to Develop, Learn, & Grow

    Dec 4, 2020 - Analyst in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The company promotes a culture of development, learning, and growing potential. If you have potential, our colleagues are open to helping in whatever way they can.

    Cons

    The practices are generally pretty independent- the overall company culture remains consistent but finding the practice that fits your skill set and goals is something specific to each individual.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great place to start career

    Dec 2, 2020 - Analyst in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great culture and people, interesting work and

    Cons

    Hours, limited upward mobility for non-PhDs

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Awesome place to work, this job is everything I was looking for coming out of college in every single aspect.

    Jan 29, 2020 - Analyst (Cyber) in Boston, MA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The interview and hiring process was extremely thorough and transparent throughout its entirety. Colleen, Talent Acquisition Specialist who recruited, and guided me through the interview process provided me with one of the best interview experiences out of the many interviews I did looking for my first job. She was clear an concise with each phase of the interviewing process, and always made sure to check in with me as I progressed from the initial phone screening, all the way up until I received my offer. As a candidate, she affirmed that CRA was interested in what I could bring to the table as a potential hire, which made the process mutually beneficial for both myself, and CRA. I was able to ask questions as many questions as I could think of, which helped me feel as though I had buying power in making sure the opportunity was a correct fit for all parties involved. Overall, the hiring process, and my first three months at CRA has been nothing short of amazing. I truly feel honored to be a part of such an awesome team.

    Cons

    Although it fits my work style well, the project work is fast-paced, and requires you to juggle many projects as once. This may be a con for someone interested in a more relaxed, binary work flow.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Former Intern, less than 1 year

    Internship at CRA

    Sep 14, 2020 - Analyst Intern in Washington, DC
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, get to do lots of client work.

    Cons

    Not a lot of overlap between practices in terms of work given to interns.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 56 Reviews

Popular Careers with Charles River Associates Job Seekers

Analyst
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Charles River Associates? Share Your Experiences

Charles River Associates logo
or